We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything a B&B should be” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dolvean House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Falmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dolvean House
Save
You added Dolvean House to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   50 Melvill Road, Falmouth TR11 4DQ , England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
7 Nts for the price of 6
Ranked #14 of 78 Falmouth B&B and Inns
Bridgnorth
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Everything a B&B should be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We had a lovely 2 night stay here in October the Breakfast is Excellent all seved piping hot and cooked to order the house is well decorated and very clean cannot fault it.Good value for money and having car park space is very good as so many places in Falmouth have little os no parking.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
21
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I recently stayed for 4 nights at this lovely B & B in Falmouth. I was made to feel very welcome which was really nice as I was visiting our daughter and travelling alone as my husband was unable to join me for the trip. The room and breakfasts were first class and my daughter and boyfriend were invited to join me for breakfast whenever they could, which was a lovely offer. They, in fact, did have breakfast with me on one occasion and thoroughly enjoyed it. Nothing was too much trouble for the owners, Shaun and Renate. I shall certainly stay at Dolvean House again - hopefully with my husband next time!

Room Tip: I had a single room on the top floor with the most amazing views. It also had a bath with shower ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

A great place to stay in Falmouth, very well situated for the main beach & a short walk from the Discovery Quay & the National Maritime Museum. Accommodation is most comfortable & extremely well appointed. The hosts are most welcoming with the breakfast menu outstanding. Would certainly return here again when next in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We had a four night stay at this B&B recently and one word describes it - superb! It is the cleanest hotel we have ever stayed in - everywhere is absolutely spotless and well maintained. The extremely helpful hosts pay great attention to detail to make you feel so welcome. They personally greet you on arival with tea and biscuits and a chat about any special requirements, things to do in the area etc. Lots of information about activities in Famouth and the rest of Cornwall. Very comfortable beds - quality mattresses, two pillows each one very soft, one bouncy, extra bedding if needed. Offered to dry our clothes for us after we were caught in a downpour. Excellent choice of breakfasts all cooked to order and delicious. Made us lovely packed lunches for our journey home. Great location for exploring South Cornwall. Car parking available. We intend to go back again next year but hopefully for a longer stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham Ontario Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This is a lovely B&B. The rooms are beautifully decorated and immaculate. Shaun and Renate are very helpful and hospitable. The breakfast is excellent - freshly cooked and nicely served. Great location for touring in the area. An easy walk to fine dining or a good pub.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Brilliant place to stay Shaun and Renate are fantastic hosts and their b&b is fabulous we would highly recommend a stay their for anyone wanting that extra special touch to their holiday we wouldn't stay anywhere else in Falmouth when we visit our Son .Many thanks to Shaun and Renate for making our stay in Falmouth so special once again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

This is a really good Bed and Breakfast to stay at. Really nice rooms, great food, an honesty mini-bar (I liked that a lot), pleasant lounge space where we could relax, have a drink and talk. The owners were really helpful and the service was very professional. They could not do enough for us and were happy to book taxi's and even offer us a lift from time to time. This place really had everything we needed from a bed and breakfast. Nicer than many hotels I've stayed in. I know where I'll be staying next time I'm in Falmouth. This place is perfect for couples and larger groups, particularly with the lounge space where people can meet before or after heading out for the evening. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Our room was at the back of the building. It was a nice room and no complaints about noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dolvean House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolvean House

Address: 50 Melvill Road, Falmouth TR11 4DQ , England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dolvean House 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA 5 Star Victorian house offering luxurious B&B guest accommodation, all en-suite rooms are individually decorated and most have sea or harbour views. Beds have pocket sprung mattresses, there is a guest lounge with licensed bar, free wifi & free easy car parking. A few minutes walk away from beaches and shops or a short drive to many of Cornwall's finest gardens, there is so much to do. A warm welcome awaits you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dolvean House Falmouth, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolvean House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.