We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical seaside cafe” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kelly's of Looe

Kelly's of Looe
Fore Street, Looe PL13 1DT , England
01503 263020
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 71 Restaurants in Looe
Cuisines: Seafood, Coffee Shop, Fast Food, British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Mold
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Typical seaside cafe”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is a fish and chip shop with a cafe seating area. Its clean and bright and opens till late at night. We didnt have the fish and chips as I thought they were overpriced but this being a seaside resort in Corrnwall the prices are about the same everywhere.
Baked potatoes are good value and the steak pie on the specials board was nice when I had it.

Still not sure how they managed to burn the underside of a fishcake though - the top was nicely crisp but the underside was burnt black.

Interesting entertainment during our visit from the most dysfunctional family I have ever come across

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    68
    29
    25
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very good and fresh fish and chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Particularly liked that as a coeliac I could have grilled fresh fish with my chips. Busy so best to go early. Quieter upstairs if you are lucky enough to get a table. Efficient and friendly staff.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“It's the holiday season!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This place is in a prime location and the prices reflect it! Extensive menu, fast service, good food, lack of attention from kitchen staff. 2 of us ordered all day breakfasts, which were supposed to come with toast. However the toast didn't arrive. I pointed out, politely, to the waitress that we didn't have the toast, all I got was an "ohh" and she disappeared into the kitchen. the toast was duly delivered to the table. With the exception of that little "hiccup" the rest of the meal was very good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not so good for breakfasts”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We came here for breakfast on our last morning before catching the train home. There was a long hair in my son's bacon sandwich, the bacon was fatty and although my scrambled eggs were nice, the toast had lumps of margarine on....a pet hate of mine. We were the first customers in at 8 am, but there was food on the floor from the previous night. I will add that we had previously had great take out fish and chips from Kellys, but the breakfasts for us, were a big no no.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Big disappointment, gloriously overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Was on camping trip to Looe and took 5 hungry kids/teens. Service was fast but coke was overpriced (in my opinion) at £2.20 per bottle and fish and chips at around £9 is expensive, though would happily pay this if it was glorious! in the end it was OK but nothing special.....The tomato sauce is the cheap kind in reused bottles; you just get the feeling that the business comes to them anyway so they don't have to try too hard...would not return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kelly's of Looe also viewed

 

Been to Kelly's of Looe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kelly's of Looe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.