We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bank Holiday Monday but still room at the Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pandora Inn

Pandora Inn
Restronguet | Mylor Bridge, Falmouth TR11 5ST, England
+44 1326 372678
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 157 Restaurants in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $9 - $33
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, English, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Stunning waterside pub with pontoon seating 150 people stretching out into the creek. Food is served every day starting with morning coffee and cake from 10.30Am, our full menu from noon until 21.30 And daily specials served at lunchtime and in the evening. Four real ales, local cider, Cornish lager and extensive wine list with 17 wines available by the glass. Multi award winning pub including Visit England Tourism Pub of the Year 2014 - Highly commended, Cornwall Tourism pub of the Year 2012/13,2013/14 - Gold & 2014/15, South West Tourism pub of the year 2012/13 & 2013/14 - Gold.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Bank Holiday Monday but still room at the Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Arrived on Monday evening to join family already in Cornwall - got to Pandora Inn and the carpark was full and the quay seemed to be awash with people. We sent the chauffeur to park the motor up the hill and entered to find spare tables available and ordered drinks and food as normal - nothing special ordered but several had Mussels, one Scampi, one Fish Pie and I had the Fish & Chips. All as expected, despite the numbers of people around - wonderful.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travexLondon, Owner at Pandora Inn, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your positive comments following your recent visit - we are delighted that you thought it wonderful! Well done to the chauffeur for being so gallant - when the car park is full it is, as you discovered, usually possible to park at little way up the hill where the lane widens out. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    350
    188
    55
    17
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful Inn, Beautiful Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

For anyone in this part of Cornwall, the Pandora Inn is a must go-to. The food is always lovely - very tasty and very well presented.

If the weather is good, the setting is perfect for eating outside.

It has always been very busy whenever we have been there, however, they seem to employ plenty of staff and are always able to cope - they are also very smart and very friendly.

The only down-side is the far too small car park but our remedy for this will be to use the river taxi for our next visit.

Very highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travexLondon, Owner at Pandora Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor - we are glad you enjoyed the visit and thank you for your on going recommendation. We are lucky and are very busy which is probably a combination of good food and drink, good service from our hard working team and our unique location! The car park is smaller than we would like but of course when the pub was built cars weren't an issue but you are right the water taxi is a great alternative way to arrive or you can park at the top of the hill where the lane is a little wider and enjoy the stroll down.
We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Heavenly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Came back again, this time by boat. Kids kept happy crabbing for hours! Place was bustling. Again friendly, efficient staff, even though they were so busy and it was getting late. We had mussels for starters (really nice and cooked just perfectly with a divine sauce), I ordered steak (cooked to perfection and really melt in the mouth). Hubby had John Dory fish dish - he can be very picky (!) but it looked amazing and he loved it. Can honestly say was the best meal we have had in ages. Cannot recommend highly enough.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travexLondon, Owner at Pandora Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you again for finding the time to review us on trip advisor and for sharing your views on what we do with other users of this site. We are lucky to be a very busy pub in the summer months and our team work exceptionally hard to try and produce great food and service to all our visitors and it is really nice to have your feedback that you think we achieve this. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
958 reviews 958 reviews
570 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
3,009 helpful votes 3,009 helpful votes
“Twenty years on, much better.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Came here a long time ago and not been back until now. Very much better than I recall it. Easy going atmosphere. Good selection of food, served by polite efficient staff and tasty too. Good value. Nice crowd of other customers. Recommend it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travexLondon, Owner at Pandora Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor and for your positive feedback. We do hope you wont leave it another 20 years before visiting us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We booked a table at this restaurant many weeks in advance of our visit as it was for a special occasion and we know from previous experience how busy it can be. We were therefore disappointed to find out there had been a mix up in bookings and our table had been given to somebody else. However the manager gave us a drink and sorted the problem out for us. The food when it eventually came was wonderful. We both had the Monk Fish which we would thoroughly recommend. The initial hiccup was unfortunate but wouldn't stop us visiting again.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travexLondon, Owner at Pandora Inn, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor - please accept our apologies again for the mix up with your reservation and thanks for being so understanding. We are pleased that you enjoyed the visit and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pandora Inn also viewed

 
Falmouth, Cornwall
 

Been to Pandora Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pandora Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.