We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, great views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Star and Garter

Star and Garter
Old High Street, Falmouth, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #120 of 175 Restaurants in Falmouth
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food, great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

My partner and I often visit on a Sunday, with the pubs roast specials, very nice roasts, very good sized portions and brilliant value for money.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    12
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Dog-friendly, fabulous view, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

After leaving the Boathouse up te road whose version of dog-friendly comprised seating us outside in the smokers' area we were pleased to see the dog-friendly sign outside the Star and Garter - and they really were! Iola ( the dog ) was greeted with biscuits and water and things just kept getting better.
After a short wait, we got seats by the window overlooking the harbour and Flushing over the river. What a beautiful spot! The food was good and delivered in good time with friendly service and a smile. We left just before the live music started at 9 because Iola's not a jazz fan but all in all it was an enjoyable experience I'd be happy to repeat.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Microwave food a disapointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I don't like giving poor ratings, but I am afraid it just was not good enough this time. I had enjoyed a great evening in the pub a few months ago and I like the view and atmosphere, so thought we would try the food.
I fancied the liver, bacon and onions on mash. For only £6 a good price. The food was a good sized portion, but my first bite was met with freezing cold mash. I complained and they took it away with an appology that it could not have been in the microwave long enough! The food returned piping hot and rather delicious to be honest, but the mash was reheated mash from some other time and it is not the same as fresh mash. Sorry folks, you dropped the ball there....

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent food, friendly staff, good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We've been twice to the Star and Garter during our trip to Cornwall. All dishes were tasty and freshly made. The have a standard menu an a menu of the week, which may even change from day to day. Staff was very friendly and helpfull - asked in the kitchen which ingredients were exactly in one dish. After the food was served, they came along once more to see if everthing was all right. I can really recommend it! The lady who owns the pub uses to be around in the evenings, ready for a nice chat.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Top Contributor
606 reviews 606 reviews
427 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
281 helpful votes 281 helpful votes
“Nice pub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

This pub has a really pleasant landlord, and the food is good. We had fish and chips, and also the crab cakes....not great but quite good. The view over the harbour is splendid. All in all a nice pub and well worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Star and Garter also viewed

 

Been to Star and Garter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star and Garter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.