We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melvill House

Melvill House
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Melvill House to your Saves list
Melvill House
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   52 Melvill Rd, Falmouth TR11 4DQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 78 Falmouth B&B and Inns
Braintree, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Another Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

Stayed here last year, and had a great stay, this time stayed for 2 nights, and had the same great experience. New wall mounted flat screen TV's mounted on the wall, very comfy bed, good breakfast. Clean B&B including room and rest of house. Only 10 min walk to Falmouth center, where you can find most types of food to eat, from Mexician, to Naplese, to fish and chips even a Jamicain place to eat. We were in Falmouth to attend a childs University Graduation. The University is a 10 min drive.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
london
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

Another good stay at the Melvill, great location in Falmouth 10min walk to the town centre 5mins to the beach. Great Breakfast, room was excellent as always clean and tidy. TV in room with freeview and free Wi-Fi which was appreciated. Ample parking at the rear. Would recommend this as a place to stay in Falmouth.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

Situated on Western terrace ten minutes walk from the centre of town. The guest house is right on a busy road but the traffic noise wasn't too bad. We had a good sized family room; well decorated and in very good condition. The room was well lit and had a modern en suite bathroom. The bed itself was an unusual dome shape and squeaky. Tea and coffee was available in the room and there was satellite TV. There was ample off street parking behind the building. The breakfast was really good and the hosts were helpful and friendly. The off season price was 65 pounds which was cheap compared to everywhere else we tried.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2004

Melvill House B&B , Falmouth, England, about 10 minute walk to town and 2 mins to railway station. About 1 minute to Princess Pavillion where typical english summer shows staged or 1 minute in opposite direction to the most beautiful beaches and walks. The landlords were very helpful, breakfast was nice, my front room was nice, pretty decor. Try the Minack evening tour (outdoor theatre on a Cornwall peninsula) or Lizard day trip, both with Coast & Country Tours. They pick you up from B&B and bring you back again. Warning, I had trouble finding single en suite accomm in Falmouth (well, most places in England); I booked Melvill House 7 months before I arrived there and they were the 8th B&B I tried. They were so lovely to me and I ended up in a twin bedded room.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Melvill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melvill House

Address: 52 Melvill Rd, Falmouth TR11 4DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Melvill House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Melvill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melvill House Falmouth, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melvill House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.