We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but----” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bosanneth Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Bosanneth Hotel to your Saves list
Bosanneth Hotel
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Gyllyngvase Hill, Falmouth TR11 4DW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 78 Falmouth B&B and Inns
Devon
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Nice, but----”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2009

Stayed here during a snowstorm weekend!!
There was a very warm welcome by Clive and David, and we were shown our room (balcony room), which was a very comfortable room, with an empressive large bed, all very clean and tidy.
Nothing is too much trouble for the owners, as other reviews have stated. As the weather was diabolical, we decided to have our evening meal at the Bosanneth, and I must say, the portions are impressive.

The dinner was good, however, there was no choice apart from the main course, which was either salmon or chicken. Starter was a thick soup, followed by a sweet. but rather basic. We then had a very good nights sleep, and a good day out the next day, after a breakfast which was impressive in all respects.

Finding again that the weather was cold and wet that night, we again decided to stay in for the evening meal. We were offered a beef stew as main course, (no other choice), which we accepted, but on sitting down for the meal, were again presented with a thick soup(albeit a different variety), followed by beef stew with dumplings, and a sweet of crumble. A stodgy meal which really was too much in quantity as well as price, especially when we found out later that they were charging us £22 each!!

I feel that this is a very good guest house, (not a hotel), but i would not stay in for an evening meal. Looking back through the reviews, I find that other people have made the same comment. If David wants to keep up his cooking skills, he needs to enhance the dishes with more choice, and a higher standard of presentation, particularly at the price he is charging.

Clive is very good at front of house, and everything is kept to a very high standard, but they do need to watch their tariffs and charges.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Prices charged for food
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
45
229
27
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
USA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2009

We fell in love (not with each other -we're just friends) with Bosanneth and with David and Clive. Our visit could not have been improved upon. The location was perfect for exploring Cornwall. Our hosts were welcoming and funny and charming. The beds were comfortable. The food was excellent. Our visit could not have been improved on.

  • Liked — The hosts
  • Disliked — That we couldn't stay forever
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2008

After looking for a quiet weekend getaway after the busy Chrismas holiday I decided to treat my wife to a romantic weekend away. I have used tripadvisor in the past to find good hotels all over the world and was not dissapointed by the Bosanneth in the slightest. Everything said about this little hotel on tripadvisor is true and from the warmth of the welcome given by Clive and David to the size of the Cornish breakfast! We have already decided to come back again in the Spring.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2008

The Bosannth is a truly excellent place to stay in every respect. David and Clive are warm and generous hosts who have created a place where one can relax and feel completely at home. It is to their credit that they make it all seem simple, when they must be working extremely hard to offer this fine level of hospitality.
The rooms - bedrooms, dining room and lounge - are stylishly decorated, very comfortable and very clean. The well-loved and well cared-for garden which has sea-views, is totally uplifting.
The meals - both breakfast and evening meal - are superb. They are beautifully cooked and presented, using top quality locally sourced ingredients and very generous quantities of fresh fruit and vegetables. We had booked on a bed and breakfast basis, but decided that we would not find a better meal elsewhere, in such delightful surroundings.
It is a great treat to find somewhere where the owners really care about the well-being of their guests and where giving excellent service appears to be the main priority. I am sure that we could not have picked a better place to stay in Falmouth.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2008

Aftear finding out a day before we were due to go to Greece that the airline had gone bust and there was to be no holiday, we decided to get away and head to Falmouth for a few days.
We luckily got the last room available at Bosanneth and on arrival we recieved a lovely pot of tea and our bags escorted to our room. The Hotel oozed style and elegance. Clive and Dave the owners went out of their way to make us feel welcome and lift our spirits which included a bottle of bubbly! The Hotel is situated in walking distance to fantastic restaurants, harbour,town and beaches...
Best of all was waking up to the smell of home cooking and the delicious cooked breakfast to suit all needs.

Cannot recommend this Hotel enough all the reviews are justified and we cant wait to return for a longer stay!

_X_

  • Liked — The decoration,food,location,Clive and Dave:)
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2008

We have just returned from a wondreful three night stay in the friendliest of hotels where we felt totally relaxed,comfortable and very well fed. This was my second visit this year and and can see how hard David and Clive are working to make a success of their hotel. Nothing is too much trouble and their warmth and humour are a bonus found in very few places nowadays. We did not travel too far as we live in Cornwall but have secured a booking for another stay. We even stopped at the garden centre on the way home as we felt shamed into sprucing ours up having seen what Clive has achieved as well as being a genial host.
The hotel may be small but be sure of a huge welcome,a wonderful stay and as you leave the feeling you have left friends behind until next time. Keep it up, you're wonderful.

  • Liked — Comfortable and CLEAN
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHANNEL ISLANDS
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2008

We reluctantly had to tear ourselves away from this Hotel as we were due back in Jersey. If someone had said to us, you will have to stay here for a month, we would have been absolutely delighted. From the moment, we walked in, we were made welcome by the proprietors, David and Clive. The food was excellent and all home made. The soup was absolutely delicious. Even home made warm bread rolls. We had booked the first night with dinner, bed and breakfast with an option for dinner the second night. It was so good the first night with all the diners talking to one another with no one left out, we immediately asked if we could stay for the evening meal the next night. Clive said there was a slight problem as dinner would be earlier as they had won a cup in the Britain in Bloom Competition for the second year running for the best garden in the small hotel category and he was being presented with it. We said we were quite happy to have dinner at the earlier time and we were asked if we would like to go along for the presentation. The invitation we eagerly accepted - in fact I think all the hotel residents went down the road and had a good evening with our table cheering Clive when he received his trophy - very well deserved. These guys work amazingly hard and yet remain cheery taking time to speak to everyone asking about their day and recommending places to visit when asked. They were great fun and very easy to talk to. The full English breakfast was excellent and there were many other choices to suit all tastes. I was asked if I had tried David's Plum Jam (David does all the cooking). I hadn't as I am more of a marmalade person. However, I thought I would just taste it. Well, I think David should market this! Absolutely gorgeous, From the dining room, we overlooked their lovely garden straight down to the sea. Unfortunately, we did not have the weather as I would have sat at the table and had a drink outside - never mind there is always next time. The garden is a haven of tranquillity - a great place to unwind. Bootsie, their black and white cat sometimes makes an appearance and loves any attention that is offered. Bosanneth is in an ideal location for visiting Cornwall and don't just stay for a couple of days like we did, stay for longer. We will next time. I loved everything about Bosanneth and it was like leaving good friends when we departed. All the guests bade us farewell and it was with a heavy heart that we closed the gate behind us as we left for home. Thank you guys. You make a great team and deserve every success.

  • Liked — The people, the food, the location.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bosanneth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bosanneth Hotel

Address: Gyllyngvase Hill, Falmouth TR11 4DW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bosanneth Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Bosanneth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bosanneth Hotel Falmouth, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bosanneth Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.