We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & Fab location, town & bars all 5 minutes away, can be at the beach in 10” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kirribilli Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Kirribilli Guest House to your Saves list
Kirribilli Guest House
2.5 of 5 Guest house   |   134 Mount Wise, Newquay TR7 1QP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 108 Newquay B&B and Inns
Biggleswade, Beds
1 review
“Clean & Fab location, town & bars all 5 minutes away, can be at the beach in 10”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

Would definitely stop here again. Kirribilli is easy to spot with its blue flags at the front, & own car park at the back. Tables & chairs on the front patio a nice touch to sit out. Our room was ready, clean, with great view over Newquay & own ensuite. Nothing wrong with the mattress or the shower so reading other reviews think some will complain at anything!
Tony always helpful,asked if everthing ok with room & if you needed anything. Breakfast room lovely & brightly decorated.
So near the town, was great after a night out & a few ciders! Beaches all easily walkable.
Did get disturbed at night as woken by the rain! also some people not always considerate when shutting room door as left it to slam, but thats people!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    23
    3
    5
    5
See reviews for
11
31
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

Really impressed for the money, close to town free car park and breakfast was on untill 10.30 so if you out on the town the night before you dont miss out, lovely new white towels and funky duvet covers, you cant go wrong with this place

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

Great location and v. friendly place to stay. Let down by poor quality of the mattress, v. thin pillows and nowhere to hang the shower head.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirri55, Owner at Kirribilli Guest House, responded to this review, September 14, 2010
Shower fixed, new mattress bought, thank you for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

we stayed here in a large group, all male on a trip to newquay. we were given between us a mixture of bunk beds! double beds! and a couple of single rooms! the showers didn't work properly, they changed temperature and often hit scolding degrees, these were also communal and not very nice! i also noticed from outside that the toilet pipes were leaking, again toilets communal - with a broken door.! 3 beds broke and a drawer fell off! there were strands of hair in my bed far to long to match either me or my friend, great location but not up to any standard, i have stayed several times in newquay and this is the worst so far. there are loads with this kind of location, try elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirri55, Owner at Kirribilli Guest House, responded to this review, September 14, 2010
I need to correct a few comments that this guest made,
1) All 3 of the broken beds were caused by the most horrid stag group we have ever had the misfortune to host and all were replaced the same day, so no one had any discomfort
2) The broken wc door! hasn't been fixed as it wasn't broken (if it was broken why did no one inform our managers!)
3)shower that did'nt work (same as above)
4)The review reads that the wc's and showers are communal, all bar 3 rooms have a shower and the wc's are available to anyone but 3 rooms are fully ensuite.
5)This group treated our house as a slum, kebab on the walls, beer all over the stairs and had our lovely manageress Carole in tears because of the carnage left behind,

If you are thinking of staying with us please read the many excellent reviews we have received
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reading
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

I watch too much tele in my free time, one of the programmes I watch is "Hotel inspector" . First thing I did when I went in to the room was checking the attached bathroom, underneath the sink, shower corners and behind the toilet. I was Very very impressed by the standards. We found Kirribilli by chance, walking on that street. We went to few places before we went to Kirribilli. The price was very reasonable. Friendly, welcoming staff. We felt like we were at home. I would highly recommend Kirribilli Guest House to anyone. And we are definitely going back in August for my wife's birthday. And take Toni's offer on using the surf gear in the back shed. Many thanks guys!!
Yani/Libby and family

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middlesbrough
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2010

were 2 start 4 builders working away from home sad lonley missing there famlies thinking heer come the rules useually no builders dont bang the doors b in by twelve all the useuall crap.BUT OOOOH WERE WE WRONG tony and carol put us at ease straight away witch is a big boost when your away for 2 weeks at a time.the crack was that good we never needed 2 go 4 a pint weed sit out front after work couple of tinnys bit off take away just enjoying the weather just wot u need after a hard days graft the way tony and carol manage this place is absolutly spot on as ive worked away for 20 years i can honestly say this is the best place ive stayed more 4 the way tony and carol look after u than anything else the rooms are always spot less and comfortable . as we found out 1 weekend when it was already booked up and had 2 move this is alot better than were we ended up and cheaper 2 boot.BIG THANKS 2 TONY @CAROL 4 making our stay so relaxed without all the normal RUBISH that u get .see u monday T@C .as were coming back for a MONTH.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salisbury
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

I have just returned from a hen weekend in Newquay having stayed at the Kirribilli guest house. From the ease of booking to the fantastic welcome we received from Carol and Tony it couldn't have been easier.

Tony and Carol made us feel at ease and nothing was too much trouble, they genuinely cared about their guests and went out of their way to make sure that we felt right at home.

The location of the B&B in relation to the town centre is perfect and literally a five minute walk to all of the pubs and clubs.

The rooms although not the biggest were clean and suitable for what we needed. But for the price we paid were absolutely value for money.

We were told by the manager ,Tony, to make ourselves comfortable and not to worry about tiptoeing around the place, a definite must when you are on a hen weekend!!!!!

Overall, if you are looking for good quality standard accomodation as a base for partying you would be very hard pushed to find a better place than Kirribilli Guest House or better people to host you than Tony and Carol. They could certainly teach some of the big hotels a thing or two about customer service!!!!

Thanks Guys and see you soon. Zoe and the girls. x

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kirribilli Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirribilli Guest House

Address: 134 Mount Wise, Newquay TR7 1QP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kirribilli Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kirribilli Guesthouse has been refurbished to a high standard at the beginning of 2013.We have eight rooms at kirribilli, all with same decor and modern feel to all rooms. All rooms have freeview TV with tea and coffee making fcilities.We have rooms to cater for everyones needs.With a modern bar downstarirs offering cheap beers and spirits it is the place to chill and relax in front of wide screens tv's, or to mingle with the rest of the guests.We offer a range of bar snacks and meals to those who would like to stay indoors after a long day out.It is a five minute walk to the beach and 15mins to the famous fistral beach.So why not book with us for that home to home experience. For five star treatment at budget prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, HostelBookers and Tingo so you can book your Kirribilli Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirribilli Guest House Newquay, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kirribilli Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.