We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total relaxation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Coastguard Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mousehole
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Coastguard Hotel
Save
You added Old Coastguard Hotel to your Saves list
The Parade, Mousehole TR19 6PR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Mousehole B&B and Inns
Saltash, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Total relaxation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Great staff, easy booking, fantastic location, food to die for! Arrival very friendly & informal, the treat was being able to just relax with stacks of books to peruse, the radio for background music or discussion. Being able to soak in a bath with lashings of hot water and bubbles before wandering down for our evening meal which was beautifully cooked and well presented with no rush or pressure. Big sofas to sit and have brandies! Breakfast was again memorable, home made yogurts, fresh fruit, an array of nuts and seeds, plus my smoked haddock on a bed of spinach topped with a perfect poached egg was perfection on a plate. Decent coffee - and loads of it.
If I wanted to nit pick - a full length mirror would have been good to have in the room, instead of standing on a chair in the bathroom - but hey that's my vanity....All in all very highly recommended, Alice, Rose and Jason Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    90
    23
    18
    13
See reviews for
49
188
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We usually go to Gurnards Head,but this time we really wanted to try out the Old Coastguard,and we are most happy that we did.Food (evening meal and breakfast) was just as we expected it to be-perfect! As for room-view was incredible and the four poster was comfortable,yes,there was no television,but who needs it when you have got such an incredible views and the person you love,watch television when you are at home. Bath was perfect size,not the usual tiny things you sometimes get at hotels.Loved the Tregothnan tea! I do not understand the nasty comments,place is wonderful,and,again if you are worried about what is going to happen at Coronation Street do not bother going,Old Coastguard is for people with style and substance! There are no mad dogs in restaurant.Staff was most helpful.Thank you for making our visit unforgettable! Robbie and Ieva

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We had Sunday lunch here on a sunny but very windy day. The view is excellent out across the bay. Food was good for a pub/restaurant Sunday roast, although possibly nothing "out of the ordinary". The service was good and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in the Island Room
with breathtaking views and the biggest most comfy bed i have ever slept in.
Clean bright and airy we found our room
a peaceful relaxing sanctuary.
The food was imaginative, beautifully cooked and presented and utterly delicious!
Every single member of staff we encountered was charming, helpful and really cared that we had an enjoyable stay.
No tv is refreshing and a mountain of varied books to pick up and read ensure your stay is a uniquely restful experience.
It really was a fabulous break thank you to every one.



  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

The location is unbeatable and the staff friendly, food very good, room comfortable . However we found the no TV policy irritating on a cold Winters evening. A tasteful retro Roberts radio is no substitute for being able to catch ones favourite progs. Don't assume that none of your guests wish to watch television, it is a mainstream entertainment choice across the board.

Whilst the sentiment of providing fresh milk is commendable, in practice as the rooms do not have refrigeration, means waking up without being able to make a cup of tea or coffee.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Ives, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We booked 2 nights Sunday/Monday taking advantage of the Winter Escape deal - 2 adults and one dog. Lovely hotel and lovely room (double with terrace, sea views) - very clean and warm with the most comfortable bed we have slept in! Fabulous dinner both nights, great wine list and fabulous breakfasts too. One of the things that really made our stay was the staff - they were all friendly, knowledgeable and went out of their way to be helpful - a real credit to the place. We cant wait to go back again !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We came here as it is fairly local and we have stayed at other premises and been impressed.Stayed here for my partners birthday. We had a sea view but it was partly obscured by the roof of the terrace , however a nice outlook over the village particularly at night.Plus points- bed was great as was bedding, food was good particularly breakfast, staff very friendly and helpful.Pleasant to walk in the village and on the cliffs and I would imagine it would be great for families in the summer because you can walk out of the garden to the seawater pool.Minus points- room was shabby and not in a shabby chic way, peeling paint on the walls and scuffed paintwork, the main eating/drinking area could have been cleaner and the plumbing was dodgy, shower went from hot to cold and I had to get my partner to turn it on as it was so stiff.I would imagine these issues will be addressed as I believe it is a fairly recent acquisition so we will probably revisit but leave it a while.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Coastguard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Coastguard Hotel

Address: The Parade, Mousehole TR19 6PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mousehole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Mousehole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Old Coastguard Penzance
Hotel Old Coastguard
Old Coastguard Hotel Mousehole, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Coastguard Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.