We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb - all round!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gem Fish Bar

The Gem Fish Bar
6 Quarry Hill, Falmouth TR11 2BP, England (Formerly Gem Fish Bar)
44 1326 313640
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 168 Restaurants in Falmouth
Price range: $6 - $16
Cuisines: Fish & Chips
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Takeout
Description: The Gem Fish Bar is a traditional, family run fish and chip shop. Serving good quality food with our fish coming from a fully sustainable source. We are fully licensed, with a varied menu including: vegetarian, children’s, senior citizen’s meals (available all day) and desserts. There is a restaurant that can seat 45 welcoming reservations and a takeaway which food can be preordered for pick up. Opening Times:Tuesday: 4.30pm-9pmWednesday-Saturday: 11.30am-2pm & 4.30pm-9pm
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“superb - all round!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

i have to say - these are the best fish n chips i have tasted outside of yorkshire! we went in as a family for a meal and the staff were very polite and friendly and to be frank, they couldnt do enough for us! it wasnt that the place was empty either, everybody there seemed to get the same treatment. the food was excellent and very reasonably priced too. what a great little place this is - keep up the good work guys!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    6
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melksham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wow! finest fish & chip restaurant in the West.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

How wowed were we ?!! From the start of the evening and the very courteous hostess/waitress through the meal where everything was delivered hot, freshly cooked and exactly to our liking, right through to the end when the bill was a pleasant surprise (no hidden extras here..) we were MORE THAN SATISFIED- we were THOROUGHLY IMPRESSED!! Keep it up Gem Bar-we visit every year and the standards just keep on rising- LOVE YOUR FOOD!! THANKS

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
“A taste of Yorkshire in Cornwall!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

A great fish bar set back from all the rush and push of Falmouth in high season provides a friendly welcoming service with a varied and inexpensive menu the food is cooked to perfection and you can even order -a proper Yorkshire fish cake! The fish bar is clean and spacious and provides a perfect space to relax and enjoy a wonderful meals with a glass of wine if desired I recommend that you visit the first chance you get.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing fish and chips!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

If you are looking for a taste of the sea with a warm welcome and first class service, then look no further! We were struck by the lovely bright and clean décor and the staff were attentive and made us feel at home straightaway. Excellent value for money too. Offering wine as an option to tea or coffee was a lovely touch. Our party all opted for haddock, chips and mushy peas, which was beautifully cooked and portions were generous. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Sloop John B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I challenge you that wherever you dine in the world you will not find better Fish and chips at
any price! Succulent fish, crispy batter and perfect chips with all the side accompaniments you
could wish for and unusually for a Fish Bar wines and beers. Its not posh, no tablecloths, but
very clean and smart and those in the know that live in Falmouth are their bedrock customers,
some visit every week. Also have to mention the service which is very old school and therefore
fabulous even when it's busy! If you we're wondering about the price, unbelievable it's less than
well known chains and competitive with similar eat in Fish Bar restaurants in South Cornwall.
If your visiting the area check it out or miss out!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gem Fish Bar also viewed

Falmouth, Cornwall
 

Been to The Gem Fish Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gem Fish Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.