We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Value meals due to stingy portion size” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Seven Stars Inn

The Seven Stars Inn
Trefusis Road | Flushing, Falmouth TR115TY, England
+44 1326 374373
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 168 Restaurants in Falmouth
Price range: $6 - $24
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Julie and sue are thrilled to invite you to the seven stars inn at the centre of the beautiful village of Flushing. With much experience in running cafes and restaurants in Falmouth, Julie and Sue came over to Flushing in 2009 where they acquired Flushing stores, the local village shop. After three years of living and working in Flushing they took over the Seven Stars Inn in December 2012. They bring to the pub a love for the village and a passion for good locally sourced produce to create delicious menus for to cater for all tastes. There is a varied wine list and also great local beers from Cornwall including Cornish Knocker, Trelawney and Doom Bar as well as great guest beers that change regularly.
Paignton, Devon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Poor Value meals due to stingy portion size”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Ideal portions for serious dieters as so small !
We were looking forward to a special celebratory meal as we had seen the previous reviews.
When the food arrived we were shocked at how small the portions were !
The goats cheese and onion tart at £6.95 sounded great but beware it is no bigger than a cupcake and is definitely not home-made ! It was full of flavour but seriously tiny. The accompanying side salad is measly. The bread came with a small ramekin of margarine and we had to ask the waitress for butter instead -- again this is seriously stingy and unhealthy to offer margarine instead of butter and needs to be reconsidered if you are to be a quality pub.
The duck and orange salad lacked a tasty dressing and although the duck was delicious the small portion again did not fill any space !
The lamb cooked in dill sauce was very tasty and the portion size was acceptable.
Location : Great
Food taste: Great
Portion Size: Very Poor
Overall we were most disappointed and felt the meal to be poor value for money

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    8
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Thoroughly Enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We've just returned from a weeks stay in Flushing, Falmouth and not only did we have a wonderful relaxing break we found a little gem in the Seven Stars Inn.
An exceptionally welcoming hostelry with both Staff and locals making you at ease.
Food is typical pub fayre and is of a good standard. The beers are superb but make sure if you are a northerner, you ask for a head on the beer!!
Great little local boozer

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Gary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This is a very friendly pub with very friendly staff and locals. They make you feel very welcome and if you have a dog they make him/her very welcome as well. The food in the pub is really good and home made ( the steak and kidney pie is out of this world ) , we stayed for a week and every meal we had in the pub was impressive and very good value for money. We look forward to returning to this wonderful part of the world later in the year and the seven stars will be are first port of call again.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent affordable meals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Homity Pie for the wife and I. Beef in red wine for mum.. excellant meals and wonderful ales. We have enjoyed a very pleasant week in Flushing with a very good varied menu at the Seven Stars.. well done to all the staff... keep up the good work

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Very mixed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

First night staying in Flushing, so we thought we would try the Seven Stars. The location was perfect. Sat at a table overlooking the river estuary, lovely. Everything started well, I had fresh prawns and my partner a very nicely prepared prawn cocktail. My main course was very nice - fish pie, clearly home prepared, could have done with a bit more fish but pretty good. My partner had the lamb kebabs and that is where a wheel came off _ tough as old boots and completely tasteless. After that we didn't bother with a sweet
They didn't charge for the lamb so all credit for that.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Seven Stars Inn also viewed

Falmouth, Cornwall
Falmouth, Cornwall
 

Been to The Seven Stars Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Seven Stars Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.