We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Jolly Sailor Inn

The Jolly Sailor Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Looe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Jolly Sailor Inn
Princes Square | West Looe, Looe PL13 2EP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 61 Looe B&B and Inns
Gloucester UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We have just come back from two nights at the Jolly Sailor. We stayed in Room 2 which was a good-sized room with an en-suite shower room. The bed was very comfy. Absolutely no complaints about anything in the room - tea, coffee and biscuits - great. Everything very clean. The fact that the radiator could be turned on whenever you needed it was very good and the hot shower was perfect for a cold drizzly day when you've got soaked in the rain!... The breakfast was great too - tea, coffee, full english, toast, cereals and yoghurts and all the staff were very friendly, as were the many locals and their dogs ! We did manage to park around the back of the pub on the first night but, it is Looe, you can't really expect to park anywhere close to where you're staying so the fact that we left the car in the Millpool carpark the rest of the time is not a problem at all. Just for information - for those with mobility problems, there were two flights of stairs from the pub to Rooms 1 and 2 and another set of stairs up to the other room; also metal stairs going from the back of the pub up to rooms 1&2 which you could use instead of going through the pub.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    14
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Wow, what can we say. Only went for one night, ended up staying for two and could have stayed forever! Stuart and Juliet are amazing hosts, really friendly and accommodating and the staff are fantastic. The room was perfect and amazing value. We had the best ever stay. This pub is excellent with friendly locals and real atmosphere. Make this place your home next time you're in Looe. We can't wait to come back. Love Phil & Caroline xx

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Visited a few times last week during our stay, great cosy pub with lots of charm.
friendly locals pub with many characters and cute dogs, to keep you entertained.
Great service, good beer and friendly regulars, can't wait to have a few night caps in here on our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stopped overnight in the only room available,right at top (10?). A big room ,warm and comfortable with a fourposter; just like being on honeymoon again! A little dated but very clean and it was nice to find bottled water in the room. No food served in evening but a jolly good full english breakfast. Access difficult as building was totally covered in scaffolding which was due to come down in a few days. Luckily another guest on a fishing trip was able to skilfully park my car at the rear otherwise stairs could have been a problem. Really helpful,friendly staff

Room Tip: get a lower room if you can to avoid taking luggage upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

What a treat we stayed for four nights in room 3, what a beautiful room.
The breakfast was without a doubt the best I have ever had in a B&B
you could select from a range of cereals, yogurts, fresh orange juice, a
full English breakfast with as much toast you can eat. I found the staff very friendly
with nothing to much trouble, we will be returning next year to celebrate our silver
wedding!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

The Jolly Sailor is a wonderful quaint old English pub. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The locals are very welcoming and the room was lovely and comfortable and all round excellent value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkeston, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

my stay at the Jolly Sailor was very underwhelming!
The room on the top floor (3) smelled of damp, the toilet/bathroom smelled of pee. (Who on earth would carpet a toilet?) The toilet seat was disgustingly badly cleaned! See photo! There is absolutely no excuse for it being this bad!

Expect an early morning call from the deliveries to the Spar shop opposite from about 6am!

The breakfast was average at its best, with undercooked bacon and re-heated baked beans on the second morning.
The barmaid spent most of the time smoking outside or texting on her phone.
I was wondering why we were the only guests staying. When I look at what we spent to stay and what else was on offer locally, I can see why.
It might look like a quaint traditional pub, but I wouldn't stay here again in its current unclean state!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Jolly Sailor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jolly Sailor Inn

Address: Princes Square | West Looe, Looe PL13 2EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Looe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Looe
Also Known As:
The Jolly Sailor Hotel Looe
The Jolly Sailor Inn Looe, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jolly Sailor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Jolly Sailor Inn to your Saves list