We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic family break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sunnyside Newquay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sunnyside Newquay to your Saves list
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 - 7 The Crescent, Newquay TR7 1DT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 50 Hotels in Newquay
1 review
“Fantastic family break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from a lovely few days away in Newquay. Despite the indifferent weather, the family and I had a really great time.

We stayed on a surf and stay package at the Hotel Sunnyside. At £85 each for 3 nights including surfing lessons, we thought it was super value.

Adam and Gareth at the surf school were brilliant. Nothing was ever too much trouble. We all thought the level of tuition was top class. Friendly whilst still very informative. I would highly recommend looking these guys up whether you stay at the hotel or not- you don't have to be a guest at the sunnyside. We surfed with another family who were camping.

The hotel itself was fit for purpose. The bunk rooms we stayed in were on the small side, but it was fine for what we required. In fact, it was nicer than we thought. The website indicates it's more hostel, but they are underselling themselves if anything. The rooms were basic but spotless. We were expecting cheap, but we were pleasantly surprised. It turns out that we paid less for our holiday than the family who camped!

The staff at the hotel were lovely. Very frendly and welcoming. It was great to see such an effort on security as well. The hotel is in the city centre so it protects guests against anyone just walking in off the streets.

The hotel style means you have to book towels and tea/coffee trays in advance. We did that and it was all ready on arrival. You can't complain at this really, as we paid such a low price for the rest of the stay. Breakfast wasn't included either. We booked for the first two mornings and it was fine. Only £4 each as well.

All in all, a bargain trip at a decent hotel with nice staff and top draw surfing school. Well done to all involved!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssh57, General Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank-you Matthew B for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay.

Our bunk rooms are not always best suited to accommodating families, as previous reviews have touched on. However, we are extremely happy that your family found them satisfactory during your stay with us. Plans are under way to offer a designated family room type for 2013.

Thank-you also for your kind words about the guys at Newquay Surf School. We will make them aware of your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    78
    18
    9
    16
See reviews for
17
39
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I don’t know where to begin with this hotel, more rules then a prison & the rooms are like prison cells too!

Before we had even checked in the woman on reception read us a list of rules longer then my arm. We booked a room for 4 people but only 2 of us could make it. We were told that they had to know the names of the other guests even though they weren’t coming!

There we no parking spaces on offer even though we were told beforehand that there would be. When we asked where we could park, the hotel staff pointed about a mile away and told us to park there!

When I came in from a night out, there we crisp’s for sale on the reception desk, however the man on reception refused to sell them to me for no reason at all. At one point I offered him £70 for roughly 8 bags of crisps and he still said no????

In addition to this, you have to pay £1 for a towel! You also have to pay a deposit; we were made to pay £60! Not too sure where they got this figure from and I’m pretty sure that they won’t give us our deposit back even though we left the room as we found it

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssh57, Front Office Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
It is extremely disappointing to read this review after receiving such fantastic feedback about our hotel this year.

This particular review also comes as a huge surprise to me personally. When a guest remarks to me on check-out that they had a “fabulous time”, I take that as if the guest enjoyed their stay with us. The entire review is all rather strange, and I feel obliged to balance the comments made and document an account from the Hotel’s respect.

Our request for the names of everyone staying in our hotel should not come as a surprise. This comes under standard hotel security and fire safety policy. So when a guest indicates that the two other guests in his party will be of the opposite sex, that he may or may not be able to provide names for later that night, it must be questioned. However, this conversation was completely amicable and our reasons explained in full, so I am at a complete loss to why the guest has chosen to raise this issue in a negative respect.

Under no circumstances would the guest have been advised that parking would be available on arrival. All parking at the hotel is on a pre-booked basis. It this claim can be substantiated, we will gladly provide a full refund.

I have spoken to our night staff and quite how the crisps issue was taken as a refusal of service is beyond us. Why would we not sell a packet of crisps to a paying guest?!

What we can confirm without question is that the security deposit was released in full on the day of departure, which, of course, the guest was made aware on check-out. To indicate that the security deposit would be withheld without reason is rather silly.

Whilst every guest that pays money to stay at the hotel is entitled to post their thoughts about their experience, we urge potential customers just to take a moment to look through the previous reviews on TripAdvisor. Of the dozens of TripAdvisor posts received in 2012, this is our only negative review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

we booked this at very short notice booked a family room £90 per night for the 3 of us we got a room with a bunk bed and a single no tea or coffee making facilities no drinking water in the room the bathroom was not suitable for a family very very small no towels provided but we could hire at £1 for every towel needed tea and coffee was available at an extra cost overfall the hotel has nice decor has a bar and games room and very clean staff are excellent the breakfast is extra but very good quality didnt get much sleep due to other guest ok for a single person or couples who want a great view or just somewhere to crash

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssh57, General Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
We would like to thank Rajbinder W for the kind comments regarding our staff, breakfast, and décor. We have actually just changed suppliers for our cooked breakfast, so it is great to receive such positive feedback in this respect.

