We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Weekend in Looe Bay Holiday Park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parkdean - Looe Bay Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Looe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parkdean - Looe Bay Holiday Park
Save
You added Parkdean - Looe Bay Holiday Park to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   St. Martins, East Looe | Cornwall, Looe PL13 1NX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Looe
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lovely Weekend in Looe Bay Holiday Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

Just returned from a weekend in Looe Bay Holiday Park with friends. We stayed in a Lanreath caravan (Nos. 111 and 115). Perfectly located parking bay next to them with a fair amount of grass around/in front of the caravans for the children to play and keep an eye on them. It was however situated just far enough away from the club house/amusements etc. Caravan was well equipped and clean, shower was lovely. Staff were extremely helpful on checking in and around the site. Swimming pool really warm, bar prices really reasonable (have stayed on enough sites to know when getting ripped off!!). No complaints at all, definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    119
    73
    26
    17
See reviews for
176
52
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Caravan was ideal, was nothing sparkling as stayed in a caravan that allowed dogs in .... but suited us well as we took our field spaniel. There was a faded carpet and ripped wallpaper so please if your taking a dog dont expect the works...They could do with replacing the matresses too as a little uncomfortable

The swimming pool was ok bit small if busy. All staff were very friendly

The shop was fantastic and sold all sorts of items

The location was fab it is a fair walk to the centre of looe and very very hilly !!! The bus however runs on a regular basis.

p.s please please dont go for a sunday lunch at the resturant on site i was very disappointed with it after paying £8!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We came on a 4 day break, arriving early on the monday we were able to collect the key without having to wait until 4pm. Our caravan was a 2011 model which we found to be very clean,comfortable and spacious.Having no children in the party we used the park as a base for sightseeing.We ate in the Polperro restaurant and found the meal to be very good,plenty of food ,well cooked but not overcooked and well presented.On the whole we found the park to be clean,the indooor pool adequate and the staff very helpful and friendly.Having read the reviews we were apprehensive at arriving at the park but were pleasantly surprised and would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weston super mare
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

we stayed in a 2011caravan which was clean very spacious, the camp site is relatively small and this meant we could let the older children (11,11 and 5,) have the run of the place which they loved. nice indoor pool, amusement arcade, younger ones (3 an 5) enjoyed the 'sid and lizzy' shows
was really wary after the bad reviews of other Park Dean places but this was a very good holiday, about 2000 yards from the camp site is a chippy 'the coddy shack' lovely fresh fish. and the boat trip around Pollperro bay was great fun and very cheap. would happily reccommend as a family holiday site.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

We came here on a 4 day break, downside is you can't get in your caravan until 4pm monday and you have to be out at 10am Friday which doesn't give u that long!! We payed for breakfast every morning which I would never do again it was cold and just not very nice!!! Looe itself is a lovely little fishing village, not far away. The caravan was clean, well equipped but the bedrooms and bathroom were on the small side leaving you to get dressed in the lounge. Entertainment was more for kids really but we loved bingo :) overall a good place to stay as a base!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

After driving nearly 8 hours to get to the park we arrived after the reception closed at 6pm so had to go into the bar to get our keys so didnt get quite the welcome we expected as i thought the reception would have been open later than 6pm but we had been allocated number 001 which was the nearest van to the club house so not far to the entertainment but it was also on the main road so you do get traffic at night which might keep some people awake if you are a light sleeper. Inside the caravan it was nice as it was a brand new van so it was very clean and bright but the beds do leave a lot to be desired. The main double is about 4 foot 6" and the beds in the other rooms are tiny, they are about 2 feet wide so anyone more than a 8 year old would struggle to fit on them and they wobble when your on them. Ended up having to use the pull out double in the lounge as it was more comfy. The other facilities in the van were good, it had a clean oven, microwave, fridge freezer which all worked fine. There was a carpet sweeper and ironing board with iron in the van if we needed it. We used the on site laundrette and while the washing machines were large and did wash well the dryers didnt dry the clothes all it did was warm them up. There was a clothes airer than you attach to a window so you can hang clothes on to dry but it has to hang outside the window so no good if it rains. The laundrette is £3 for a wash and £1 for a dry. On the rest of the site the food in the bar was ok if a bit expensive for what it was. The choice was average and i would recommend the gammon steak and the curry as being the best meals along with the Pizza from the take away if you want to eat in your caravan. The arcade has some nice games in it to keep you entertained and i managed to win more money than i had paid in so it was good. Outside there is a kids play area and crazy golf which looked a bit tired. The swimming pool was good but closes at 6pm and while we were there a child needed assistance from the life guards but they didnt do anything so the childs family jumped in and did the job the life guards should have done. The entertainment was good in the club house and had a varied amount of singers and other entertainers and the sound was good. If you want to get a good seat make sure you are in there early or you will be left with the tables next to the toilet doors. All in all it was a good time there, also with the onsite costcutter store it makes a good family holiday base to explore the area from and have entertainment without having to go too far. Also if you want an easy beach to get to that has parking nearby thats not in Looe, turn left out of the complex and take the first left which points to Meldereth and follow that road to the bottom and you will find a beach with parking to the right for free. There is also an ATM machine in the arcade that you can use but it does charge £1.65 per transaction. If you want one you can use that is cheaper you can turn left out of the complex and follow the road down until you get to a sign that says Barbican road then follow that and there is a Spar shop that has an ATM outside. The staff were really nice and friendly and they work very hard as the staff that work in the bar also work in the club house and in other parts of the park too so you will get used to the faces. Also wasps, the other reviews saying there are lots of wasps are true. If you have a caravan near the flowers then you will get wasps coming in even if your doors and windows are closed as they come in through the vents which you cant close. When we asked the reception about them they basically just said there was nothing they could do about it so we had to sort them out ourselves. Also they dont mention you need your own washing powder in the laundrette as there is not provided so remember to take some if you intend to use it. The club house music ends at midnight and basically you have to be out of there by 12:15am as thats when the park closes down for the night so no late night escapades. The reception does have a lot of info about attractions in the surrounding area which gives you enough things to do for your stay. I would also recommend you go on the glass bottom boat down in Looe if it is a nice day as you can see more fish and you can see the harbour better. Also dont follow your sat nav in Looe as it will lead you down tiny tiny roads that are just the width of your car, which we found out to our cost. I would give the whole complex about 6.5 out of 10, the good and bad points are below.

