We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Portbyhan Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Portbyhan Hotel to your Saves list
Portbyhan Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Quay | West Looe, Looe PL13 2BU, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Looe
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Firstly a big thank you to all the lovely staff for being very welcoming and friendly. A special thanks to Emma for offering me a different chair in the dining room after I mentioned I had a bad back. Well situated in the heart of Looe overlooking the harbour, a short walk across the bridge to the quaint shops. Good reasonably priced food in the hotel restaurant ( 11.95 fish and chips ,12.95 pork loin) compared favourably with nearby prices with the added bonus of the fabulous harbour view. Nice full english breakfast also.The only reason we haven't given 5 stars was the room.. We stayed in room 112 situated at the back of the hotel and whilst clean and tidy the decor was lacklustre. We paid £70 per night (2 night stay) in August for our double room with en-suite which was a good deal as the room is usually £110 at this time. We booked through late -rooms website. If you aren't particularly bothered about bedroom decor this hotel is perfect given the other points we have stated. Saying that, the bed was extremely comfortable!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portbyhan, General Manager at Portbyhan Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you for your generous review - I am particularly happy that you felt the warmth of the staff here, they are a great team. I have personally thanked Emma for taking good care of you.
Please do contact me personally for your next visit and I will ensure you enjoy one of our beautiful harbour view rooms.

On behalf of all of us here at The Portbyhan Hotel
Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    36
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
58
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

The welcome at the Portbyhan is second to none. All the staff are very friendly to the point where you feel you are part of the family. We were on a coach trip and so therefore we all had our evening meal at the same time. The choices are varied and the quality very good. The restaurant itself is very tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. Our room was on the third floor with a view of the river, although the windows are quite high. The room was quite small, freshly decorated and again spotlessly clean.

Wifi although slow is available in the bar and lounge areas and very poor in the room but hopefully this will be addressed.

would we stay there again, definitely!

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor, with balcony, facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portbyhan, General Manager at Portbyhan Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for posting your generous and positive review.
I am delighted your felt the warmth of Cornwall here at The Portbyhan Hotel and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Rest assured we have a working solution in hand for the wifi which will certainly address the issues you have highlighted.
You will certainly notice a huge improvement when you next visit!

On behalf of all of us at The Portbyhan Hotel
Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solihull
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

This is a really nice little hotel, with rooms over looking looe harbour .some with balconies.
The rooms are not huge but are nicely decorated, clean and have nice quality towels and bed linen, with plenty of tea/coffee and milks. The one down side are the beds, so uncomfortable. You can feel every move your partner makes and all around the edge of the mattress is some sort of binding? If you run your hand over the bed you can feel the springs?. We even changed rooms, which made no difference as I'm thinking they are all the same. Please do something about your matresses, we had bad nights sleep nearly every night.
We ate at the restaurant on our first night, the restaurant has tables overlooking the harbour. We had our grandchildren with us and the children's meals were great.three of our party had the pasta dish, at £16.95. Which had crab in it with a cream sauce, all 3 commented that there was no real flavour and hardly any crab.but the staff were all so pleasant and could not do enough to make sure our meal was enjoyable. Try the homemade soup its really delicious.
Breakfast is in the same room, and you could not fault any of it, it was superb. Once again staff very attentive and friendly.
We cannot speak highly enough of all the staff at this hotel, they really do go out of their way to help you with whatever you need.this was what made our stay so enjoyable, the only other thing that could be improved is the internet connection, its really bad, we had no connection in either of the rooms we were in, its also very hit and miss downstairs..yet we visited a pub just down the road for lunch and the connection was strong,the landlord said he had got extra connection boxes.my husband needs the internet for his business.as I'm sure a few other of the younger guests would be kept happier with better internet connections.
Once again great staff a credit to the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Barbour, 312 and 209 were good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portbyhan, General Manager at Portbyhan Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Good morning and firstly, my I extend my thanks for such a positive and constructive review.

I know that the hotel bought all new mattresses in the last 9 months so they are not causing problems due to age, I will take this up with the manufacturer. I can reassure you that we are working on the wifi situation and have a solution just coming to trial in the next week. Initial tests have been very positive so one quick trial and all being well all will be fixed in a matter of days.
Thank you for your praise for the staff here - they are a great team, full of enthusiasm and they really do care. I am disappointed that the crab linguine was not flavourful enough or that there was insufficient crab - I will most certainly double check that with Chef and address it immediately - we must do right by such a wonderful, local product.
Once again, thank you for your feedback - please do come back again to enjoy the action we have taken directly from your comments.

