We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Polraen Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Polraen Country House Hotel to your Saves list
Polraen Country House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Sandplace, Looe PL13 1PJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 61 Looe B&B and Inns
Iver
1 review
“Family friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Excellent family friendly hotel. we stayed here with our 1 year old for a couple of nights and as soon as we arrived we were made to feel extremely welcome. Gill made us coffee and found some toys for our son to play with, however, he found her dog more interesting. The room was comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. we would thoroughly recommend to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    43
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
72
177
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Great family run b&b, we were made to feel very welcome.
Breakfast was very good (if a little early for my taste!), room was clean and well furnished.
Well positioned for Looe, Polperro and loads of other great places to visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We would like to take this opportunity to write a review on this fine establishment just a stones throw away from the centre of Looe, Cornwall.
We stayed for 2 nights in July 2012. We were met by friendly owners who kindly made us a lovely cup of tea with biscuits and we sat in the lovely garden. Straight away we felt relaxed and started to unwind. We have nothing but praise for everything at the Polraen. This is the place where you can just 'stop and get off the roundabout of life for a while'. It is peaceful, charming and spotlessly clean. The food is prepared fresh and exceeded our expectations on all levels. Looe is a just a few minutes drive away by car or you can use the public transport which is very easy to find with the local buses and the train close by! We utilised their large car park opposite which made life very easy for unloading and loading the car! We personally love this establishment and can not praise it enough. Its tranquil setting was a nice change from actually staying in Looe itself. It was our first visit to the Polraen, however we shall be returning at every opportunity! We recommend this establishment to anyone, you will not be disappointed. Thank you for looking after us and allowing us to de-stress.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maymayCornwall_UK, Owner at Polraen Country House Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for such praise! We're so glad that your stay here was the tonic you needed. It's great to hear that just one stay at Polraen has converted regular visitors to Looe like yourselves to the benefits of staying in our idyllic location here in the Looe Valley. Easy access to Looe without any of the hassle! We look forward to seeing you again. Best Wishes from Gill & Martin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthington, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

It's not always easy to find a bed and breakfast that can happily accomodate a family with young children, but Gill and Martin did graciously. I was traveling with my daughter, her husband and their 2 children, 6 and 11. They were able to sleep comfortably in one room, while I had a room to myself. We arrived early in the evening our first day and while we had let them know by email that we would like an evening meal, we were out of email-reach during the day and couldn't confer on the menu. So Martin and Gill created a menu that their children would have liked: roast chicken with Yorkshire pudding and platters of fresh vegetables. It was a big hit with all of us; the food here is really special. The location was lovely too: a garden to run around in and a dog to play with. We hope to come back some day.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maymayCornwall_UK, Owner at Polraen Country House Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. It was lovely to meet you all and so glad to learn that the Roast Chicken menu was a universal hit with all the family members.Best wishes and May the dog says Woof!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frimley Green, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We recently stayed at the Polraen Country House Hotel. Martin and Gill are excellent hosts and nothing is too much trouble. Location is great. We parked the car in the large hotel car park and it didn't move for a few days as we opted to use the public transport so that we could discover Looe and Polpero at our leisure without worrying about the parking fees. The bus stop is right outside the hotel and the train station 2 minute walk up the road. The breakfast and evening meals were wonderful. Martin is an excellent cook. I would definitely recommend you eat there at least once during your stay. I cannot fault the hotel at all. We will definitely stay there again. Must just say that the beds are the most comfortable ones we have slept in!

Room Tip: If possible pay extra for the King Bedded Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

After 5 nights at Porlaen we were sad to leave, great place to stay. Location great for exporing Cornwall and Gill and Martin were the perfect hosts providing friendly and welcoming service.
Gills knowledge of the local area enabled us to enjoy Cornwall to the full. Would recommend holidaying here to all.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed at the Porlaen for 3 nights, Gill & Martin were perfect hosts, the accommodation was excellent in every way. The breakfast and evening meal were superb. The location of the Porlaen was ideal for reaching other resorts and places of interest. In short we would certainly stay there again if we were in the area and would have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Polraen Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polraen Country House Hotel

Address: Sandplace, Looe PL13 1PJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Looe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Looe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Polraen Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Polraen is a charming historic country house hotel 5 minutes from the historic fishing port of Looe. Known for award winning hospitality, fine food and a relaxing friendly country house atmosphere, you can enjoy bed and breakfast with optional evening dinner, enjoying the large garden, free onsite parking as well as bus and train links to Looe, Polperro and beyond, with free WiFi, a bar, guest lounge and dining room conservatory. Perfect as a touring base, Polraen lies in a peaceful yet convenient setting, offering the ideal stress free country house holiday near Looe and the sea. Families welcome. We can also offer our venue for weddings and special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Polraen Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polraen Country House Hotel Looe, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Polraen Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.