We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, excellent food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Falmouth Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Falmouth Hotel to your Saves list
The Falmouth Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cliff Road | Castle Beach, Falmouth TR11 4NZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good hotel, excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We stayed here last weekend in a superior room, fantastic sea views, a room the size of a one bedroom apartment. The decor was dated but the room was extremely clean and had all the amenities you could wish for.
We booked directly and this gave us the best deal, including a bottle of wine complementary in our room and an excellent 3 course meal. The meal exceeded our expectations. The decor in the hotel may be a bit dated in places, the food was up to date ! Beef cooked sous vide,excellent and I had a deconstructed creme brulee as a desert, again excellent.
Would definitely stay here again and I hope they will be able to modernise all the rooms.
The staff were also very helpful and friendly and added to the postive experience.

Room Tip: Higher floors have views in either side, either sea view or river view on the other side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy P, General Manager at The Falmouth Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to put your comments on trip advisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and our food offering. We are very proud of the quality of food we serve and the level of service we give. I am at present working on a maintenance program to update the rooms that require it and thank you for your feedback. I do hope we can have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Falmouth Hotel in the future. Kind regards, Wendy Parry - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    173
    77
    48
    11
See reviews for
121
273
22
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

I had occasion to stay here about four weeks ago and it would be hard to find a better one in Falmouth. The bedroom was not too big, but the bathroom was huge with bath, handbasin, walk-in shower, etc etc. Plenty of bathroom 'goodies'as well! Dining room meals and bar meals were excellent with a good choice and well priced, and breakfast was excellent - also with a good choice. The location would be hard to beat, right on the beach with nice gardens and a small children's play area that was welcome. A short level walk takes one straight into town, and there is also a 'shoppers bus service' but it only comes close to the hotel every two hours. The staff were all very welcoming and polite. There is a lift just past the Reception Desk. Would most definitely stay there again if/when in the area.

Room Tip: Choose a sea-view room if available...Worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy P, General Manager at The Falmouth Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to put your comments on trip advisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay here. I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Falmouth Hotel in the future. Kind regards, Wendy Parry - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

The hotel is welcoming including a helpful call to check all well in the room. The large room with a comfy bed and seating area was worth the upgrade. A fridge would have been a bonus (the requested one did no arrive). The waiting staff at breakfast lacked management - guests had to re order as original one mislaid, problems serving plates of cooked food to correct table, failure to clear dirty used items. Corridors and public rooms a bit worn but overall a good experience.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We stayed with a 89 year old for her birthday, and to visit family. On arrival there was a bottle of sparkling wine and a birthday card in her room, a lovely start. The rooms are comfortable although not huge, bathrooms newly refurbished. The public areas are in good condition and the hotel was just finishing a large maintenance programme. Breakfast was good with a great selection, the fruit salad was very fresh and had a good variety of fruit.
We had a minor issue which was dealt with very speedily and efficiently by Anna the duty manager, who we cannot praise enough.
We most certainly would stay again, the views from the dining room and the bar area across the bay and of the castle are fantastic. Falmouth is easily within walking distance, if you are reasonably fit and has a lot to offer.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are adequate in size, but if you like a lot of space upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Our three night break in one of the hotels self catering cottages was both comfortable and a delight. The cottage provides the best of both worlds with a serviced cottage plus room service if required and full use of the hotel spa. However the cottage was well equipped for self catering. A nice touch was the beach furniture. The cottage was very clean and the view across the sea, from the balcony, a delight. Each cottage has a designated parking space which negates any parking stress ! Only one suggestion, our cottage needed a new frying pan, otherwise perfect. A very relaxing break, I suspect we will return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England uk
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

This hotel was booked at short notice due to problems at another hotel and the reception staff were most helfpul and accomodating one night became 2. Food was very good in lovely surroundings.bar staff were excellent and service was prompt
We had chosen a standard room which was well appointed with a great bathroom lovely bath and walk in shower
The location is breathtaking and a level walk to the town centre
The price was most reasonable
Hotel is a bit tired in places. we did not try the spa so cannot comment on that
No hesitation in recommending this hotel

Room Tip: a sea view would cost more but would be fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

I have stayed in this hotel a few times. And recently stayed for two nights in this amazing hotel.
I had planned a surprise stay for my partners birthday. Booking a premier plus room which I highly recommend. It is the most expensive room but is worth the extra money for all the added extras you get :) including a spa bath and massive balcony with stunning views of the sea and gardens.

Prior to the trip I asked the hotel if they could put a ballon and birthday banner in the room, not only did they do this but also gave us a bottle of cava as we'll :) the hotel also informed me that there was a wedding going on during our stay and said the car park may be busy but they offered to reserve us a space. Which they did, which my partner loved! Said he felt like a celebrity! Lol :)

All the staff that we met during our stay we're very helpful and friendly, always smiling and willing to help. The food was amazing cannot fault it! Especially the breakfast! I highly recommend the cooked breakfast with a hot chocolate! :)

The views from the balcony are amazing and are certainly a big reason for staying at this hotel. The staff, food and service are also. This is a grand hotel and admittedly does have a little wear and tear, but it has so much more too offer. If u want a wonderful relaxing break with good food, good service and a warm welcome. Then this is the hotel for you.
No doubt I will be returning to this hotel soon and for years to come!

Thank you Falmouth hotel and staff for a wonderful stay!
And both me and my partner look forward to returning soon
:)

Miss s.allier

Room Tip: Go for premier plus room stunning views and spa bath! What more do u want?
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Falmouth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falmouth Hotel

Address: Cliff Road | Castle Beach, Falmouth TR11 4NZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Falmouth
#8 Family Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Falmouth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Falmouth Hotel is set in five acres of beautifully landscaped gardens and enjoys a prime location on the seafront. 'The Falmouth' has three standards of room choice: Premier, View or Standard. Premier rooms offer a choice of suite, balcony, sea, harbour or garden view. Furnished to a high standard, these rooms include extras such as lounging areas, bathrobes, mineral water and a selection of luxury toiletries. View rooms follow the same high standard as our Premier category whilst being slightly less spacious and without lounging areas. Our Standard rooms offer excellent value for money with sea facing or inland views available. We now offer complimentary internet access from all our rooms via a fixed connection point, ethernet cables are available for a deposit if required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Falmouth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Falmouth Hotel Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Falmouth Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.