We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Mylor

Cafe Mylor
Mylor Yacht Harbour | Falmouth, Falmouth TR11 5UF, England
+44 1326 377743
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #65 of 168 Restaurants in Falmouth
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: Café, Tea Room, Soups, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Delivery
Description: Cafe Mylor specialising in offering great coffee and tea with breakfast, brunch and lunch. Enjoying a scenic position in Mylor Yacht Harbour our sun terrace overlooks the hustle and bustle of the marina. A spacious warm interior offers a comfortable spot to catch up over a meal or simply enjoying a coffee, cake and a chat. We offer a perfect spot to take a break with a cream tea or toasted tea cake and a cup of fine Tregothnan Tea if you fancy a walk around the scenic edge of the Falmouth Estuary. There is plentiful parking so you can begin your journey here or it is the ideal spot to take a break if you are have commenced your walk from either Mylor Village or Flushing. The Marina is accessible at all states of the tide with a fuelling berth for both diesel and petrol - The Cafe is situated next to a well stocked watersports shop and marine chandlers and a wide variety of watersports activities takes place from the site including sailing lessons and boat, kayak and stand up paddle hire.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Another great lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

once again this great café did us proud for lunch. Beautifully cooked Bubble and Squeak and Seafood Tempura. Great Coffee. Although in March it was warm enough to sit outside and watch all the Yachts and activity in the lovely Harbour. The Dog was more than welcome as usual. The Staff remembered us from 6 months earlier which is a sure sign of a good business.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_JW_Stephens, Owner at Cafe Mylor, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear john
Thanks so much for taking the time to post your review. All our staff have been working very hard on all aspects of the business over the winter and I am delighted that you and your dog enjoyed all the aspects of your visit. We are very lucky to have such an amazing location and with the weather improving our outside terrace it is proving to be a great location to enjoy a good cup of coffee.

Thankss once again and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards
Peter Stephens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    17
    6
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dorking, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious mid-walk brunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stopped at Café Mylor half way on our round trip walk from Flushing, where we were staying, and all I can say is DELICIOUS!! Three of us had the full Cornish breakfast and one had an enormous omelette, all freshly made. Lovely coffee and the dog was welcome too!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_JW_Stephens, Owner at Cafe Mylor, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Caz

Thanks so much for taking the time to review Cafe Mylor after your recent visits to Cornwall.
Having found the wonderfully scenic walk around the edge of the Fal from Flushing we are delighted that you chose to stop off for brunch with us and enjoyed your experience too. You can also find us by boat and by car and there is always plentiful parking around if you are passing again.
If the weather is good you can enjoy your drinks or meal out on our terrace overlooking the harbour and marina.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip for breakfast, luck or afternoon cream teas.

Kind regards
Peter Stephens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Gimignano, Toscana, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We had a family lunch (6 of us) with dogs in tow. We were happily surprised with regards the portions, ie the fish finger sandwich was superb and not the fish fingers you have in mind? Good for children, excellent options and value for money. Will certainly visit again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_JW_Stephens, Owner at Cafe Mylor, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Paul
Thanks so much for taking the time to visit Cafe Mylor - We were delighted that you found your experience to your liking.

We look forward to your next visit - Hopefully the sun will be out as we have been promised a heatwave (yet again!) and you can enjoy our offerings on the sunny terrace overlooking the harbour

Once again many thanks for taking the time to review our Cafe and we look forward to your next visit.

Regards
Peter Stephens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
259 helpful votes 259 helpful votes
“Overwhelmed!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

We also visited cafe Mylor on the only day we have seen sun lately, but had a completely different experience to a previous writer. We arrived for a late lunch and found the place was completely overwhelmed. Tables were uncleared and unwiped. Although we were told that there was a half an hour wait for food - half of our families food came out after 35 minutes and the other half came 15 minutes later. We heard one family asking for the table to be cleared and were told that they were too busy, so the family left. Unfortunately the front of house staff looked like they didn't want to be there - and why do waiting staff, when they bring out food NOT take back to the kitchen crockery from tables waiting to be cleared! Instead they go back empty handed. I have never understood that - it doesn't happen abroad.
After saying all this , the food was quite good and once the rush was over a young man came out from the back and he did everything that the other members of staff hadn't bothered with.
Perhaps we will give it another go in the summer when we can sit outside and enjoy the scenery.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_JW_Stephens, Owner at Cafe Mylor, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Lindy Lou
Thank you for taking the time to review Cafe Mylor after your visit at the beginning of the Half Term week and I am glad to see you found the food to your liking if not the state of service .
We could do nothing but agree with your view that the Cafe seemed overwhelmed as we were inundated with a weeks worth of business in just a day! Not surprisingly on the basis of our performance we have implemented further training for the staff to help them to cope better when we get so busy in such a short space of time.
We hope we can welcome you back to a more relaxed and streamlined operation for you to enjoy the stunning sunny terrace when the indian summer we seem to be promised materialises
Regards
Peter Stephens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

After a lovely walk on Mylor beach in the only glimpse of sun for weeks, we decided to stay around for a spot of lunch. Seeing as Cafe Mylor was dog friendly our choice was made. It was busy, they had tables outside but our young ones wanted to be inside. Thoughtfully crayons/felt tips/paper are on hand to keep young hands occupied. Hubby opted for Eggs Royale (£7.50 poached eggs, smoked salmon,hollandaise sauce) and I the fish finger butty. Hubby thought the butty was overpriced at £7.50.....until it arrived! Not your bog standard Cap'n Birdeye but freshly battered strips of fish fillet. Absolutely delicious. Staff were fine, our table was cleared promptly and our food wait was only 10-15 mins. Seeing as it is a child/dog friendly cafe, and the food was fab we will definitely go back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_JW_Stephens, Owner at Cafe Mylor, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thanks so much for your review of our Cafe. I am personally very glad you found one of our best kept secrets 'the fish finger nutty' as it is one of my favourites too.
We hope to welcome you back to Mylor Yacht Harbour soon and with a forecast of summer heatwave you can hopefully make the most of our offerings basking in the sunshine on our terrace.
Even if the harbour seems busy when the sun comes out we always have plenty of parking spread up the valley so you should never struggle to find a place to park although we are accessible by boat or on foot via the many scenic local footpaths too.

Regards
Peter Stephens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Mylor also viewed

 
Falmouth, Cornwall
Falmouth, Cornwall
 

Been to Cafe Mylor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Mylor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.