We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable and friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Honey Buzzard Barn

Honey Buzzard Barn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Falmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Honey Buzzard Barn
Trenoweth, Falmouth TR109JH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 76 Falmouth B&B and Inns
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We had a lovely stay at Honey Buzzard Barn. Good directions given to find the location which on first look seemed a bit out of the way but was , in fact, much closer than we'd thought and very convenient for all our day excursions. The accommodation was clean and bright and welcoming and the owner helpful and friendly. The beds were particularly comfortable. My teenage daughter was very happy with the wifi Internet access!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    8
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
11
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We booked a last minute trip to Cornwall for a New Year's getaway and were so lucky to find the Captain's Cabin.

The property is attached to Honey Buzzard Barn where we stayed some years ago. The Cabin is a new addition and can interconnect with the barn if you have a larger party.

The property is tastefully decorated and has its own entrance and hallway with an area for hanging coats etc. The kitchen/lounge area is well appointed with a washing machine and microwave and has a light airy feel. The bathroom is WOW - large with a bath and electric shower (big enough for two) and exceeded our expectations. The bedroom has a comfortable double bed and a double wardrobe, again this was well appointed. The place was spotlessly clean, warm and quiet and has super fast wifi.

The owners, Leigh and Jan Heppell, were friendly and as last time, happy to suggest places to visit and restaurants for lunch or dinner.

Falmouth is a short drive away and nice for afternoon pottering, there was so much to since since our last visit, the area around the Maritime Museum has been developed and there are new places to eat and stop for coffee. There are some nice walks from the property but there is so much to see and do in Cornwall that has made me want to return - I wont leave it so long next time.

On New Year's day, the owners suggested we took the crossing to St Ives. We spent a sunny morning wandering around the little shops and stopping for coffee and lunch (and a beer in the local pub later on)!

Returning home after a day out it was nice to relax in the lounge with a bottle of wine and some nibbles and I would gladly return - this is a great place for a romantic getaway or some much needed R & R.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed in the Captain's cabin, attached to Honey Buzzard Barn and run by the same couple. We were met on arrival and shown around. The owners were very friendly and helpful, providing us with tips concerning local attractions (dog friendly in our case). We thought the 'cabin' was lovely, spotlessly clean and more than enough room for two. The kitchen is very well equipped, including a microwave and washing machine. The owners also thoughtfully provided kitchen condiments as well as bathroom accessories. There is a walk in shower and a bath which is a bonus. The location is perfect for seeing Cornwall and we would happily go there again. Excellent value for money. Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011 via mobile

We stayed at the barn mid June 2011, it's location is about 3 miles outside falmouth, upon first arrival we were met by the friendly owners who lived next door, everything explained and helpfull. The barn itself is quite clean and presentable and adequate for a family or couple alike. It's an excellent base for travelling Cornwall and reasonably priced.
The few down sides were with our young 2.5 yr old toddler, he's used to quite a dark room at bedtime and as all the windows are covered in white thin blinds he struggled to sleep initially and woke really early most days as his bedroom was flooded with light.
We also found the freeview tv signal terrible and most evenings we hired out videos from the local store which was nearby, and finally the wireless broadband again was very intermittent..
Small problems for a family with older children who can stay out late but slightly frustrating for us..

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

We booked to stay here for 3 nights in March and paid £300. We had to leave after the first night as the damp in the bedroom was unbearable. It smelt fousty and so did the bedding. We appreciate it was March and it may be lovely in the summer. We did discuss this with the owner but she did not consider that there was anything wrong with it - despite the dehumidifier in the bedroom! The lounge area is nice, the kitchen could have been cleaner, we had to wash some items before we could use them. The bed wasn't very comfortabe, old mattress and done on the cheap. We normally check TripAdvisor before booking anything but didn't realise this little barn would be listed - what a pity we did't do our homework. Looking at some of the other comments left about the damp by previous visitors and the reply by the owner, you will see that they don't accept they have a damp problem - book this at your peril......

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hepps, Owner at Honey Buzzard Barn, responded to this review, March 22, 2011
This Barn is NOT damp, these guests had a prior asthmatic problem , I would suggest poor weather was the reason behind this review. We have many happy guests, its about 2 star prices and 5 star expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2010

A lovely and conveniently located cottage - perfect base for exploring this part of Cornwall and for those with dogs. Falmouth is easy to access, as are may of the beaches both on south and north coasts. Plenty to do and driving is easy - we hade a really enjoyable time, assisted by friendly and helpful hosts.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

Thanks Leigh & Jan for allowing us to share your little piece of heaven down Falmouth way. Honeybuzzard is so restful, comfy and our visit was at Christmastime, so extra magical with Jan's thoughtful touch, a lovely Christmas tree and pretty lights outside. The barn is roomy, spotlessly clean, beautifully fitted and furnished. Nothing more could be added to make our stay more perfect. Leigh & Jan's welcome is warm and their hospitality knows no bounds. We would recommend a relaxing break to anyone and everyone and truly hope to come by again some time soon.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Honey Buzzard Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honey Buzzard Barn

Address: Trenoweth, Falmouth TR109JH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Also Known As:
Honey Buzzard Barn Falmouth, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Honey Buzzard Barn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Honey Buzzard Barn to your Saves list