We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Pub & location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ship Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Ship Inn to your Saves list
The Ship Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   S. Cliff, Mousehole TR19 6QX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Mousehole B&B and Inns
UK
1 review
“Brilliant Pub & location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2010

Just spent 3 days at the Ship Pub in Mousehole, Cornwall with friends and we were superbly looked after by the Landlord and Lady. We had a room overlooking the harbour which was well appointed, clean and warm in the cold weather. It does not pretend to be Hotel accomodation, bot non the less was very acceptable as was the restaurant food and service. Very good selection of real ales consumed in front of an open fire. Mosehole was not built for cars, but out of season this was not a problem. Coul;d be different in the summer. Great place.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    91
    24
    14
    17
See reviews for
49
157
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

We only spent one night at the Ship Inn and loved it.Our room was spacious and had a lovely view of the harbour.We had dinner there as well,very nice food, the mussels were fantastic,huge portion.The breakfast was very good too and very good staff,,Thanks to all at The Ship Inn.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavistock
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

We enjoyed our stay athe Ship inn that much i felt the need to write my review straight away so other people can enjoy the Ship inn as much as us. The managers Steve and Jan made us feel very welcome as soon as we walked into the inn. Our room was very clean and well stocked with tea,coffee and towels. We had all our meals at the pub as the food was very well cooked and they did not skimp on the portions of food. I would be pleased to recomend this Inn to any one who is thinking of staying in Mousehole. Steve & Anne

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isles of Scilly
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2010

We stayed at the Ship Inn over a VERY cold weekend in mid January and had the unusual experience of seeing Mousehole decked out in ice and snow! We parked our car in the harbourside car park where we were amazed to find there was an Honesty Box for users during the winter (there is an attendant in the summer). The car park is a good hundred yards from the Inn which is on a very narrow road with the harbour railings on one side and the Inn frontage on the other so no easy option to park and drop off luggage. Check-in was with the bartender who hurriedly showed us to our room in the cottage next to the pub (which had its own separate front door) and then hastened back to serve customers in the bar.

Nevertheless, our room (number 7) was centrally-heated with a comfortable double bed, good quality bedding, small but spotlessly clean shower/toilet and a lovely view of the harbour from the bay window. The well stocked beverage tray sported some of the most generous mugs we have yet encountered in a B & B. In fact, we were glad of a hot cup of tea after an eight mile roundtrip hike along the snowy road to Lamorna Cove on Sunday morning... where we found, to our dismay, that the Lamorna Wink pub was firmly shut and had to retrace our steps to Mousehole in the teeth of a blizzard.

We ate twice at the Ship Inn, once in the pub where the food was innovative and enjoyable (but could have been hotter) and once in the restaurant where we were the only customers. Don't expect fancy arrangements and garnishes but my husband's steak was very good and my beer battered haddock excellent. Breakfast was plain, simple and very hot - no fancy multiple choices - but we both felt that the fried bread was overloaded with oil (deep fried?) and best avoided.

Chatting to the Liverpudlian landlord over breakfast, he said he and his (Cornish-born) wife had only been at the pub for a month so that would have been a very busy four weeks indeed! (Having spent over twenty years in hotels and catering ourselves, we know just how busy the Christmas and New Year period can be....) So if you are looking for a traditional honest Cornish pub with comfortable rooms, serving good food and excellent beers, we can recommend the Ship Inn at Mousehole.

But somehow I suspect we would prefer not to be there at the height of the summer ...

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

We have just spent a week in Mousehole and one of the pleasures of the holiday was the time we spent in The Ship - especially on New Years Eve. It is a very well run pub with excellent food. I think some of the previous reviews are harsh and do not macth our experience at all.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcester
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

Have just spent four days in Mousehole over the New Year and spent alot of time relaxing in the Ship Inn. The pub is very busy at this time of year and although the majority of the staff are miserable the new managers Steve and Jane are only to happy to go out of their way to make your visit enjoyable.

We ate at the pub on three occasions - one evening and two lunchtimes. Despite the pub being jam packed the food comes out in a reasonable time and is very good, although the portions are huge!!

I have read other review on this site and as I understand the managers only took over mid-December most of the comments cannot be attributed to them and I am surprised to see the comment by Geordie03.

Next time we visit mousehole we intend to stay at The Ship Inn to experience more of the fabulous treatment we recieved over our recent break

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Sassenach
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2009

The Ship Inn "does what it says on the can". It is a traditional Cornish pub which does rooms.
The rooms are comfortable and clean, but the bathrooms are a bit basic, the shower in ours just never quite got hot enough.
But lets be honest here, you dont stay in a small old pub for its cutting edge designer chic, but for its character, location and for a genuine old inn experience.
The Ship Inn has great atmosphere, keeps good ales, does really excellent good honest home cooked meals of heroic proportions, and feels warm and welcoming.
All the staff we met were really friendly and efficient, and although we only stayed 3 nights quickly learnt what we liked to eat and drink and recognised us when we were out and about - it all went to making you feel at home in a community rather than as only another tourist.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship Inn

Address: S. Cliff, Mousehole TR19 6QX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mousehole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Mousehole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ship Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Ship Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ship Hotel Mousehole
Ship Inn Mousehole
The Ship Inn Mousehole, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ship Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.