We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal, lovely place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pandora Inn

Pandora Inn
Restronguet | Mylor Bridge, Falmouth TR11 5ST, England
+44 1326 372678
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 156 Restaurants in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $9 - $33
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, English, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Stunning waterside pub with pontoon seating 150 people stretching out into the creek. Food is served every day starting with morning coffee and cake from 10.30Am, our full menu from noon until 21.30 And daily specials served at lunchtime and in the evening. Four real ales, local cider, Cornish lager and extensive wine list with 17 wines available by the glass. Multi award winning pub including Visit England Tourism Pub of the Year 2014 - Highly commended, Cornwall Tourism pub of the Year 2012/13,2013/14 - Gold & 2014/15, South West Tourism pub of the year 2012/13 & 2013/14 - Gold.
Ebbw Vale, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely meal, lovely place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I visited with friends and family for a short-notice meal on a Saturday and we were very lucky to get a table as the people who came in after us were turned away.
The area is lovely, it's a shame it was too chilly to sit outside!
The restaurant was very busy so our seating arrangement wasn't ideal for eating a meal, but we were just glad to have gotten a seat! Staff were friendly even though they were clearly busy!
We had 2 vegetarians in our group so the menu choices were important to them, and it didn't disappoint! Between the 6 of us we had both the veggie meals, fish and chips, fish pie, and the pork on chorizo cassoulet. The food was delicious and well presented, decent portions, and very hot. My boyfriend said that his pork was the best meal he's ever had at a restaurant! The fish pies arrived in individual pots with lids which was a nice touch.
For dessert we had Eton mess, creme brulee, deconstructed cheesecake, and a cheese board. The dessert portions were large and everyone thoroughly enjoyed!
Overall, a great meal with everyone saying they'd love to come again and will definitely be bringing friends and family along.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travexLondon, Owner at Pandora Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor we are pleased we were able to squeeze you in. Normally at this time of year the pressure is off and there should always be space but on the day you visited we were hosting a wedding reception in the upstairs dining room hence being so busy downstairs!
It is great to have such detailed feedback on the menu items you enjoyed - you certainly worked your way round the menu!
We look forward to welcoming you back soon and don't forget you can always give us a call and reserve a table - assuming their is no wedding taking place!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    350
    188
    54
    16
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lamorna, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Brilliantly restored”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I have not been to the Pandora since it was rebuilt following the fire. I have to say the restoration is a triumph, much better than I expected.
Service was good, I had hake to eat and it was spanking fresh and fantastic. Also very reasonably priced.
The location is of course stunning in its beauty.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travexLondon, Owner at Pandora Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your views of us on trip advisor. We are delighted that you are impressed with the restoration - if you can be lucky in the circumstances of a fire in a thatched building then the Pandora was as there was almost no damage to the groundfloor other than from the water used to extinguish the flames so really there is no difference as we even saved all of the fixtures and fittings from this level. Upstairs was a different story and was a very sad sight but the restoration up there has been quite spectacular with an English oak exposed roof structure and a glass and oak fire screen at the top of the stairs.
We are pleased you enjoyed your meal and thought it to be good value and we hope you will come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lovely Meal in Picturesque Surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed a lovely meal here with friends a couple of weeks ago. The first time we have been since the refurbishment a couple of years ago. The owners have done a superb job at keeping the original character mixed with a few modern enhancements. The food was very tasty with a good choice of well balanced dishes on the menu and a daily specials on the board. The waiting staff were very pleasant and attentive. We would certainly recommend.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travexLondon, Owner at Pandora Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor and for your positive feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed both the food and the service and that you liked what we have achieved with the restoration after the fire in 2011. Thank you for your recommendation and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Was expecting better!