We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, but too commercialized.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Relentless Sea

The Relentless Sea
Land's End, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 3 Attractions in Land's End
Type: Specialty Museums, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Learn about the awesome power of the sea when you visit this hands-on exhibition that tells the story about man’s struggle and heroism with one of the strongest forces on Earth.
Southampton
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great views, but too commercialized.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Worth going for the the views, but disappointed by the blatant commercialization of it all.
For just under a tenner, you can have a picture taken by the famous signpost with one of the signs personalised, or you can do what most people did and hang around a few minutes to take your own photo. Hopefully one day, the place will get bulldozed and something more relevant to the surroundings will get built. When that day happens, I'll consider returning.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    14
    14
    14
    19
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing place from start to finish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We loved Lands End so much we visited twice in one week. Parking is £5 and you are given a slip which entitles you to free parking for 7 days. I've seen some reviews moan about the parking price but I honestly think its fair considering its free to go into Lands End - you only pay for the simulated attractions and farm.

We loved everything about Lands End. On both visits, we stopped for a coffee and a cream tea in the restaurant. The play area for children is brilliant and my son who has just turned 2 loved the boat there. He also loved the helicopter in the forecourt.

We had our photograph taken by the sign by the photographer. My son isn't a poser by any means but they managed to get a smile out of him! Their prices are fair and we opted for a package of 3 photos. They get posted to your home within a couple of weeks.

We visited Greebs farm which is just to the left of the car park. It is a small but lovely little farm. My son loved it. There is an extra cost for this think its about £3/£4. Our son was free so I presume under 3s go free.

There are plenty of places to buy food and drinks and lots of picnic benches all around. The shops sell lovely gifts and treasures of all kinds. They are very reasonably priced and not expensive in the slightest. We bought postcards and posted them in the special post box meaning they will get a special mark on it. I posted to a friend in Aberdeen on the Friday and she received it the next day!

The views at Lands End are amazing. Even our son loved looking out to sea! Lands End is easily accessible with a pram and would recommend it for little ones as there's a lot of walking involved to see everything. We used a baby carrier so we could do the more difficult routes when walking.

We would definitely revisit Lands End in the future.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catterick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
59 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Hmmmm”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Difficult as the iconic place that it is deserves a visit from all but some of the attractions were just a rip off. The picture guy as well, £10 for it so we just stood near it and smiled while we took one at arms length. Lovely views and a real piece of English history

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milton keynes
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lands end in the rain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Car parking was a fiver, which I thought was was expensive. The attractions are a bit tacky but my daughter liked them and they weren't that bad.
The weather was awful.
We were disappointed that the famous sign post is a private business but we sneaked a picture between groups.
The walks were fantastic and even in howling rain were impressive.
You don't go to lands end for fun fair attractions

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful place & Nice views but in need of improvement”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This is a nice area with loads pathways for walkers. Couple of new restaurants makes it attractive; however fun fair type attraction is not very helpful. It is nice place with beautiful views natural paths around the hills. Some adventure activities take place here occasionally. Car park is bit expensive based on the facilities.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Relentless Sea also viewed

 
Land's End, Cornwall
 

Been to The Relentless Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Relentless Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.