We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent carvery” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Smugglers Cott

Smugglers Cott
Middle Market Street, East Looe, Looe PL13 1AY , England
01503 262397
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 71 Restaurants in Looe
Cuisines: Seafood, European, English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Esher, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent carvery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

A very good value Sunday Carvery with excellent food. Slightly let down by the puds which looked good but tasted a bit bland. Would certainly go there again though and the carvery was sufficient so no pud required.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    137
    50
    24
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Food Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We visited the Smugglers Cotts twice while on holiday in Looe.
The food and service was fantastic the steaks were the best I have had and the Strawberry Pavlova is to die for. Their carvery cannot be beaten with a choice of beef either medium or well done lamb,pork and turkey its good value for money but you must book as its very popular.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good value Great Fish meals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I enjoyed freshly caught lemon sole and compliments to the chef were in order, price was good and the staff were all very nice and efficient.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“No Chips!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I recently visited the smugglers on the 05/06/2013 with me and my partner. Me and my partner both had a steak and chips however, when the meal was served to us we were greated by an old bit of steak that looked like it had been scraped of from a previous customers plate and a bowl of chips, i say bowl this bowl only contained maximum 15 chips to share between us! we paid good money for this meal and was not impressed. To make matters worse before we left we saw a greasy teenager blowing his nose in his sleeve and whipping it around his mouth. To think we were served by this is not very plesant. I also saw this same teenager walking home with a fag in his mouth like he had done a good job! DO NOT GO HERE!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“60th/75th/53rd Birthday Meal!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We were treated to a meal at this restaurant by our brother-in-law. We were celebrating three birthdays! Despite having been to Looe many many times we had never been to the Smugglers Cott before. The food was very good and the service was fast and friendly. A little bit cramped but the ambience was good. We would definitely go back again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smugglers Cott also viewed

 

Been to Smugglers Cott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smugglers Cott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.