We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Pentire Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Pentire Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Pentire Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   60 Pentire Ave, Newquay TR7 1NU, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 51 hotels in Newquay
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed here with my parents for a birthday weekend on one of their special 2 night half-board packages.

Although the hotel shows its age in places, it is well decorated, clean and tidy with really helpful and friendly staff. The food isn't cordon bleu but we weren't expecting it to be.

All in all we would return to this friendly, value for money hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    148
    169
    60
    19
    19
See reviews for
84
193
25
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Had a one night stay here with a friend through a website offering a discount on dinner bed and breakfast. I had read reviews about the hotel which seemed quite mixed. We arrived to a very friendly reception, were shown where our dinner table would be and also the pool area etc. very nice, clean and tidy entrance and reception/seating area. Room was on the first floor, I had read poor reviews about the state of the stairways and corridor areas - ignore these - although the decor was dated, they were in good order and very clean and i really couldnt see why so many people had commented on this matter. The room was a reasonable size, twin beds and a view out onto the main road. All very clean and tidy, bathroom spotlessly clean and plenty of towels, tea coffee etc. decor was modern and very nice. Good nighht's sleep, very quiet road even with the window open! Next door room were a bit noisy coming in at 3am but this is to be expected if you stay in Newquay!
We used the pool facilities, all of which were very nice especially the steam room which seems to be brand new. We didn't use the changing facilities and decided to go back to our room to change. Pool was very quiet whilst we were in there and we were the only ones in the steam room, so no wait to use it. Towels were available on reception for the pool.
Dinner was the only downside to the trip, although the food was adequate and they were very reasonable sized portions, the whole meal was very rushed. We were served as soon as we went in and they took our starter order, the starter arrived just about a minute later! Same for the main course and dessert, felt very rushed - whole 3 course dinner and coffee was done in 45 minutes! Nothing at all wrong with the food itself, just felt very rushed and pushed to order each course immediately. Breakfast was a little more relaxed as it was only one course.
Location is quite nice, not far to the beach or town. A bit of a long walk for a night out though - taxis were about £5 each way and could be arranged by reception for you.
Overall a pleasant stay, nice hotel in general with good staff and facilities.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 117 - was on a seperate small corridor with another room (116) so only had a room on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Really enjoyed ourselves. The room was slightly shabby, but we didn't mind this as we have children and a dog. All staff were friendly and helpful. The food was plentiful. The facilities were great, the kids enjoyed table tennis and pool. The location is superb - striking distance to fistral beach and a lovely pub on th headland.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed here with two other couples on a dinner, B&B basis and were not disappointed. The food was plentiful and the staff welcoming and helpful (Holly was our cheerful waitress). We paid extra for ocean view rooms and received a free bottle of wine per couple so the upgrade was great value. We stayed on the first floor and were just above the entertainment area. This was not an issue for us but might be if you had small children. The entertainment was a nice surprise, with 'Katherine' on Saturday night working her way through familiar 60s numbers. Bar prices were reasonable and if you want to sample the local brews we'd recommend the 'Tribute' beer and 'Rattler' cider. As others have said, some of the rooms are smallish but clean, and have everything you need. We didn't use the pool, but the leisure complex has just been refurbished and looked good. We'd stay again.

Room Tip: Ocean facing Room 108 is slightly bigger than some of the others with a larger tv. The hotel also of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I stayed here for 7 nights in early December 2012. The entire staff were wonderful and I felt very welcome to be there. Nothing was a problem and any requests were met with courtesy and kindness. There seemed to be something really lovely about this hotel and I believe that the management must really look after their staff. I was so impressed that I felt compelled to tell other guests how fantastic the hotel was. How I described it to them was......." Happiness Bounces Off The Walls Here"

Thank you so much!!!!!
Fair Dingo!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
It's so rewarding for the hotel team to receive such lovely feedback. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okehampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel on a dbb basis, on a special offer deal. It was incredibly good value. Most of the staff were extremely helpful and welcoming, (especially Felicity), and nothing was too much trouble.
The room was a little on the small side, but comfortable and clean. Worth paying the extra for the ocean view, which was magnificent.
The bathroom was very poor, however. It needed to be relegated to a skip, and completely redone. The mixer tap for the shower was actually dangerous to use, and made it extremely difficult to have a shower in safety. I couldn't get the shampoo etc out of the bottles; but that's a minor detail! To summarise, the bathroom was not at all good, and its poor quality impacted on our stay.
The food was good, and with generous proportions.
Didn't manage to get a hair appointment at "Fringes" - totally my own fault.....shame, as it looked lovely and was extremely cheap to get you hair done!
All in all, very good value, and we enjoyed the break, but the areas /rooms away from the main reception let the hotel down.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for an Ocean View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you. When we receive comments like ‘incredibly good value’, ‘extremely helpful and welcoming’ and ‘Ocean view was magnificent’ we know that we are getting things right for our guests. We apologise that your bathroom did not meet the same high standards that we are striving to achieve. Majority of all of our bedrooms have now been refurbished with new furniture and bathrooms. We are undertaking a wider range of investments and ongoing improvement to bedroom and public areas of the hotel. We do hope that you will return to visit us again in Newquay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Stayed at The Pentire Hotel mid January 2013. The staff were friendly and could not have been more helpful and obliging.
There was some redecoration going on - not that it affected our stay.
The room - cold, the lino in the bathroom didn't go up to the edge of the bath and there was a bit of skirting board missing also in the bathroom..
The double room was nice - cosy. Tea and coffee facilities.
The twin room was nice - the only niggle is that one of the handles on the chest of drawers was loose.
The food and waiting staff were excellent. They could not have been more accommodating to my friend who was a "picky eater"!!!!
The swimming pool was nice but cold. The steam room was out of use. The changing rooms are in need of some modernisation.
For a couple days/short break away it was a nice place to stay. We would go back to this hotel again.
The Indian head massages were out of this world......obviously this was at an extra charge.

Room Tip: Overlooking the sea if possible......beautiful views of Fistral Beach. I believe the price is more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrhoward66, Guest Relations at The Pentire Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your recent break with us. We are so proud of our hotel team and will pass your kind comments onto them all directly. We have resolved the cold pool water issue with a brand new heating boiler now producing lovely warm water for swimming in, and our new steam room is all warm and steamy again. We do hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Pentire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pentire Hotel

Address: 60 Pentire Ave, Newquay TR7 1NU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#10 Family Hotel in Newquay
#14 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pentire Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Pentire headland in Newquay, just a mile from town centre, we have spectacular Fistral beach views. The River Gannel estuary and south west coast path is on our doorstep so we're ideally positioned for surfers, families or groups. Facilities include an indoor heated pool, steam room, childrens play area, beauty salon, fitness studio and a friendly bar. Licenced for Civil Weddings, we provide a beautiful venue for Weddings and receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Pentire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pentire Hotel Newquay
The Pentire Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pentire Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.