We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Anniversary stay - really hit the spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Land's End Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Land's End
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Land's End Hotel
Save
You added Land's End Hotel to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sennen, Land's End TR19 7AA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Land's End
Cornwall
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Wedding Anniversary stay - really hit the spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Stayed here for a night with my wife for our wedding anniversary as we did last year.

We stayed in room 26 and it was superb in terms of its view, it's true it is a little dated but not badly and the rates are competitive considering everything you get in regards to location, access to the attractions etc.

As has been previously stated, the staff are excellent, a real credit to the hotel and themselves - very helpful and attentive - the management team would do well to keep this team in place.

The evening meal was very good, the crab salad full and flavoursome and the steak and duck well cooked although the hand cut chips (big chunks of potato hacked into shapes) were pretty badly cremated on the outside but ok on the inside.
I would say sit at the far end of the restaurant because the bar side is connected to restaurant and is pretty noisy (would be good to segregate them with)

Breakfast was really good but very slow, not a fault of the serving staff at all rather at the kitchen, fresh eggs took over 20 minutes to make an appearance as an example.

Overall though another great stay in this iconic hotel and I look forwards to staying here again soon and would definitely recommend it!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan H, Manager at Land's End Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Greetings from the Land's End Hotel and thank you for your review. I am glad you had a great stay for the second year in a row, and recognise how helpful and attentive the staff are. Room 26 has recently been redecorated and new pictures from a local gallery added to create a fresh and airy look to the room. Though they are dated overall as you have highlighted, we do reflect this in our competitive rates. I will pass your feedback about breakfast to our head chef to ensure that this is looked in to and a solution found. We look forward to welcoming you once more at the Land's End Hotel in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    75
    28
    17
    20
See reviews for
30
130
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

We've just come back from a 1 night stay here at The Lands End Hotel. To sum it up briefly, it was amazing!
Loren, the lovely girl on reception greeted us with a warm welcome and checked us in quickly and efficiently and showed us where everything was. Throughout our brief 24 hour stay, Loren was on hand to give us information and directions...thank you, you made our stay
Our room (Room 4, Gwenver) was stunning! I couldn't believe how amazing it was. Lovely double bed, pure white sheets and a view to die for! We couldn't have asked for a better view overlooking Lands End. The room was spotless, and had everything we needed for a nights stay. Perfect tea and coffee making facilities with a generous selection of teas, coffees and milk. The bathroom was huge! Again, spotlessly clean (thank you housekeepers!) with huge white towels. The shower was really powerful and a perfect temperature.
We decided to eat in the hotel. We looked at both menus, but decided to eat off the bar menu. I must add how delicious the restaurant menu sounded and priced very reasonably. From
The bar menu, I had the fish and chips and my partner had the Lands End Burger. The food was outstanding, compliments to the chef. One of the nicest meals we've had in a long time. The views in the bar and restaurant are stunning...this must be the nicest and most relaxing place to eat! We got the pleasure of being served by Faye. She really couldn't have done more for us. She was attentive, charming and a true credit to the hotel. Nothing was too much trouble for her. Thank you Faye. I must also thank Oliver, the guy on the bar...great chap who will serve you with a smile and friendly banter. Another waiter and waitress which stood out for us were Kial and Jolie, again, both lovely people, friendly and professional - really couldn't fault anyone. If you get the pleasure of being served by any of these staff, then you're honoured.
Breakfast was faultless too, amazing selection of hot and cold options available. The Pain au Chocolates were to die for. Beautifully light and fresh...too nice!! Suffice to say, we were extremely full after a lovely breakfast. Check out was super efficient too.
I really cannot recommend this hotel enough. The location, the staff, the food...all outstanding. I hope the managers realise what good staff they have and do all they can to look after them - they're a credit to the hotel
We will definitely be returning ASAP and will be recommending this hotel to all our friends and family.
Thank you Lands End hotel for making our stay so amazing.
Definitely worthy of 5*
Please ensure our thanks are passed onto the staff.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan H, Manager at Land's End Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Hello from the team at the Land's End Hotel and thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. I am glad you had an amazing stay with us and have passed on your compliments to Loren, Faye, Kial, Jolie, our housekeeping team and our Head Chef. We will look forward to welcoming you again at the Land's End Hotel very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wraysbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

For where this hotel is situated im sure the owners could do better you cant beat the stunning views but im afraid the old girl needs a urgent make over .
The staff are so friendly and the food is very good and the lower part of the hotel is really nice but the bedrooms oh deary me not good at all they really could do with changing they are dirty looking and shabby and the bathrooms are dreadful, so come on The Lands End owners don't let what should be a great hotel be an Average one she does not deserve it .

