We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing too much trouble!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Bridge House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Old Bridge House to your Saves list
The Old Bridge House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   The Quay, Looe PL13 2BU , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 61 Looe B&B and Inns
England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nothing too much trouble!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

From the moment we stepped over the threshold of the Old Bridge House we experienced such a warm welcome which continued throughout our three night stay. Everywhere was clean and comfortable and Liz and Colin went the extra mile to ensure that we had everything we needed.The food is incredible!! We can't wait to stay again in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    25
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
31
147
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Torbay
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I can fully recommend The Old Bridge House. Stayed for a few nights last week and from the moment I arrived I felt completely at ease. A very warm welcome from Colin and Liz, help with luggage up to a very clean and comfortable room with a view of the river and Looe. Breakfast was one of the best I have ever had with such a wide choice. No parking but a large car park very near by on a level walk which was free over night. You can stop outside to unload! A great place to stay if you want to visit Looe and the surrounding areas. Hope to go back in September.Highly recommended to all..

Room Tip: Clicked on swimming pool by mistake, they do not have a pool but if they did I am sure it would be e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

A quick weekend stop off on our honeymoon and we couldn't be more pleased. Excellent from start to finish. Colin and Liz were great. It works. Met by Colin on arrival an his passion for the place was evident. We were left a card and some chocolates as a honeymoon gift which was very sweet.

The rooms are immaculately clean, well stocked with everything you could possibly need. We stayed in the superior room over looking the town and harbour. Amazing views.

Breakfast was great on both days. The full Cornish was brilliant. Well cooked, tasty and service brilliant. Liz was a great host making sure everything was just right.

A great couple of days. Thank you.
Pete and Poppy

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This guest house was absolutely amazing, it was spotlessly clean anthe owner Colin an Liz are fantastic people and the breakfast menu is the best i have ever seen an all hot food is cooked freshly for you when you are ready absolutely amazing. We would highly recommend this guesthouse to al our friends an would we return you bet we would. This should be a 5 star not 4.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Great location in Looe and Colin/Liz were very welcoming with nothing to much trouble attitude. The Old Bridge House had great views down to the harbour with a wide selection of food for breakfast. The honesty bar was well stocked. It was very clean and the beds comfortable. Looe itself is a typical Cornish fishing town and we love it will return again and will stay here again.

Room Tip: Parking free along the road towards the headland.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We spent a lovely few days at Colin & Liz's 'The Old Bridge House' in West Looe. We would certainly recommend it for the hospitality & welcome we received. The view from our room (no. 10) was excellent overlooking the harbour. The breakfasts were first class. The help & local advice was second to none. We would certainly recommend staying in West Looe, rather than East Looe. It is only a 3 or 4 minute walk from The Old Bridge House to the restaurants & pubs of East Looe & the beach is also very close. We would not hesitate recommending friends to stay here as we are certain they will be looked after very well.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We found the Old Bridge House welcoming and our room was extremely comfortable with everything we needed. It was in a quiet situation with a short walk over the bridge to find a restaurant for dinner. In spite of it not having its own car park it was not at all a problem with the car park only a step away and being able to get a ticket which carried over to the next day. Our breakfast was freshly cooked with plenty of choice by the charming chef, Colin, and was delicious.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Bridge House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Bridge House

Address: The Quay, Looe PL13 2BU , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Looe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Looe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Bridge House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Old Bridge House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Bridge House Looe, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Bridge House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.