We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday break.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marina Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marina Hotel
Save
You added Marina Hotel to your Saves list
Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2PL, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 50 Hotels in Newquay
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Birthday break.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Just returned from a 4 day break in Marina Hotel Newquay, with National Holidays, we arrived on Monday 16 December, at 4-35 pm. we were asked to stay on the coach while we were welcomed by Jason and the adorable Tyler,(his little boy)
We were given room 48 on the first floor, the room had 3 single beds, and was a spacious room, with a shower toilet and washbasin.
The food was served quickly by all the staff, and the all inclusive drinks offer was very good, we can't comment on the entertainment as we were in our room before it started. but others enjoyed the Bingo, quiz and singers.
there was a nice quiet lounge suitable for reading sea facing. and a large tv and games room,
It was the second visit to this hotel and the staff are all excellent nothing is too much trouble for them.
They even served us with drinks at lunchtime, on my birthday as the weather was too bad to go out, and the bar doesn't open until 5-30 pm.
The decor is looking a little tired, but that didn't spoil our wonderful stay.

Room Tip: No lift, ask for a ground floor room if you are unable to climb stairs, or first floor if you have m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Marina Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
I am pleased that you enjoyed your Birthday here with us at the Marina Hotel and that you had such a lovely time with us.

We are always pleased to see returning guests at the hotel and hopefully we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    109
    43
    11
    6
See reviews for
41
112
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Have just arrived back from a 5 day National Holidays break at the Marina Hotel and would like to extend a big thank you to Jason and his staff for the very warm welcome we received. Although we were a coach party we were all treated as individuals and given personal and friendly attention. The decor was tired and dated in places but this was unimportant compared to the hospitality. We enjoyed all our meals and the service was very efficient. Our bedroom was clean, warm, comfortable and well equipped.
The hotel is in an excellent position, overlooking the sea and with a bus stop outside.
I agree with one of the other reviewers that this is probably the best National Holidays break we have ever had.
As a bonus we even had excellent weather for the time if year!

Room Tip: As there is no lift I would advise persons with mobility problems to ask for a ground floor or first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Marina Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
It was lovely to read your review I will certainly pass on your comments to the staff at our next meeting. We do pride ourselves on the service we provide which is reflected on the many comments we receive.

We look forward to seeing you return to us or one of our many other hotels in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Having just returned from a National Holiday was surprised how they can offer so much value for such a little price.. Hotel very tired as also with rooms, however the rooms are clean and the hospitality is second to none... The Restaurant staff were very efficient.. Well done... I will definitely be booking another National Hoiday in the near future.....

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Marina Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for your review I am pleased you enjoyed your holiday with us I totally agree that we do indeed offer excellent value for money.

I will pass on your compliments to the staff and hopefully we will see you return and visit us again at some future point.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebburn
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I visited this hotel with National Holidays for a 4 day break. The Hotel is well situated right on the sea front overlooking the beach which is accessible either by either stairs or road.
We were made welcome by the General Manager who appears to be a jack of All Trades covering reception and bar service, nothing being too much bother.
I was in a single room (40) which was comfortable and adequate but very hot as the heating appears to be controlled from reception.
I still cannot understand why it is necessary to pay a single supplement when using a single room, I could understand it if occupying a twin or double room, thus under occupying it?
The Hotel is very clean but badly in need of some TLC with worn wallpaper and ceiling peeling in the bathroom. The food was very good and the service excellent.
There does appear to be a shortage of staff in the hotel (cut backs)? and it would have been nice if there had been table cloths on the badly scratched and worn tables in the dining room.
I found all the staff to be friendly and help full, I would only voice one concern and that was shared by other guests not on the 'Drinks Package' and that was the price of drinks, I consider that £3.60 for a pint of Beer Shandy to be excessive.

Room Tip: It might be worthwhile paying extra for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Marina Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thanks for your review I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Marina Hotel, with regards the comments on TLC we are looking at investing into the hotel in the first part of the new year by redecorating some guest rooms and bathrooms.

I will pass on your comments to the staff at our next meeting, hopefully we shall see you return to the hotel at some future point.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I echo other reviews. The hotel is in great need of renovation. Having said that it was the nicest national holiday we have had mainly due to the staff at the hotel and the entertainment. A small hotel which led to the friendliness of the staff, the service in the dining room was excellent, food was nice but I would say average.
The 'gems' of this hotel are the staff and yes I would stay here again. Stayed in room 34 wonderful view.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Marina Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments its always nice to be able to pass on guests compliments to the staff I think they do a wonderful job and will be sure to pass on your comments to them.

Hope to see you again here at the Marina Hotel in the future or one of our many other hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed in this hotel the other weekend, it was a National Holidays cheap & cheerful over a weekend so we didnt expect the Ritz!

On arrival a quick and friendly booking in and to our rooms, room on first impressions was decent enough, only on closer inspection
do the cracks appear however for the price we paid you just can't complain.

Tea & coffee facilities are in each room, along with a fair amount of stoarge space and a couple of chairs etc, nice flat screen ( if small )
TV with a good selection of terrestrial TV avialable, handy!

Bed comfy, sheets etc all clean and tisy, extra pillow in the wardrobe as usual, however two pillows each on the bed so not needed.

Heating in the rooms is automatically controlled so unable to turn up donw etc, not a problem though.

Bathroom, well we've seen worse and a lot better too!

No shower ( room 54 ) which is unforgivable nowadays, just a bath and standard toilet, baths are not my thing really but its something you
put up with considering ( again ) the price, all in all impressions were decent enough.

Your on the top of a hill overlooking a nice bay, main town centre is about 10 mins away outside the hotel to the left and down the hill.

If you go in winter dont expect much to be happening, we did Novemebr and were disappointed that it was quiet after hearing so much about
it being good for nightlife etc, however there are plenty of bars etc to keep anyone happy enough.

The hotel bar is small and cosy enough and theres entertainment every night, bingo, quiz etc.

All in all i would rate this as a solild 7/8 out of 10.

Would i go again? probably but not the same time of year.

Is the hotel worth £99 for 3 nights, definately just dont expect the Ritz and you'll get on just fine

Room Tip: get a room with a shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Marina Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thanks for your recent comments, I am pleased that you found we represent value for money and that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Marina Hotel.

We are planning on investing money into bathrooms in the early part of next year and ensuring that showers will be installed so hopefully when you return at a warmer time of year this will be noticed.

Thanks again for going to the trouble of reviewing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Have just returned from a 4day break at the Marina Hotel with National Holidays. I had upgraded to a sea view and had requested a high floor.The room perfect on the second floor with a fabulous view of the Tolcarne Bay was exactly what I required. It was newly refurbished with a roomy bathroom and a large radiator.The beds were extremely comfortable. The food was very good and an excellent choice of menu was on offer.Service was very efficient considering the volume of diners and our waiter Sam offered excellent service.With an additional benefit of drinks in the evening again with endless choices and nightly entertainment I thoroughly enjoyed my stay.The whole team in the hotel work exceptionally to hard to ensure you have a pleasant say and they certainly achieve that.Well done will certainly be returning again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason H, General Manager at Marina Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, I will be sure to pass on your comments to Sam and the other members of staff.

I am really pleased you enjoyed the sea view room and I totally agree that the location overlooking Tolcarne Beach is truly lovely.

Hopefully we will see you return to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Hotel

Address: Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2PL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Newquay
#18 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 51
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marina Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.