We can understand the comments regarding the room. The room booked was actually a triple bunk room; we do not have dedicated 'family rooms' at the hotel. We do, however, offer larger standard rooms and sea-view rooms as an alternative. As marketed on our website our bunk rooms are indeed compact, and perhaps not always suitable for families. Our bunk rooms are all private and en-suite, and do offer an affordable option for a group visit to Newquay and provides a great alternative to shared dormitory-style accommodation with communal facilities.

We accept the comments and will consider offering a more suitable family-type form of room. We would be happy to utilise our large sea-view rooms at the front of the hotel for this purpose.

The lack of drinking water in the rooms is unfortunate, however, we would not risk the welfare of our guests. Fresh drinking water is always available on request. Plans are already under way to install drinking water fountains throughout the hotel. We apologise to all guests inconvenienced by this in 2012.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

I booked this hotel for myself and a friend for a weekend break last week. There was just 2 of us staying there and travelling down from the West Midlands late on a Friday evening we were unsure of the time we would arrive. The hotels management was more than accommodating and said an arrival of 2am would be ok. However due to roadworks we didn't actually arrive until 4:30am, very tired we were worried we may not be able to get in and be facing a few hours sleep in the car, but after parking the car the 2 gentlemen on night duty were very kind and not only let us in but greeted us with a smile and gave us a run down of everything we needed to know. Upon getting to the room we found we were in room 108 facing the beachfront and what a view that was-it made the very long journey worth every second.The room was clean and tidy and had everything we needed. Aside from the hotel in itself the thing I feel really needs mentioning is not only the value for money, location and general high standard of the hotel but the staff. The staff really are the making of the hotel, Warm, friendly and still professional they are informative, willingly helpful and polite, customer service is superb, I really would highly recommend the hotel to anyone looking to stay in Newquay. I will be booking there again.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the beachfront really are worth every penny, the views are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssh57, Front Office Manager at Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank-you very much for all your fantastic comments on the hotel!

Bob and Duncan's roles on the night shift often pass without the recognition and thanks they both deserve. I am delighted to read this review and would like to take this opportunity to say how brilliant our night staff are :-)

Thanks again Laura S and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed here on an amazing deal from a "deals website" and as a result were apprehensive as to the quality of the accommodation. We were extremely pleased with the location, staff and cleanliness of the accommodation. The breakfast was great and the surf lesson we had was the best I have experienced.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Super budget hotel right in the front of Newquay had a 4 bunk room for the family, booked last minute on line for two nights. On arrival made to feel really welcome as we unloaded our wet suits and Eskimo. Nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was great more than enough so much so that the kids had the ceral breakfast the next day. Room was small but lovely and clean and the shower was hot, just what was needed. Lee the manager went above and beyond when we came to check out to find our car battery flat. The staff are exemplary, as one who has worked in the trade they did the manager and the hotel proud. Brilliant stay will be back again before the end of the summer. Totally does what it says on the tin!

Room Tip: Choose the sea view rooms or ask for a larger bink room, as ours was a bit small for family with two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

It does what it says on the tin. Its cheap, clean and the staff were superb. I'm really bad remembering names - sorry - but the dark haired lady on the desk and the lady serving breakfast were both first class in customer care, really friendly and make you feel at home.

Parking was a pain but no fault of the hotels - this is Newquay throughout. Surf lesson with Adam was great, a lot of fun :) again no fault of the hotels but I'd take ear plugs because of the seagulls, they seem to party on the roof until the wee hours haha.

Thanks for a great introduction to surfing , sunnyside!
Chris & Charlene

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sunnyside Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunnyside Newquay

Address: 5 - 7 The Crescent, Newquay TR7 1DT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 50 Hotels in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sunnyside Newquay 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located for a short break in Newquay, Hotel Sunnyside is a fun and upbeat budget hotel offering a range of facilities and a great choice of affordable private en-suite rooms for single travellers, couples, and groups of all ages.Positioned just above Towan Beach in the heart of Newquay town centre, our location boasts inspirational views across Newquay bay and the awe-inspiring Atlantic coastline. With only a two minute walk to the main shops, bars, and restaurants, and only a short stroll from the beach, Newquay's winning formula of sun/fun/sea/surf are all on your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sunnyside Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunnyside Hotel Newquay
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sunnyside Newquay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.