We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A GREAT PLACE TO STAY, VISIT AND ENJOY.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chynoweth Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Chynoweth Lodge to your Saves list
Chynoweth Lodge
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   1 Eliot Gardens, Newquay TR7 2QE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 108 Newquay B&B and Inns
stafford
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A GREAT PLACE TO STAY, VISIT AND ENJOY.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This review is simple to compile write and comment on, just look at all the previous great reviews and multiply by 10 !! we stayed at the mews and more like a home from home , just a lovely place to stay with great food and Alison and Glenn really make you feel as though your part of the home and not just a place to stay. GO AND ENJOY, Di and Chris from Stafford,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    5
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
84
22
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is without question the best b and b in Newquay.The owners Glenn and Alison are great hosts. The lodge is extremely well furnished. Its like a home from home. Its clean and very tidy. Ill definitely be staying again. I would recommend it to anyone who visits Newquay or the surrounding areas. Keep up the great work guys. See you again soon.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Before booking, I read the reviews and they were all good. Now we've been I know why! It is a lovely place to stay, in a quiet area, yet so near to everything. We parked our car in the secure area, and it stayed there all week. We used the local buses (stop 5 mins away) or the train (station less than 10 mins away). Alison and Glenn were so welcoming, and breakfast was great, especially the omelette! We will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is our 4th return to Chynoweth Lodge, Newquay but this time we stayed in their self-catering Chynoweth Mews.
It's perfectly located, a short walk into Newquay town, on the doorstep of at least three beautiful beaches and a leisurely 10 minute drive to the legendary Watergate Bay.
The Mews are well appointed with everything you'd need for your stay, the rooms are beautifully decorated and well laid out. The owners, Alison and Glenn and their daughter Florence (Flossy) are the nicest people and made the stay memorable from the very first night! If you're new to Newquay or Cornwall they're able to recommend great places to eat, visit, things to do and can often help book a table at a decent restaurant if needed.
I would count Alison and Glenn as friends now and would urge you to visit them if you get the chance, you won't regret it! We'll never stay anywhere else in Cornwall.

It's worth noting that their moderately handsome chef cooks the best eggs I've ever tasted.

Thanks for making our holiday so special (Andy and Clare x)

Room Tip: All of their rooms are beautiful but if you're a family then it's worth considering the Chyn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We usually stay with friends in Newquay when we visit but due to their house being filled with family wedding guests for this weekend just gone,we were forced to look for alternative accomodation. Well we found Chynoweth Lodge on the internet and the with the welcome & hospitality that we recieved from the owners, Glenn & Alison, we could have just as easily been staying with our old friends.
The booking was easy, the rooms comfortable & clean, the breakfast menu was generous and any request that you made to Glenn & Alison was greeted with a genuine smile.
It's in a quiet street but also in staggering distance from the great western hotel.
Highly recommended !!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Cora and Ian

First time my wife and I have been to Newquay;as usual trawled all the sites looking for a Bed and Breakfast.You read all the reviews and take your chance.The reviews for Chynoweth Lodge seemed very good,so we booked there and then.From the moment we arrived Alison and Glenn made us more than welcome, nothing was too much trouble for them.Tidy comfortable room,lovely atmosphere,even Daisy the dog was welcoming!
Location was perfect for walking into town, and for long walks along the beaches or cliff tops but still a quiet road. Breakfast was excellent and efficiently served. They recommended a lovely restaurant called Little Kahuna it was superb! They even managed to arrange a sunny day, the only one this Summer!! This couple are great ambassadors for Newquay tourism.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

What a gem of a find the hosts Alison and Glenn absolutely made my stay so friendly and welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble. Room I booked was a single but was much larger than other singles have stayed in before thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would heartily recommend anyone to stay and will definitely be returning. The full English breakfast or even special requests well catered for especially Glenns omellettes were a real treat

Room Tip: Although it states a single room dont be put off its much larger than other rooms have stayed in bef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chynoweth Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chynoweth Lodge

Address: 1 Eliot Gardens, Newquay TR7 2QE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Chynoweth Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Chynoweth Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chynoweth Lodge Newquay, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chynoweth Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.