We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ship Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Ship Inn to your Saves list
The Ship Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   S. Cliff, Mousehole TR19 6QX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Mousehole B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“lovely place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

we didn't stay here but were in Mousehole for a week. we visited this Inn on several occasions and found the Staff very efficient and friendly, the food was good and well priced and the atmosphere pleasant. The roof terrace is a little sun trap and is a 2 min walk from the nearest carpark.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    97
    27
    14
    17
See reviews for
54
175
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

A lovely pub with accommodation, overlooking the harbour. A very nice bar with a good atmosphere, serving quality food and a good selection of ales. The staff were friendly and efficient, making this a pleasant place to visit. We stayed at the Ship Inn for one night, and based on a previous comment on Trip Advisor, we specifically requested a harbour-facing view in the main Inn. Although this request was confirmed by email by their staff, on arrival we were informed that there was a 'problem with the water supply' in that room, and we were reluctantly switched to accommodation in their property next door to the Ship Inn. The room we stayed in was clean and tidy, but quite small and with only a partial view of the harbour. A disappointment. We didn't get to see the rooms in the actual Inn, so not possible to comment on them.

Room Tip: Get a harbour view room in the main Inn.....if you can..!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

My friend and I were recently staying in Mousehole for a few days and found the Ship Inn to be a most welcoming place to be in. The staff are very friendly, polite and helpful. The food was excellent, beautiful local fresh ingredients cooked to perfection by the wonderful Chef Tracy and her team, she was even kind and generous enough to share her fabulous recipe for Smoked Haddock Rarebit with us, simply one of the best fish dishes I have ever tasted.
I can highly recommend it and will certainly be visiting again. The whole place has a lovely friendly atmosphere, I very much look forward to my next trip to Mousehole.

Room Tip: I did not actually stay at The Ship, just had two delicious dinners there. many thanks to all the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed for one night on the way to Tresco in the Scilly Isles and another en route for home. Very convenient for Lands End airport and could also be a good base for touring the south of Cornwall. Good clean comfortable accommodation and helpful staff. Food good value for money. All in all worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Amazing little pub with friendly atmosphere and staff. Great food at reasonable prices and they have Rattler on tap! The location is lovely especially in the evenings when you can stand outside on the harbour side, if you ask at the bar they will serve your drinks in plastic glasses so you can take them outside.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stopped in at the Ship after a (bank holiday) week of feeling that restaurants and pubs were just very busy, so no one could be bothered to take care and be polite.

Not so at the Ship. Quite reassuring actually.

We've been here in the depths of squally winter gales, but today a sunny, breezy day in September.

The food was great - my wife had a perfect crab sandwich, and I ordered the baked mackerel special, three baked mackerel with chips and salad. Both meals were perfect, and delivered with a smile by a lovely local lady, who'd obviously stepped out of the kitchen in her pinny.

Perfect.

After a barren in West Cornwall, devoid of a warm welcome and good service - what a pleasant change! Would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Popped in with wife and two kids Reuben 10 and Roma 3 food was excellent even though kitchen closing in five minutes
Great friendly service Reuben chose chicken bites ( best ever ) Roma had small catch ( fish and chips ) both meals excellent and our seafood sharing platter was divine !! Missed fresh fish on this trip but this excelled beautiful mix with lovely presentation WELL RECOMMEND

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship Inn

Address: S. Cliff, Mousehole TR19 6QX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mousehole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Mousehole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ship Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ship inn is a welcoming Cornish pub situated in the picturesque fishing village of Mousehole. With stunning views of the sandy beaches or stormy waves The Ship inn is the perfect place to refresh & chat to locals, or snuggle up in front of the open fire and read a good book. We also have eight beautiful bedrooms (located within the pub and the cottage next door) for that perfect weekend getaway, family holiday or overnight stay before travelling to the Scilly isles. 'There are few things more pleasant than a Cornish harbour graced with a good pub and great ale' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Ship Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ship Hotel Mousehole
Ship Inn Mousehole
The Ship Inn Mousehole, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ship Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.