We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely short break in Looe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meneglaze B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Meneglaze B&B to your Saves list
Meneglaze B&B
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Shutta, Looe, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 61 Looe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Midlands UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely short break in Looe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Positive reviews for the Meneglaze B&B are all true. We stayed for three nights in the front superior room which was a decent size, had a comfortable double bed, a fridge, was spotlessly clean and had a nice en-suite and very good shower. Bed side tables had touch lamps, IPod dock on alarm clock, free wi-if which had a nice strong signal, Digital TV with Freeview and a clear picture. Caroline and Peter are laid back, helpful, give advice about the local area and made us feel very welcome. We had a problem with our car which we dropped off at a local garage- the next morning Peter offered us a lift to save us walking up a very steep hill!! Breakfast was outstanding - cereal, fruit, yoghurt, juice, tea, coffee plus a cooked menu choice of the highest quality. Oh and the homemade flapjacks were delicious. There is also a pub a hundred yards away (The Globe) and it's a very short walk into Looe.
Do not hesitate booking this B&B.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
142
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Unfortunately only got to spend one night at Meneglaze but we will most definitely be back! Caroline and Peter are amazing hosts. Even though we arrived (very) early, Caroline was very accommodating allowing us to drop our bags off before we wandered into town.

Meneglaze is in the ideal location as it is on the outskirts of town (only about a 5 minute walk to town if that) allowing you to get away from the hustle and bustle. On our return after our wander into town Caroline was there with the tea and biscuits everyone mentions and they went down really well.

Breakfast is wonderful – my husband especially liked the hog pudding! Best scrambled eggs too! And as obliging as ever, Peter even fixed my glasses for me during breakfast service!

We would highly recommend Meneglaze and hope to be back very soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Peter and Caroline could not be more welcoming, lovely hosts in a lovely B&B. After Peter had helped with our luggage we were given a pot of tea and some home made biscuits. The room was very clean and a very comfortable bed, the room also had a fridge with fresh milk, changed daily. The full Cornish breakfast with locally sourced ingredients was beautifully presented, plentiful,and delicious. They have a great knowledge of Looe and the surrounding area and can recommend the best places to eat, drink and shop. We will be visiting Looe again and will definitely stay at Meneglaze again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

we stayed here for one nite the owners were very friendly and the room very clean will recommend for sure .. also parking which was good and too top it off the home made cake were awesome.. 10 out of 10....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-u-Lyme
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed one night at the Meneglaze as part of our journey around the southwest. We arrived early but our room was ready and this was no problem for our hosts. Being able to leave the car was a bonus as Looe very busy in August. Our room was clean and comfortable. It even had a fridge which is surprising for a B & B . Caroline and Peter are very friendly and keen for you to settle in and enjoy tea & biscuits on the patio.There is a short walk into Looe and Caroline advised where to eat. There is a pub at end of road which is handy.We will recommend this place to friends and family, it is a credit to the hosts !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stayed there for 6 nights together with my mother and we had a great time! Caroline and Peter were very welcoming hosts, sowas friendly and helpful. The breakfast was delicious, the room nice and clean and the location very good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We could not fault any aspect of our 3 night stay. The room was spotlessly clean, well appointed and very comfortable. Breakfasts were delicious using lots of locally sourced produce and the free parking was a bonus in this area.Most notable however was the wonderful welcome from Peter and Caroline a warmth that continued throughout our stay. I have never felt the need to write a review before but the hospitality was so outstanding that I felt it should be acknowledged. We will be back!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Meneglaze B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meneglaze B&B

Address: Shutta, Looe, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Looe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Looe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Meneglaze B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Meneglaze B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meneglaze B&B Looe, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meneglaze B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.