We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Superb!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Duchy Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Duchy Hotel to your Saves list
The Royal Duchy Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cliff Road, Falmouth TR11 4NX , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Falmouth
N.Devon
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Always Superb!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Spent 3 nights here last week and this will be approaching our 10th year of visiting. Never had a bad experience, hence! At no point do the the staff disappoint. Michael and his team are a credit to this lovely Hotel. I've seen previous comments about it being 'tired' and 'outdated' etc. Buckingham Palace probably is! Falmouth has everything for everyone and if you fancy a nice walk follow the coast road (left out of the Hotel) and walk into town. Thanks again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    96
    34
    14
    9
See reviews for
86
166
19
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Banbury
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This hotel is luxurious, freshly decorated, clean, well staffed, beautifully located and very relaxing. The old-fashioned care and courtesy is always apparent but it's obvious that Brend, the family hotel group, also ensure modern day requirements are catered for - free wifi, interesting dinner menu. We stayed as a couple and really enjoyed the sunbeds on the lawn, overlooking the sea, and great service from all the staff. Prices were reasonable. There is a lovely indoor pool, but it could be improved by having an adult only swimming period each day.
I would highly recommend this hotel if you wish to be looked after and relax by the sea, away from the centre of Falmouth, but within easy walking distance of the lively little town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The Royal Duchy Hotel in Falmouth never fails to impress us. We are a large family with 4 young children, once again we were looked after extremely well by the staff and felt very comfortable within the hotel as it caters for children in every way. From the bedroom organisation to meal times, everything was taken care of to suit our needs. There is a lovely playroom for the children with wii, board games, drawing etc. and outside on the lawn a lovely galleon to play on and other outdoor games to keep them entertained.
This hotel is the luxury you want when you travel with the added conveniences you like when you have children in tow! Thank you Royal Duchy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Only stayed one night and travelled for business from London. Long drive and very glad I booked here as it was just fabulous in all respects. Shame I was only staying the one night. Definately recommended.

Room Tip: Sea view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is one of my favourite hotels, I have visited many times and every time It has been great, the service is fantastic and their staff are amazing, their food at the restaurant is also Outstanding ! I will be hoping to visit again soon.

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Great room with fantastic views overlooking the sea in Falmouth.

Excellent staff with special mention to the Porter (sorry didn't get his name) who went out of his way and beyond his duties to make the stay very special for our family who had booked for a wedding at the nearby Pendennis Castle.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I spent one night in this hotel in July 2013 and I could not fault it. The staff were very friendly and welcoming - I had a single room and it had everything I needed. The food was great and the drinks in the comfortable bar were good average prices. Highly recommended!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Duchy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Duchy Hotel

Address: Cliff Road, Falmouth TR11 4NX , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Falmouth
#9 Family Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Duchy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Royal Duchy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Duchy Hotel
Royal Duchy Falmouth
The Royal Duchy Hotel Falmouth, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Duchy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.