We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good pub, ok food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ye Olde Salutation Inn

Ye Olde Salutation Inn
Fore Street | East Looe, Looe, England
+44 (0)1503 262784
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 67 Restaurants in Looe
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
london
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“good pub, ok food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We were in Looe for recent bank holiday and had some beers and meals here on saturday night.
the beer was ok, not the best selection but that's what we found at every pub.
the food was ok and again what we would expect from a pub. nice crowd of mainly older people ( 40+) and an enjoyable saturday evening. the one outstanding thing was the service of the waitress, she was an absolute gem, very efficient, friendly and immensely cheerful.
i wll return to this pub but remember to get in early or you may be standing.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    56
    12
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

A proper pub with proper beer. Certainly no better place for a pint. We were, however, disappointed with the food but that was probably our fault for expecting restaurant quality in a pub.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent eating place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Lovely quaint, locals pub serving excellent food. Only downside was they only accept cash. No problem if you know beforehand?

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Dog friendly pub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Good local dog friendly pub full of character but was disappointed with the food. Our first meal was Sunday lunch which I chose roast beef, it was piping hot but the beef was wafer thin and processed not what I was expecting. We decided to try again one evening this time my husband decided to have fish & chips, as we were staying at a fishing harbour. Oh no the fish was frozen not as good as the ones I buy from marks & Spencer's!!!!!! Our last day in Looe was torrential rain so we thought third time lucky but wrong again, we ordered prawn sandwich and fresh crab sandwich, the prawn was ok but the so called fresh crab was mixed with tinned salmon awful. As we were on holiday with the dog it was great for a drink but definitely not to eat.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Looe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“lovely old pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

good choice of menu served piping hot. Freindly staff only niggle the 'family room' uninviting tucked away in a back room not very welcoming A great place to eat if you don't have children with you

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ye Olde Salutation Inn also viewed

 

Been to Ye Olde Salutation Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ye Olde Salutation Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.