We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, so good.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gurkha

Gurkha
First Floor | 2A The Moor, Falmouth, England
01326 311483
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 168 Restaurants in Falmouth
Price range: $3 - $22
Cuisines: Indian, Nepali
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Delicious food, so good.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Coming from the midlands and being used to high class Baltis' this was a different experience - a delight for our taste buds. All the group said this was the best meal out we had for ages. Worth waiting for on a very busy Saturday night. Would definitely come again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    32
    9
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great place to eat :-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Don't know why we have not wrote review before we have been here many time's and never been let down, the staff are always very friendly and look after you so well not only when you eat in but when you get a take away too. The chilli chicken is to die for, we have never had a bad meal here in the six years we have lived in Falmouth, if you like curry give this place a try! Yum yum!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Nepalese Chicken Chilli, delicious !!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We ate at the Gukha on Saturday night 7pm 29th December 2012. We were a little bamboozled by the menu, because we didn't want to be disappointed, we asked the waitress for advice and recommendations. I asked for very hot but tasty and authentic, as I wanted to steer clear of the usual madras. tikka, vindaloo etc. I also stated that we were all wheat intolerant. The waitress knew exactly what I was trying to avoid, I was recommended and ordered::

26. Nepalese Chicken Chilli (hot) £9.25
Pieces of boneless chicken cooked with fresh herbs, green pepper,
fresh green chilli, onion, touch of soya sauce and tomato.

This dish was so full of taste, and just fiery enough to kick your throat without compromising the delicious flavours. I ended up having to share it with my family, it was that good!!!

The whole meal cost us £82 including drinks, which were two bottle of sparkling water a coke and a Crabbies, so a little steep.
Overall the service was good, staff very friendly and the food exceptional.
The restaurant itself is large and spacious if a little dated. But I would much rather have good tastey food worry about the decor.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Just wanna say thank you frm buttom of my heart(CONGRATULATIONS for nominated by Cornwall council to the best Scored on food and”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

I had a fantastic night at Gurkha on my 25'th b'day , you guys are just amazin , every body enjoyed their meal even you are preeti busy.but you were so attensive and caring .food was so good , fresh and tasty-highly recommend

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redruth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous Sunday Buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We have been here before, but not for many years. We enjoyed it then, and we enjoyed it this time too! We were in a party of 8 just before Christmas. Food was plentiful and extremely tasty. The only thing I could complain about was my drink, a Lime and Soda - £2.50!!! REALLY!!?? Come on Ghurka that's just a tad overpriced!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gurkha also viewed

 
Truro, Cornwall
 

Been to Gurkha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gurkha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.