We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special evening for a special day” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Coastguard Hotel Restaurant

The Old Coastguard Hotel Restaurant
The Parade, Mousehole TR19 6PR, England
01736 731222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 10 Restaurants in Mousehole
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $40 - $159
Cuisines: Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Special evening for a special day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

My partner took me here as a suprise as we have been together for four years, the venue is amazing due to its lovely view!! Our meal was lovely and I really enjoyed the food with fresh fish and produce !! Had a cocktail to start with which was lovely the only comment I would have is that we had to wait a while to order some wine after our aperitifs which was a little disappointing but service was friendly and helpful!! At the end of our meal we went down and sat in the comfortable sofas to finish our wine was lovely ! Only other comment would be that some of the tables are quite close together but over all a lovely evening for a special day

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    89
    32
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic food and drink”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Perfect place to enjoy what is superb food, totally unpretentious atmosphere. The beer was in great condition too. Couldn't recommend more.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere, good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We haven't been to The Coastguards for a couple of years but heard that it was much improved so took a risk and booked to take visiting friends..,.and we all really enjoyed it! We went early to sit on the sofas and have a pre-dinner drink, enjoying the views...perfect! We were then delighted, when seated, to have plenty of space...we could chat and laugh and not be part of our neighbouring diners conversation. The food was really very good (phew!). We all had fish and thought it was imaginatively and beautifully prepared (and we are lucky enough to have great seafood restaurants locally...it matched the best and exceeded some). We will go back...give it a try!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“The odd person out.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Four of us went from diner. Three were very pleased with the experience. Great setting overlooking the sea across gardens in which we would have been sitting but for the Cornish weather. Good bar area with friendly helpful service. Staggered sittings to ensure all cooked to order. Interesting menu. Good and friendly service if a little haphazard. 'Sorry we forgot to put the egg and cheese on your asparagus' was amusing not annoying. Replaced speedily. My friends really enjoyed the evening. For me: for starters the seafood tempura was greasy and this lingered on the palate; the main included seabeet which drowned the taste of anything else - and as it was accompanied by plaice that was not hard; the 'hand cut chips' were french fries; the beer was excellent. The Cornish Range to which we went the next night produced a more memorable meal - and that was the verdict of all, not just me!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall England
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“Fabulous views and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

A big improvement since the new owners took over. We ate at their other place in Cornwall the Gurnards Head often but now can walk to the Old Coastguard as we live in the village. The food is varied, delicious and locally sourced. When the sun shines the garden is a perfect place to sit and enjoy a glass of rose or a beer.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Coastguard Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Mousehole, Cornwall
Mousehole, Cornwall
 

Been to The Old Coastguard Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Coastguard Hotel Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.