On behalf of all of us at The Portbyhan Hotel
Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Stopped here twice during our 2 weeks in Duloe for Sunday lunch. Highly recommended, staff are very helpful and the carvery is worth a visit. At time of writing this review the carvery is £8.95 for adults, OAP's and children are £4.95. Plenty to eat and everything cooked to perfection. Would recommend you book as it gets very busy. Car parking can be an issue, but if you get there early, parking just 100yards down the road is £1/hour.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portbyhan, General Manager at Portbyhan Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Good afternoon and thank you for taking the time to review our Sunday Carvery Lunch - I am delighted that you enjoyed it enough to come back for 'seconds' - please do call in again next time you are in the area.....certainly not "grumpy" with a tummy full of Roast Beef and trimmings!

From all of us at The Portbyhan Hotel
Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

My wife & my young daughter spent a three night weeknd at the Portbyhan Hotel last week and we were absolutely delighted with all aspects of the hotel, from the warm friendly greeting when we arrived to the friendly staff all around the hotel, nothing was too much trouble for them. The entertainment was very enjoyable, catering for a wide range of tastes.

The bar was well run and stocked well. Our bedroom was very clean, spacious and had all the amenities you would expect in an up to daye modern hotel. We were lucky enough to have a room with a fantastic view of the harbour and even more lucky that the room had a doorway straight on the the sun terrace.

We could not have been happier with thisn hotel. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portbyhan, General Manager at Portbyhan Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Good afternoon and thank you for posting such a kind review. We do try our very best and it is always gratifying when we find we are hitting the right notes.
We very much look forward to seeing you again, please contact me personally for any help with your next reservation.

On behalf of all of us The Portbyhan Hotel
Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We had a lovely two night stay at Portbyhan Hotel. Our room has breathtaking view of the sea. It is small but clean and has almost everything you can ask for. The staff are very friendly and helpful; service is efficient. Breakfast has not the biggest selection, but I am happy with the choices, especiallly it was such a pleasure to sit next to the window enjoying the sunsine and sea view.

Though wifi connection is very very poor, I won't hesitate to recommend anyone to stay at Portbyhan for what it can offer and how much it charges.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portbyhan, General Manager at Portbyhan Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you for your generous review of your stay with us.
We are certainly lucky to have both rooms and our restaurant with such great views.
As an update, we are working on completely revamping the wifi service throughout the hotel, so that will be significantly improved very shortly.

Hope to see you again soon!
From all of us at The Portbyhan Hotel
Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTH AFRICA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We picked up a travel magazine on our way down to Cornwall and it mentioned the Hotel Portbyhan in Looe. As we drove in we spotted it and went in on to see if there was any accommodation. The lady at the front desk was incredibly helpful and showed us the last two rooms. It was spotless and looked onto the Harbour and the rate was very reasonable. It opened onto a shared patio with tables and chairs, filled with magnificent flowers.
We went to their dining room that evening and got a table overlooking the Harbour and had an excellent meal. We recommend a stay at Portbyhan and you request a room overlooking the Harbour

Room Tip: Lower rooms are cooler in July. But take one facing the Harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portbyhan, General Manager at Portbyhan Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Good afternoon from sunny Looe,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I have already thanked Annie on the Front Desk for her excellent hospitality.
Come back and see us again!

From all of us at The Portbyhan Hotel
Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Portbyhan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portbyhan Hotel

Address: The Quay | West Looe, Looe PL13 2BU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Looe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Looe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Portbyhan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Portbyhan Hotel is located quayside in the heart of the beautiful Cornish fishing town of West Looe. West Looe is still a functioning fishing town and the hotel's location provides guests with great views of 'hustle and bustle' going on every day in the picturesque harbour. The family run hotel has a reputation for being one of the most popular hotels in Looe purely through recommendations by guests who have stayed in the hotel. All the guest bedrooms in the hotel are en-suite, spacious, clean and comfortable. All rooms come with all the modern facilities guests expect such as Colour TV and hair dryer. Many bedrooms have fantastic views of the harbour and/or town. Our Riverside Restaurant is ideally situated to provide fantastic views across the quayside and prides itself on great food and great service. The hotel has a well-stocked bar so guests can enjoy a cold beer, a glass of wine or have a game of pool in the games room. The hotel also puts on live entertainment on selected nights throughout the year making it popular with the locals, a fun night is guaranteed. Please note: Pets are not permitted to stay at this hotel. For best available rates, please contact the hotel direct or visit our website. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Portbyhan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portbyhan Hotel Looe, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portbyhan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.