We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as it used to be.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Rivercroft Hotel and Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Looe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Rivercroft Hotel and Apartments
Save
You added The Rivercroft Hotel and Apartments to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Station Road, Looe PL13 1HL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Looe
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not as good as it used to be.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed at the rivercroft earlier in the year and have to say it was fantastic. Lovely clean rooms and a great breakfast. However we're just back from another stay with them and the standards have really dropped. We were welcomed by an empty reception and when we were served we were just given our key and sent on our way. The room itself was lovely clean and tidy with the usual selection of teas coffee etc. The towels were lovely , big and fluffy and the view is fantastic. The shower wasn't great with very low water pressure but apart from that no complaints about the room at all. The staff on the other hand could use a few lessons in customer service. At breakfast we were served a very average breakfast and were watched almost constantly by the chef through a serving hatch?? I took a picture of the breakfast and then overheard the lady talking to the chef saying 'she's only taking pictures of the breakfast' which i thought was quite rude. We were then reminded that we shouldn't take too long vacating our room as we were only there for one night and when we were leaving we should go and find this particular member of staff to hand in our key.
On the whole the rivercroft is a clean and comfortable hotel with great views. And only a 1 minute walk into town. We loved our first visit here and if the staff were more considerate our 2nd visit would have been great too. Such a shame standards have slipped!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    36
    21
    6
    17
See reviews for
24
53
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
isle of wight
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Positives:
This is a two star hotel and no more.
It needs loving as opposed to staff just functioning.
It is reasonable priced.
Fantastic views
Large rooms
Clean rooms
Friendly place where you can relax
Free parking

Negatives that the owners really do need to address:
Walking in and out of the hotel you have to walk through people smoking and drinking. As an asthmatic non smoker this was difficult for me.
Everything tired - and lots of minor repairs need doing, such as door locks fixing, toilet and basins securely attached to walls.
When walked in room looked untidy as duvets had huge odd lumps in them. I quickly remade the beds - smoothed it all down and it looked so much better- but this was a little lazy for this not to have been done!

Room Tip: Book a room with a view - I don't think our stay would have been so pleasant if we hadn't!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I agree with other reviewers that first impressions are disappointing as you have to battle the smokers in the doorway on each journey in and out through main doors. Pretty disgusting for non-smokers. A more friendlier welcome rather than the basic courteous one would have made us feel more comfortable too. Generally clean and comfortable although finer points like inside of shower door magnetic catch needs serious cleaning and basin tap rims need descaling. The picture on our wall was dangerously nearly hanging off too so we had to be careful not to knock it.
Other than those pints we had a very enjoyable weekend with very good value for money food and friendly waitresses. Beautiful views and we managed to park the car right outside although our visit was out of season. Not suitable for disabled wheelchair users though as quite a climb with steps up to the front door each time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B'ham
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Once you've battled your way through the smokers who block the front entrance you are met with an empty reception.
After ringing the bell twice a woman rushed out clearly harassed and irritated asking if we had booked! Once I said yes she softened marginally.
The room was ok for a B&B not a hotel (and we had the suite)!
After a long day out we got back to the room on our second day to find it had not been cleaned.
Our fault apparently!!

On our day of checking out the owner banged our door and told us we should have been out 10 mins previous. I apologised and explained nothing in the room gave us times. I got a dirty look!
We rushed down to reception to pay and then had the displeasure of waiting 15 minutes whilst she chatted with other customers/friends without a glance in our direction.

Not one thankyou or hope to see you again just complete rudeness.
Not anywhere we would every recommend!

Also if you have the misfortune of stopping here checkout the shower head - yuk!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at The Rivercroft hotel for the duration of the Looe festival. We were given the key to room 15.. 3 flights of stairs later(which we didn't mind)we opened the door & were quite shocked by the room. The brochure shows modern clean rooms,ours looked as though it had been left since the 1980's.. The shower was a mere trickle so had to use a shower room 3 doors down. On the plus side,it is in an ideal location to the centre

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

After being checked in by a tipsy chef (the owner!) I went to my room to find the door slightly ajar I found a bit odd but, everything looked okay so dumped by bags and went into town. when i arrived back to my room the key wouldn't turn in the lock. Went to reception and the chef (now fairly sloshed!) after trying other keys let me in with a masterkey. When I told him I was going out again he asked me to wedge the door open and that he would sort it out in the morning! (I was checking out in the morning) UNACCEPTEBLE! The rooom itself was clean and the bed was comfortable but the bathroom still had possesions from a previous guest (Hairs of the short curly variety). And a build up of soap around the sink aswell as a loft hatch above the shower which wasn't in place properly. After getting to sleep I was woken several times and then at 7am by over guests in the hotel (creaking floorboards and doors slamming etc). The breakfast was huge and was ok if a little greasy. The reaustaurant and bar staff were very pleasanant and the bar prices are very reasonable. On checkout I was given an appology about the key followed by "geoff was a bit drink by then and he did try - I had a migrain so i certianly could't of done anything." It's a shame - if it wasn't for the key problem and being woken early I think I would have enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: Rooms with a veiw to the front also have the main road which is busy in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Wonderful Hotel, Excellent rooms,great full English breakfast,Evening meals were all home cooked,very good value for money,would definately stay again and recomend to others.|Overall had a great time.Thanks.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rivercroft Hotel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rivercroft Hotel and Apartments

Address: Station Road, Looe PL13 1HL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Looe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Looe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rivercroft Hotel and Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Looe, one of Cornwall's best loved beach resorts, surrounded by beautiful countryside and with stunning views over the Looe River from almost every room, The Rivercroft is in an idyllic position, perfect for family holidays or romantic escapes. With a choice of our comfortable apartments sleeping up to four or our stylish hotel rooms, there is the ideal accommodation for every guest at the Rivercroft. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rivercroft Hotel Looe
The Rivercroft Hotel And Apartments Looe, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rivercroft Hotel and Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.