We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tremayne Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mousehole
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tremayne Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Tremayne Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Parade Hill, Mousehole TR19 6PN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Mousehole B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 5 days in the middle of August, reading some of the reviews on here was a bit worried but thankfully we didn't have any problems at all , the owner was very pleasant and helpful, suggesting places of interest that we may like to visit in and around Mousehole. The position of the guesthouse is perfect, just a couple of minutes from the sea, the rooms were lovely, comfortable , clean and homely, the caffe /tearoom is very handy and we had a wonderful cream tea one afternoon, the staff are all very friendly and helpful and we plan to return , hopefully for a longer stay

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    6
    6
    6
    7
See reviews for
8
25
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
ipswich
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Booked in and was given keys, as after 5.30 you let yourself in as only guests were on site (three rooms I think) Room reminded me of my bedsit day's but that I could put up with, but it also smelt a bit musty, no running hot water evening or in the morning had to use a kettle, told owner in the morning but was told you had to run it for a while (I ran it for a good five minutes) Towels in the bathroom I would suggest had been used by several previous guests and not been washed or changed as they smelt rank luckily we had our own towel in the car with us, shower was fine though you did have to make sure plastic cup stayed in place over the previous showers controls as the spike could be dangerous, when I told owner the next morning about towels his reply was the maid was having problems keeping up with the cleaning but thank you for telling me as I need to know these things (only now am I reading the other reviews)
Breakfast was fine.
wouldn't stay again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

Did not stay just popped in for drinks had a bottle if cornish rattler she had a special pimms with strawberrysin and cucumber and ice wich i no is a girls drink but i had a sip and it was beautiful the whole scene and freindly owner greeted us as soon as we walked in the outside area sat on a bench with a freindly smile offering us menus my only regret not trying the food as we were busy, i have read some reviews of this place and although we only spent a half hour in the patio area i think people are being harsh on a very nice place and freindly staff, this place or managment is not unclean from what i saw he seems a perfectionist with his large apple mac n very nice tvr motor. Try it out for yourself but its nice.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Arrived by Train from London- Penzance for four night stay 6th. - 9th. June, two adults and child in family room. Shower tray had hair and scum in it, blinds to bay window and bathroom covered in weeks of dust and fluff. Child is mildly asthsmatic. Owner Kevin looked at room and stated cleaner was very elderly but he would get her back to clean up. We then went out for a meal. On getting into bed later on noticed small black hairs stuck to bottom sheet. Wife and I slept with clothes on. Cobwebs in corners of room. Sheets and pillow cases not ironed and not laundered properly. Towels in bathroom like cardboard, very old and rough. Had breakfast (cold plates and lukewarm food). There was food scatttered on floor from day before. Decided to leave with nowhere to go. Kevin wanted full payment for night ((£110)which I paid in cash. Overpriced and unclean. Kevin suggested we ought to have stayed in a hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

We stayed in the family room for £110 (2 adults, 1 child, 1 baby). The public area is attractive and the owners were friendly. The room was clean and as described (bed, en suite, TV).

We think £110 is quite a lot for one room B&B (there were no other guests at the time), so expected something upmarket. But the room was really quite dingy, in shades of brown and pine. The bed was slightly lumpy. The en suite was clean in terms of hygiene, but sparse. Breakfast was technically all present, but uninspired. There weren't any nice touches (e.g flowers, nice toiletries, proper coffee).

We had come from another hotel not far away. For an extra £50 per night, the room was lovely and twice the size; facilities included indoor and outdoor pool, soft play, games room, art room, playground, lounges; breakfast was a huge buffet of quality ingredients. That was good value.

There was a heater at one end of the bunk beds. This came on automatically in the morning and was very hot, too hot to touch more than momentarily. If fallen upon or grabbed, for example by a young child, a burn could result. We have expressed our concern to the owner and recommended that the heater is changed/removed or an appropriate guard fitted.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

Small adequate room, central position in village, parking spaces available, enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

We had previously stayed with Kevin at Tremayne and again received a very warm welcome. This time we had the family room and it was a lovely light, bright, clean and comfortable room. Havnt slept so well for ages and the breakfast was a great start to the day. A fantastic base for a stay in beautiful Mousehole. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will highly recommend.

Room Tip: all rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tremayne Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tremayne Bed & Breakfast

Address: Parade Hill, Mousehole TR19 6PN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mousehole
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Mousehole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tremayne bed and breakfast situated in the heart of Mousehole, Cornwall. only 50 yards from the harbour and amenities.Our recently refurbished bed and breakfast offers comfortable ensuite accommodation and a warm welcome.Tremayne is an ideal place to stay, being central for exploring West Cornwall.Whether it's a trip to Land's End or St. Ives, or a day out to St. Michaels Mount or the Minack theatre or even a trip to the Scilly Isles.With picturesque beaches and miles of coastal walks nearby, Tremayne will help you make the most of your time here and to keep you refreshed during your stay.We are fairly unique as well in the village in having on site parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tremayne Bed & Breakfast Mousehole, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tremayne Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.