We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fab weekend” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marina Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marina Hotel
Save
You added Marina Hotel to your Saves list
Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2PL, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 50 Hotels in Newquay
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“fab weekend”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

just returned from a fab weekend with National , was fun, fun ,fun , food good , entertainment was canny, bingo every night , room was very good and clean , staff as i remember them , lovely , one holiday we will return to in the future, well done National , not let down again , hols are what they are , are what you make of them ,we have no complaints , met some wonderful people , had some laughs , a holiday to remember , thank you all at the Marina

Room Tip: single rooms , ground floor great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jasonhunt71, General Manager at Marina Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments on you stay at the hotel I am really pleased you had such a lovely holiday with us and I hope we see you return to visit us again. I will pass on all your comments to the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    109
    43
    11
    6
See reviews for
41
112
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

stayed at the marina with national holidays on the 21st september rooms clean bathroom needs up dating toilet leaked reported nothing done just a towell wrapped round. Food good well done Sadie you kept smiling even when people were moaning. Entertainment was excellant. Norman our driver needs a medal as our journey home was nightmare. good value all round.

Room Tip: sea view worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jasonhunt71, General Manager at Marina Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your comments I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Marina Hotel, I can only apologise that the repairs to your toilet were not rectified during your stay.

I will pass on your comments to Sadie when I see her, thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton on Tees
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the marina hotel newquay, 21 st to the 25 th septmber ,rooms comfy ,and clean ,and really good value for money, for what we paid. We got a bath ,and shower ,plenty of tea and coffeee ,making facilities , food ,good the dining ,room ,service ,got poorer ,as the holiday ,went on ,waiting ,a long time ,to be served . Bar staff really good ,chatty ,and friendly would Definately ,return great value for money ,and good standards ,for a 2* hotel

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jasonhunt71, General Manager at Marina Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thanks for your positive remarks on your stay with us here at the Marina Hotel, I will pass on your comments to the staff at our next meeting. I totally agree that we provide excellent value for money and I hope to see you return to visit us again at some point.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colne Engaine, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My partner and I went on a 7 day holiday with National Holidays on the 26th August 2012 to the Marina Hotel. The hotel needs a complete refurbishment as the interior is very outdated, not in the 21st century. While we were there painting was being done inside and out, so NO T.V. lounge only a small lounge big enough for 9 people (not good). Our room showed signs of damp on the ceiling in the bay window and the there was a hole at the side of the pelmet casing where dirt was coming down onto the chair/floor below. Bathroom very compact and outdated, washbasin in bedroom (not very nice), the toilet did not flush properly. The beds were very hard and uncomfortable, when you turned over in the night they made a noise, woke you up. Our room attendant Trish looked after is very well and Sadie our waitress was excellent and went out of her way for us. Our coach driver John was very kind, well mannered and good at his job. The food and entertainment was very good, hosts very good and a wide range to suit everyone. We enjoyed the hoilday in Newquay, had a good time. We would not a stay at the Marina Hotel again or recommend it to anyone in the condition it is in at this time. We would have expected more from a Shearings (Bay Hotel) than we got.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jasonhunt71, General Manager at Marina Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your recent comments I am pleased that you found the staff so helpful. With regards the painting of the Hotel we are in the process of investing money into making improvements within the hotel. We have also put new carpets and curtains in the rooms as well as new furniture as part of our plans to make improvements.

Hopefully if you should return you will be able to see the improvements we have made.

Thanks again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We've just returned from a four-night stay at the Marina Hotel with National Holidays. All in all, we had an absolutely fantastic time -- this was our first coach trip, and while we were a little bit younger than most (in our late twenties, early thirties ...) everyone was really friendly and made us feel extremely welcome. The hotel is in a great location, straight across from one of Newquay's lovely beaches, and we also had a sea view.

The hotel itself is not the Ritz, but if you expect the rooms to meet that kind of standard at the price (£250 each, sea view, breakfast, dinner, four free drinks each, trips to Falmouth, Truro, St Ives and much more) then your expectations are not realistic. The rooms could certainly use a little bit of renovation, but they weren't anywhere near as bad as has been described by some on here (the lounge was being renovated while we were there and now looks great). Staff were brilliant, very friendly and approachable, and both Mike and Bob did a superb job of ferrying us all about to various places. We're amazed that they are able to offer all of this at the price, and would definitely recommend to others/consider returning in the future -- beds were nice and comfy too!

Tim and Siobhan

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jasonhunt71, General Manager at Marina Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you very much for your wonderful and positive remarks I am really pleased you enjoyed yourselves whilst here with us at the Marina Hotel. I agree with your statement I do feel that we offer fantastic value for money in terms of what guests receive in service, accommodation, food and excursions as indeed do many of our other hotels throughout the country.

I also love the sea view its something you just dont get tired of seeing no matter how long you see it, its even better in the Sun!

I hope that we will see you here again at some time in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

just stayed at the marina hotel from 26 august for a week realy enjoyed it entertainment every night caroline who hosts the entertainment on the sunday and wednsday was lovely friendly and funny there was a geordie comeidian on mid week he was great realy funny reminded me a bit of brian connelly there was bingo and quizes every night the food was nice we was served every night by a young lad called adam he was very polite he told me he whants to be a chef i hope he makes it hes a lovely lad the bar staff was also very friendly all in all a good holiday and would stay here again if i came back to newquay

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jasonhunt71, General Manager at Marina Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
THank you for your feedback on your stay here at the Marina Hotel, I am really pleased you enjoyed yourselves I will pass on your praise to Adam and also to Allan Roberts the comedian.

We look forward to welcoming you back here to Newquay at some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tyne and wear
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

my husband and i traveled with National Holidays 22nd till 26th august.Had a sea view which we asked for.lovely clean bed,wash basin was in the bedroom (very strange) The smell of damp from the bathroom was.nt very pleasant.plus the ceiling paper was damp and the walls around where the wash basin was soaking.i think National Holidays need to send someone out to inspect there hotels.must say the staff where very nice the meals where good.a big THANK YOU to Tracey.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jasonhunt71, General Manager at Marina Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your comments, with regards the issues in your room we have just completed works to the front of the building including the flat roof areas so this should rectify the issue with damp that you commented on.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and I will pass on your comments to Tracy its always refreshing to have the staff acknowledged for the huge part they play in the hotel and for all their hard work.

Hopefully we will see you again at some point in the future either here or at one of our many other hotels all of which are situated in beautiful locations tghroughout the country
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Hotel

Address: Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2PL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 51
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marina Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.