We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful rooms but dinner not so good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Greenbank Hotel

Save Saved
You added Greenbank Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Greenbank Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Harbourside, Falmouth TR11 2SR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 23 hotels in Falmouth
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful rooms but dinner not so good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Second visit to this hotel which is in a stunning location and our room had a fantastic view over estuary! Service was really great all around the hotel. The breakfast menu and quality was sensational! The only drawback was the evening meal - it was not quite so good, there was something lacking between quantity, quality and price! I would however definitely return to this hotel as on the whole the place is wonderful!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, General Manager at Greenbank Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
I really appreciate you taking the time to write, the team of Chef's and I have reviewed what you have said as constructive and are constantly aiming to impress with quality and value. I have no doubt that should you have the opportuniy to return, we would be able to change your opinion of the dining experience we offer. Thank you for the balance in your review and the kind comments on bedrooms and service,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    208
    109
    46
    23
    6
See reviews for
57
201
13
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

My partner and I stayed for a few nights in October 2012. I treated my girlfriend to one night in the deluxe harbour view room and it was worth every penny. With stunning views of the harbour and a bath in the window :). The staff were gracious and always friendly.
The hotel is a short walk to the centre. Breakfast was lovely and they accommodated my eggs requests. We had dinner in the hotel on one of the evenings (the other was at rick stein fish and chip restaraunt also very good). The meal and wine were excellent and all set with the back drop view of the harbour. An excellent stay but if you can get at least one night in one of the suites, as they are to die for.

Room Tip: Definitely take one of the suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, General Manager at Greenbank Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Your comments have made the team and I extremely proud. Thank you for taking the time and we would be pleased to welcome you back when you next visit Cornwall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My girlfriend and I booked a two night stay at the Greenbank in January 2013. We chose the Greenbank due to its locality to family that lived nearby. The Greenbank was very well decorated and the staff were very friendly.

Our room was a river view looking out to the Falmouth Harbour... all I can say is wow! It beats the view of London and by the end of the trip I didn't want to leave that view! I'm not one for morning wake up's so my girlfriend opened the curtains every morning so I could see the view and get out of bed!

The breakfast was very nice and the female waitresses were very helpful and polite.

The bathroom was stunning, however had a very ill-placed plug hole... however other than this one flaw I cannot fault the bathroom.

The cleaners were very nice and tidied our room after Night One. They even folded my pants... now that's commitment!

We would recommend the Cocktails for an evening and the staff are very accepting if you want to take them back to the hotel room.

The Wi-Fi is free at the Greenbank and the code can be obtained at reception. However the first night it did not work, but the second night it worked perfectly. I have a theory on this, as I know the hotel was more empty on the second day... so if someone was downloading and being selfish by using all the bandwidth, then it would be hard to connect to the net. So my suggestion is, please be courteous with how you use the Wi-Fi.

In all the Greenbank is a lovely hotel and for the price, you won't be disappointed when leaving the hotel .The premier inn the next two days just didn't compare.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, General Manager at Greenbank Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments and your thoughts on how our future guests may get the most out of their stay. I am so pleased that you had such an enjoyable time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic stay starting with relaxed coffee's in the water front bar. Stunning panoramic views right across the Fal river from our bedroom window. The room was immaculately decorated with everything you need at hand. Staff were extremely knowledgeable and friendly and breakfast in the comfort of our room while sitting out looking over the river was a perfect end go a fabulous stay. Can't rate this hotel enough, will be back again very soon. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, General Manager at Greenbank Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Time and again our guests comment on our position and location, I am delighted you were able to appreciate it, as do we as the lucky people who get to come here to work. I am glad that this transpires in the friendly accommodating service you received. Thank you for telling everyone!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We had a lovely riverside room - the view was amazing! Once you manage to stop looking at the view you realise how well appointed the room is. Tasteful furniture, proper sized bath, powerful shower, stylish glass coffee table, everything is just spot on. We treated ourself to breakfast in bed - it was fantastic! Perfectly cooked poached eggs on toast, croissants and coffee with juice. Such friendly staff and such a lovely location.
Highly recommended if you are staying in Falmouth whatever the occasion.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, General Manager at Greenbank Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for such a lovely recommendation, you have highlighted exaxtly, the areas in which we aim to excel in. I hope you will have the chance to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

The staff are amazing, nothing is too much hassle. You can tell all the staff love this place and want your stay to be special, the service is the best I've ever experienced. Food is incredible in the restaurant with breath taking views out over Falmouth harbour. I could have sat there all day looking out at the boats on the sea.
Book now, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, General Manager at Greenbank Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
It turned out to be a great time of year to celebrate your wedding! The day will not be forgotten by the staff who served you, it delights us that you enjoyed the hotel so much on such an important occassion. Also, your 'call to action' for future wedding couples is appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed at the Greenbank Hotel for the Christmas Break package, the whole experience was very well thought out, and well organized. We had a river view bedroom which was lovely with views stunning along the coastline and estury. The staff were very keen to make the christmas experience something special, the hotel was warm, very clean and tidy. All in all a truly lovely break and hopefully we will get a chance to visit again very soon. Thankyou to everyone at the Greenbank, Falmouth
visitors from Taunton

Room Tip: River View
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, General Manager at Greenbank Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post such lovely comments. I felt that there was an exceptional atmosphere in and around the hotel at Christmas, and it was achieved by staff and guests alike enjoying themselves at a special time of the year. Take a look at our website for the 2013 programme; we would be delighted to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Greenbank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenbank Hotel

Address: Harbourside, Falmouth TR11 2SR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Falmouth
#3 Family Hotel in Falmouth
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Falmouth
#10 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Greenbank Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Greenbank Hotel in Falmouth, Cornwall, likes to do things differently. The setting is truly enviable, the staff superbly trained and as anybody who has ever lived beside the sea will know, the fresh seafood is sublime! Cornwall is renowned for its feel good vibe and fresh produce, and a short stay or holiday at this luxury hotel will give you the break you need. Escape to the Greenbank Hotel a hotel with an unmistakable personality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Expedia so you can book your Greenbank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenbank Hotel Falmouth, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenbank Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.