Good parts -
* Caravan number 001 was nice and clean
* Evening entertainment was varied and interesting and sounded good.
* Staff were friendly and helpful
* Onsite CostCutter store that sells the basics of all you need like tea, coffee, bread, biscuits, tinned food, sandwiches, milk etc etc. (this shop also sells arm bands if you need them for your kids to go swimming)
* Drinks are reasonable priced at the bar
* Swimming pool was large and warm
* Onsite laundrette
* Adequate parking with parking next to a few of the caravans
* A bus service which stops at the park outside reception and goes straight to Looe for £2.50 return for an adult or £5 for a family return which is almost the same price as the parking in Looe plus if you dont get into Looe before 10:30am you will struggle to park so the bus is easier.

Bad Parts -
* Wasps, if you are in any of the caravans near the flowers then expect wasps to come in even if you have the doors and windows closed they will come in the vents. We had to kill around 5 a day that came in
* Food in the Polperro bar was only average with a couple of the meals not being hot just lukewarm. The best meals were the Gammon steak and the curry. The carvery meat was full of fat and the roast potato's looked undercooked. You also have to get the drinks from the bar they dont bring the drinks to you.
* The dryers in the laundrette didnt seem to dry only warm the clothes up.
* The reception closes at 6pm as does the swimming pool.
* The toilets in the club house stink of urine and if you are on any of the tables near them when ever anyone goes in or out you get a waft of it like you just stepped into a public lavatory.
* The crazy golf looks tired and neglected
* The kids indoor play area looks neglected and does not have enough in there to be a good play area
* You do not get supplied with any more bin liners than the ones you get when you arrive so if you fill the bin in the caravan you have to empty it yourself and then use your own bags
* You need your own washing powder for the laundrette as none are supplied which isnt told to you.

Since going to the park i have found cheaper accommodation in Looe which while not having all the facilities the park has would mean we would have money to spend elsewhere on our holiday visiting other places so personally i would not be going back but i have tried to give a honest review of the park. It is a nice place to stay if you have a family with younger children where you want to do things more onsite as there is enough there and with the bus going down into Looe it would be good but if you have older children or you want to just have a base to sleep in at night and have more money to explore Cornwall more then i would not recommend it as much as it can be expensive.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet caravan have one with a higher number as they are further away from the club hou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

We have been to Looe Bay Caravan park many times before and have always loved it. We had no problems with the staff they were all great. We were however dissappointed with our caravan. The cleanliness was ok but the van itself was very small. We used to stay in alot older vans there and I would rather have had an older, larger van than the newer small one. The bed only had about a 6" gap all around it so you had to get dressed in the lounge. The shower was so small and you couldn't get dressed in there either. Our caravan also had a slight list on it. Having said that the kids entertainment was second to none and the troopers did a fantastic job. As I've been going to Looe for over thirty years I know where the supermarkets are and there are plenty of things to do in that area. It only took an hours drive to take my daughter for a surf lesson in Holywell Bay. Of course we would stay again but probably pay for a bigger van. It was still better value and a much, much better holiday than the ones we've had with Haven!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parkdean - Looe Bay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkdean - Looe Bay Holiday Park

Address: St. Martins, East Looe | Cornwall, Looe PL13 1NX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Looe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Looe
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkdean - Looe Bay Holiday Park 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
So lively, so lovely, you'll want to stay!Remember those good old fashioned holidays when you ate ice cream on the beach, dug around in fascinating rock-pools and learned how to 'crab' off the harbour wall? Well they're back and just as brilliant as ever at lovely Looe Bay. There's always plenty to do on park, but head into pretty Looe itself and you can hop aboard a sightseeing boat and enjoy a coastal cruise. Where, with your camera to hand, you can start collecting some wonderful new memories. * A lively park in a quiet country setting * One mile from the quaint fishing harbour at Looe * Visit Looe's glorious sandy beach * Heated pool and great on-park activities * Fabulous Showtime Entertainment every night ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Looe Bay Holiday Park Hotel Looe
Parkdean - Looe Bay Holiday Park Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parkdean - Looe Bay Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.