Room Tip: Make sure you get a sea view it makes up for the shabby room !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan H, Manager at Land's End Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Greetings from the Land's End Hotel and thank you for your review. I am glad you found the staff to be friendly and enjoyed our food offering. The downstairs of the hotel has been fully refurbished during the last 2 years, and this year we had new showers installed in each of our bathrooms. We are committed to continuing the renovation upstairs over the coming years, however we currently reflect the quality of rooms with our very competitive prices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We've stayed the Lands End hotel many times over the last 12 years, and it just gets better. All the staff are very friendly, its like going to stay with friends. Room very clean. Food really lovely and plenty of it and lots to choose from too. We stayed at the end of June for 3 nights, we then came back the following weekend, just love Lands End. Hoping to stay for my birthday this month.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan H, Manager at Land's End Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Hello from the team at the Land's End Hotel and thank you for your kind words. We are always aiming to continue improving the offering here at the hotel and it is refreshing to see that this is being recognised. We look forward to you staying with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Just like to thank everyone at the hotel for making our wedding anniversary stay so wonderful. Thank you so much for the card left in our room by the staff. That was so thoughtful. We've stayed 6 times now and have never found anything unacceptable. The rooms are comfy and clean, staff make you feel welcome, food is excellent and very reasonably priced. I'm pretty sure you could not better the view. Ever. We just love it here. See you all again in September! Thank you all
Wendy and Martin young

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan H, Manager at Land's End Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Greetings from the Land's End Hotel and thank you for your kind words. It is always a pleasure when regular guests return for a special occasion. We look forward to you staying with us again in September.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross-on-Wye
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2-4th July. We had a premier room with a brilliant view of the long ships light house. The room was lovely too. The service was good by some staff Emily Callum an kial and Loren. Some staff were not very friendly! But in places the service left a lot to be desired. But the ones I have named went the extra mile for us. They don't serve food all day which doesn't suit us. But when they were serving food it was lovely. The room was clean but some of the wall paper was coming off! And they had removed a post in room which had left a sticky mark, which isn't very nice to look at! A few niggles from me. But over all we had a lovely stay and the staff I have named made all the difference to the review I have left! We would recommend and we would go back again. We went for our 15 th wedding celebrations we had wanted to go for about 6 years.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan H, Manager at Land's End Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Greetings from the Land's End Hotel and thank you for your review. My apologies for those staff who you felt weren't as friendly as those mentioned, I have passed this on to the staff on duty and also your praise for Emily, Callum, Loren and Kial. Food is served from midday until 5pm and then again from 6.30pm until 8.45pm, apologies once more if you wanted to eat outside of these times. The room which you stayed in has now been fully redecorated with a new light look and pictures from a local art gallery. I am glad overall you had a lovely stay and hope you will be back to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We popped in on the 31/05/14 before playing a wedding in St Ives. We just had drinks but the staff were incredibly friendly and polite. The local beer was fantastic (Rattler?) and the coffee was fresh and tasted great. The bar area was very clean and fairly modern, with ample seating and lots of windows to view the amazing view out to sea. Well worth a visit, it's quite a place!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathan H, Manager at Land's End Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Greetings from the Land's End Hotel and thank you for your review. I am glad you had such an enjoyable experience here with us at the hotel and look forward to you popping back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Land's End Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Land's End Hotel

Address: Sennen, Land's End TR19 7AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Land's End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Land's End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Land's End Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
Land's End Hotel Cornwall, UK - England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Land's End Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.