We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cornish Range Seafood Restaurant

The Cornish Range Seafood Restaurant
6 Chapel Street, Mousehole TR19 6SB, England
1736 731488
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 10 Restaurants in Mousehole
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Doing business
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had a great meal here with friendly service and amazing food, thank you!

p.s. The dessert (Eton mess) was INCREDIBLE.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    51
    36
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Lovely evening meal, and great wine menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

By far the best place in Mousehole, for an evening meal or something special. Excellent seafood options, and far friendlier staff than other places in the town.
Had the lobster, crab Linguine which was excellent, and the vegetarian option for my wife was equally good.
Wine list very good too. Nice kids menu covering basic sausage and mash options, along with more adventurous fare.
Aside from the Ship Inn, the only place to consider for an evening meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Try an early bird”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Great little restaurant with local food . Early bird menu very good, a wide choice and lovely atmosphere. Sea food bisque the best

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good stuff, very good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Most places in Mousehole close early, but at least this one does an early evening menu, £16.95 for two courses. Fish soup was high quality, sole fillets delicious, everyone else looked happy with their food. Good service, lovely cool room.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Great for seafood, but nothing else”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Cornish Range is a small restaurant in Mousehole. If you're driving, park near the seaside in the big parking lot, and walk the 5 minutes to the restaurant as it will be impossible to find parking on the street the restaurant is in.

The fish dishes were amazing - I had the megrim sole as well as a fish bisque. However, the non-fish dishes were lacking. The fillet steak was so dry and tough - and we had ordered medium well! It was almost as tough as a pork chop.

Our food also took quite a long time to arrive. Granted, the restaurant was full, but we waited around 40 minutes for our mains to arrive (we had skipped ordering starters).

When asked whether the food was alright, we did raise the issue of the tough beef fillet. Apart from acknowledging the complaint, the staff did nothing else. No apology from the manager even.

If I were to be back in the Mousehole area, I think I'd go for 2 Fore Street instead. The seafood is as good there, but at least the other dishes are better and service another level too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cornish Range Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Mousehole, Cornwall
Mousehole, Cornwall
 

Been to The Cornish Range Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cornish Range Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.