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We live in Falmouth so it's not far to go to the Pandora so we booked a table for a Sunday carvery. We often go to different pubs around Cornwall for a roast dinner but hadn't tried it here before. We couldn't fault the staff or the setting and the upstairs dining area is lovely. The carvery however was very disappointing. The dinner plates are very small compared to other places and i'm not in the habit of piling my plate up either, there just wasn't much space to hold the edge of the plate and the gravy runs everywhere. The roast potatoes were one of the worst i've had, they tasted like boiled but they were still a bit too hard and then just flashed in the over, not brown or crispy at all! The cauliflower cheese had too big a pieces that again were very hard and hardly any sauce. For me this was sad as i don't eat meat so i like nice veg. The stuffing balls were very dry and the gravy was really watery. Not nice at all. The leeks had a load of gloopy cheese plonked on the top so you could hardly serve yourself as it starting to set, they should really serve this on it's own or with a proper cheese sauce. The only other veg was a tasteless pureed swede, carrots, which were fine and red cabbage that didn't look appetising. No other greens, so if you don't like cheese it'd be boring. Also, why oh why don't pubs have Coleman's mustard? That pub mustard tastes awful and ruins the food even more. The prices are quite expensive for what it is too. So, we won't be going back for the carvery but we'll pop down in the summer and try the other things on the menu, that way if it's not that great at least we can admire the view in the sunshine.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travexLondon, Owner at Pandora Inn, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor although we are obviously disappointed by some of the comments you have made. To address and perhaps put some balance on the comments you have made:
We serve a carvery every Sunday throughout the year which is always extremely popular with lots of amazing comments on the quality and lots of regular, repeat customers which is the best indication that what we serve works for most people. The plates for the carvery are a standard size dinner plate much the same as we would all have at home. As the name suggests we carve the meat (for those who have it) and allow customers to help themselves to their choice of vegetables, gravy and condiments. The member of staff who carves the meat which is usually Lester our manager explains how the system works. We also have small jugs for customers to take additional gravy, should they require it, back to their table. If this reviewer felt that they couldn't get enough of the vegetables that they subsequently didn't like onto their plate a simple question to Lester would probably have found a simple solution but I guess that is one of the pitfalls of trip advisor as some people seem to find it easier to complain on here rather than asking for assistance at the time. With regard to the vegetables we serve, we tend to stick to a similar selection each week which usually consists of:
Pureed swede (butter and seasoning), braised red cabbage (orange, cinnamon, red wine & brown sugar), leek gratin (wholegrain mustard, béchamel sauce and breadcrumbs - no cheese in this dish), carrots (seasoned), cauliflower cheese (white sauce & cheese), glazed parsnips (honey, butter and sugar), roast potatoes (part boiled then roasted with garlic & thyme) and gravy (roasting juices & thickening). We also serve lovely, large, homemade Yorkshire puddings and have horseradish, apple sauce and usually Coleman's mustard on the side although occasionally our supplier may substitute another brand if they can't deliver Coleman's. Vegetarian gravy is also available. We charge £10.95 for a traditional carvery and £7.95 for those just wanting vegetables.
Obviously it is always sad when someone doesn't enjoy their experience but it is always better to let us know while you are there so that we can try and do something about it as we would like everyone to leave happy! We do have some great vegetarian options on our menu so hopefully next time you come we can guide you to something that will be more to your liking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Stunning location, great pub. Always make time for a visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is always on our list of things to do when we holiday in Cornwall.
We are so pleased to see the pub back up & running following what must have been a difficult time for the owners. It is just as beautiful, we'll restored & just as good as it's always been.
The food is always great, the location is stunning & it is good value for money for fresh, local, beautifully cooked produce.
We'll done guys!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travexLondon, Owner at Pandora Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor and for your kind comments. The fire in 2011 was a difficult time for all who were involved but the restoration went well and most people wouldn't know that anything adverse had ever happened.
Thank you also for your comments on the food and its value for money - we do aim to serve good quality, fresh, local and seasonal food and are proud to do so. We look forward to many more visits on your trips to Cornwall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pandora Inn also viewed

 
Falmouth, Cornwall
 

Been to Pandora Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pandora Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.