We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Base to Explore Cornwall” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hendra Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hendra Holiday Park
Save
You added Hendra Holiday Park to your Saves list
Lane, Newquay TR8 4NY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Newquay
Lincolnshire
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great Base to Explore Cornwall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed here for the first week in October arriving on the Monday. Having never been to Cornwall or stayed in a caravan before, it was a completely new experience - glad to say we have not been put off either!
We'd opted for a mid tier caravan which suited us perfectly. It was clean and tidy, not showing too much wear and tear. It had full central heating which was a God send given the really poor weather conditions during our stay.
The kitchen was basically equipped, having the majority of utensils and cooking pots etc, however would suggest taking own mugs if you enjoy a large cup of coffee or tea - the ones provided are tiny! Same with glasses if you like a larger sized glass. There was an oven and hob as well as microwave, with a decent sized fridge/freezer in the corner by the door.
The site itself is located just out side Newquay, about a five minute drive into town. There are regular buses running past the entrance to various different places if you want to take a break from driving, which is really handy.
About a mile and a half away is Quintrell Downs where there are a couple of pubs. There is a footpath all the way from what we saw so it is walkable, though a torch would be needed at night as it is unlit for the most part. In the opposite direction about quarter of a mile or so is another pub and a large Morrisons. This is extremely handy as the shop on site stocked only basic items.
The site also has a pizza place and a chippy. The Tavern Bar also serves food, though we didn't actually eat anything from the site so can't comment on quality.
There is also a club bar which had nightly entertainment, although this was a bit purile for the most part (it was aimed mainly at kids to be fair). We still whiled away a few hours with a beer or five of an evening!
There is also a large indoor pool, a bowling ally and a games arcade which again we didn't use so can't comment on.
The site is quite centrally located within Cornwall and had fairly quick access to all the main routes; with Bude a little over an hour away to the North, the Lizard or Lands End not much further away to the South.
As a first taste of Cornwall and caravaning this was a great experience and we would definitely consider staying at Hendra again.
Would reccomend going out of season mid week if you prefer a quieter life, the prices are way cheaper and also go for the best caravan you can afford as some of the older ones did look a bit tired from the outside.

Room Tip: Aim for the best priced caravan you can afford.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendraservices, Guest Relations Manager at Hendra Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your nice review. We are pleased that you had a good first experience of staying in a caravan. We are glad you liked the caravan and found us to be well located. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    231
    70
    43
    26
See reviews for
461
117
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We have just had a very short stay at Hendra thanks to the 'Sun' newspaper holiday promotion. As we were limited with date choices due to working limitations we travelled to Hendra after school on friday to return sunday late afternoon. The park is verTy clean and well cared for with exceptionally friendly and helpful staff. Our boys enjoyed the oasis pool with its flumes and inflatable rides etc. The park is within easy location of Fistral beach, popular with surfers even in October. The is also a Morrisons supermarket within minutes drive but there is also a grocery shop on site.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendraservices, Guest Relations Manager at Hendra Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving your feedback. It sounds as if you had a good break with us, and we are pleased you found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

the kids loved this site,and us adults were impressed too!!.stayed for a week from 6/10/2012 weather was alittle unsettled but thats to be expected.kids entertainment was good for our 2 4 and 6 year olds in the evening.the oasis pool was good and priced ok with discount passes .prices for drink and food were on a par with other local pubs/resturants and food in the taven was good.the whole experience was very good and the minor issues we had during our stay were delt with extreamly quickly.we will be coming back next year , hope the same entertainment crew are there because the kids loved them!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendraservices, Guest Relations Manager at Hendra Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your five-star review. We are so pleased to hear that you and your children liked the park. We will pass on your nice comments to the entertainment team, and hope to see you all soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

We love it here! Check in was quick friendly and simple. The van was very clean, basic but as we had booked the cheapest van, we were very more than happy with it. The bed folded up so we could get the travel cot in easily. We visited the pirates den this year and for younger children it was brilliant, mt 16 month old son loved it! He could run around and with the mats on the floor, I knew if he tumbled he'd be fine. Ove already booked for next year and will be counting down the months till we go

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendraservices, Guest Relations Manager at Hendra Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your five-star review. We are so happy you liked the park and your son had a good time. We look forward to seeing you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bradford
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We were on a tour round cornwall for a week & had not booked anywhere for the first 5 nights, just a matter of stopping wherever we wanted to. On way to newquay we passed the park & decided to ask if we could rent a caravan for a couple of nights, good decision on our part! Caravan top of the range & a lot cheaper than staying in a b&b, comfortable,clean & handy for where we wanted to go. Ammenities ok, pizza shop very expensive, £11.95 for a 12" pizza, we won't do that again. However food in main eating area is basic but good and not too expensive. Staff friendly, & thanks to Jamie who sorted everything out for us on arrival. Would stay again, but hopefully in better weather. Park is very central for most of cornwalls attractions, and newquay itself is lovely

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendraservices, Guest Relations Manager at Hendra Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Guest,
We are so pleased that you liked the Park, and will pass on your nice comments to Jamie. Thank you for your review – we hope to see you again when the sun is shining.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I used Hendra as a base camp whilst of surfing and stayed in one of the pods. Basically camping in a wooden hut with electric and lighting. It was perfect for me also the shower facilities were very good and I'm looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendraservices, Guest Relations Manager at Hendra Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for this review. We are happy you liked the Pod, and the shower facilities were good. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands. UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a week on maple field in our motorhome & had a great holiday. Entertainment was good, excellant indoor & outdoor pool with terrace bar overlooking. Meals adequately priced. Showers & toilets kept clean. Bonus for motorhomers was the regular bus service from the site entrance. Good value for money & great holiday atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendraservices, Guest Relations Manager at Hendra Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are pleased you had a great holiday and found Hendra value for money. We appreciate your review and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hendra Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hendra Holiday Park

Address: Lane, Newquay TR8 4NY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Newquay
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award winning family owned and run holiday park for families and couples. Five Star rated facilities include the Oasis Fun indoor and outdoor Fun Pools complex, which includes three fabulous water flumes, river rapid ride, water cannon, geyser, fountains, waterfall, 30m pool and toddlers’ pool. Accommodation includes six ranges of holiday caravans from budget to premium, and a range of touring, camping and motorhome pitches, all set in landscaped parkland of 80 acres, on rural countryside within minutes of the town beaches. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hendra Holiday Park Hotel Newquay
Hendra Holiday Park Newquay, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hendra Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.