We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great trouts tour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grove Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Grove Hotel to your Saves list
The Grove Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Grove Place, Falmouth TR11 4AU, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Falmouth
Hook, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Another great trouts tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Have been to the Grove 6 times now always a friendly welcome Geoff & the staff are great
The breakfasts are excellent cooked to order
My room a bit tired but being up graded this winter
Always a good buzz in the bar till what ever time!!

Room Tip: Four poster on the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    49
    15
    3
    2
See reviews for
43
73
16
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Once again I cannot fault the hospitality extended by Geoff, Sian and their team, they really do understand how the simplest of courtesies can enhance your visit.

The breakfast girls are a welcome site in the morning, with a cheery smile to help wake you from your slumber.

The accommodation has all you can want within such an establishment, is clean, comfortable and well maintained. One can get far less when paying more around the country!

I will gladly recommend The Grove to anyone visiting Falmouth, ideally located whatever the reason for your visit.

Thanks to you all for another wonderful stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Nice mix of laid back and efficient management with lovely staff, good room servicing and wonderful breakfasts.
The only complaint was a soft bed (wife's comment...I was ok with it.)
Good location and special parking permit makes for a worry free break.
Guitar and mandolin displayed / played in bar/lounge area a nice touch.

Room Tip: No tips..boked online... just priced room for 3.. no choice offered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The main advantage of the Grove Hotel is the friendliness of the guys there: a real plus. The room was a good size, complete with bottles of water and kit kats on the first night. Couldn't find a shaver socket, but luckily had a plug adapter. Bed on the hard side.
The decoration, both inside and out looked as though it could do with a repaint.
Breakfast was efficiently and happily served, and generally good.
No car parking on site, but there's a council pay site opposite. The location near town and harbour is good: Rick Stein's fish and chips, Zizzi's and Pizza Express are opposite.
Overall, between average and very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goeffoffski, Owner at The Grove Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thanks for all the positive comments.

During the course of a busy year the inside and outside of the hotel does suffer
a little. As much as we would love to continually renovate and repair it is tricky
when Falmouth is so busy.

But rest assured that all interior areas that need attention will be addressed and the ladders will go up when we are a little quieter for some exterior fine tuning

I hope these matters did not detract from your stay..please come back soon and let us
know if we have satisfied your concerns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Our room had a sunny view to the west and was bigger than most of the other hotels where we stayed in Devon and Cornwall. The breakfasts were yummy and served by gracious hosts, and the location was great - walking distance to good restaurants, the museum and the harbor.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I stayed with a few girlfriends in the beginning of August this year. It was a very enjoyable stay!
The road we were on was very quiet and we didn't hear anything from our neighbors in the hotel. The breakfast was lovely with a hot and/or cold menu. When I told the staff that I was lactose intolerant and asked for soy milk, they actually went to the shop to get me some as they were out! That's amazing service that definitely isn't found everywhere! The beds were very comfortable and warm and the rooms were extremely clean. The shower in our room was a bit small and probably wouldn't suit a larger person, but it was good nonetheless - water was warm and it had enough room to keep your shower products in.
Totally recommend! I would stay here again without a doubt. Thanks for a fantastic stay! xxx

Room Tip: Shower in our room was small so if you're larger you should ask for a room with a bathtub or lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights with a friend. We were attending a wedding in nearby Penryn. I had visited the SW several decades ago but this was my first visit to England in many years. The Grove was delightful and the owners and their son were friendly and very helpful. Our room was quite small but very adequate and the en suite bathroom, though also small, was spotlessly clean and up to date. Breakfast provided a large variety of choices including the legendary full English which lived up to my expectations. Service was pleasant and efficient, by several very nice young women. Initially we made some private jokes about Faulty Towers, Basil and Sybil but nothing could be further from that! The owner and his wife and son were exceptional. The hotel overlooks the harbor and the main street so is convenient for the shopping area and the great choice of restaurants This was a really outstanding experience and I highly recommend this hotel to all visitors.

Room Tip: If you want a "sea view" request it at booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grove Hotel

Address: Grove Place, Falmouth TR11 4AU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
#1 Family Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grove Hotel has been renovated to a high standard preserving its historical Georgian charm. Facing the National Maritime Museum and the River Fal estuary with its busy harbour the en-suite rooms have far reaching views. The hotel is perfectly located for exploring Falmouth being only one minute's level walk into town with its varied choice of restaurants, harbour side pubs, shops, ferries, diving centres and sailing clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your The Grove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grove Hotel Falmouth
The Grove Hotel Falmouth, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grove Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.