We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food lovely but mussles should have been checked before plating up.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cornish Range Seafood Restaurant

The Cornish Range Seafood Restaurant
6 Chapel Street, Mousehole TR19 6SB, England
1736 731488
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 10 Restaurants in Mousehole
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Doing business, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Food lovely but mussles should have been checked before plating up.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I visited this restaurant as the menu seemed great for local fish. The early bird menu was very good and included mussels as a starter. I was a bit disappointed to find one that was not edible (but still the shell was open) and gunge came out into the sauce. Fortunately I'd eaten most of the mussels by then but I did wonder if the white wine sauce had been contaminated by the bad one and that I'd be ill. Despite worrying I was fine - but it did take the shine off the meal a little. Just a quick check of all the mussels at plating up would have eliminated this problem.

The ambiance was good and waitresses friendly (could have been a little bit more knowledgeable about the produce on offer). The fish course was lovely and I had no space for any dessert. All in all a very nice place which would have had a 5/5 had it been a little more careful. I'd go there again... but probably would specifically ask them to check the mussels before plating up!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    51
    36
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Excellent food and friendly atmosphere, highly recommend a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The restaurent did not disappoint. I had been recommended to visit. The choice of menu was varied and food delicious

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Reasonable food in Mousehole”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The food here is never bad but cannot compete with 2 Fore Street locally nor with the better restaurants in St Ives and Penzance. Fish can be a little bland, needing more seasoning. Waiting staff are efficient. Needs to up its game at the prices charged.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very decent food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Pleasant waitresses, but not professionals. Paper napkins, pine tables, solid water glasses indicate a serviceable approach to dining. The food was actually rather good and we may well return. The early diner menu was rather good and excellent value.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveling cat
Top Contributor
264 reviews 264 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“good food mostly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

hubby had a flounder with crab but appeared the crab had just been opened from a can and tossed aboard. otherwise, was quite good and tasty. as usual with Brit food though, we always season more

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cornish Range Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Mousehole, Cornwall
Mousehole, Cornwall
 

Been to The Cornish Range Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cornish Range Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.