We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Show me the shellfish!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Shack

The Shack
9 Tidemill House, Discovery Quay | Falmouth, Cornwall, TR11 3XP, Falmouth TR11 3XP, England
+44 1326 212800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 156 Restaurants in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $3 - $41
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome to The Shack - a rustic shellfish bar in bustling Events Square, Falmouth, where the food is always fresh! Relaxed dining in an unrivalled atmosphere - with the focus on sparklingly fresh, local seafood. The idea is simple: sociable food and a fun, hands-on approach to shellfish. We've got something for everyone, from shellfish of every variety to fish of the day, steak, vegetarian options and a children's menu. Open 7 days a week for lunch and dinner.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Show me the shellfish!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

On a wet February afternoon we decided to drive to Falmouth for takeaway fish and chips at Rick Steins.
We arrived at 2.45pm to find it was no longer serving so went round the corner to The Shack in the hope they could do us some food and accommodate our dog. Tick on both counts, great.
They were doing a small, fixed price menu which was fine but we decided to splash out and have the Shack Stack. This consisted of 2 fresh oysters, 2 cooked scallops, cooked prawns, fried squid rings with a sweet chilli dipping sauce, a bowl of mussels, half a lobster ( this is usually a whole brown crab but they were out) and a bowl of chips.
We are both lovers of good shellfish and this was certainly that.
The oysters were very fresh and succulent, the scallops were cooked in a lovely garlic and butter sauce, the chilli dipping sauce that accompanied the squid was a masterpiece, so much so I drizzled it all over my chips. My only complaint and hence only a very good rating was the lobster tail meat was dry and slightly overcooked. To be fair we had gone in at 2.50pm and they stopped serving food at 3pm.
The service was excellent and very friendly, at no point did we feel under pressure to eat and leave quickly.
A brilliant little restaurant, simply furnished and clearly doing what they do best.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    329
    106
    24
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
223 helpful votes 223 helpful votes
“Good local informal knowledgeable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Our first experience with the Shed/Shack siblings was excellent...see my review on the Shed.

A small focused menu with a focus on shellfish. The waiter could tell you where each product came from...not just the "local" supplier/middleman. The food was nicely prepared with the emphasis on its freshness. No burying in sauces or seasoning.

The Shed could learn much from its little sibling.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good service but BEWARE”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Ok its been a few weeks since we ate at his restaurant, this a was family holiday so the 5 adults ate the same for the 4 days away except at this restuarant. we booked a table for 8pm on the 30th December and after reading reviews was surprised to see when we arrived the restaurant was empty except one small family who were paying their bill and left 5 mins later so we had the place to ourselves. The waitresses were pleasant and attentative, out of the 5 adults 2 had fish and chips (one veggie special) and 2 of us shared the seafood platter (me and a mate) - there was no crab available so they substitued it for something else. whilst the mussels were good, the scallops and prawns were ok- not much tatse if any.Now we come to the OYSTERS - there were only 2 so we had one each , they were huge so hard to swallow but got there in the end (this was 1st and last time i will ever have an oyster!!. We paid and left all ok but nothing at all speacial about the food - come the next day on NEW YEARS EVE whilst getting ready for a party at the holiday home we rented - about 8pm my friend and i started to have stomach pains and feel ill, 10 mins later we were both being sick, fluid coming out at both ends!! this repeated around 5 times for us until 3am!! The next day we both had stomach pains but thnkafullt no more puking! What a New years Eve we had thanks to the shack. To clarify we all ate the same food the whole 4 days away except at this restaurant as its the only time we went out to eat, the 2 of us that had the OYSTERS were sick 24 hrs later all night. Whilst i was reluctant to post a review on a trip advisor ( st time ever) i thought people should be aware and take note. I would like to hear from the manager and see what he has to say- other than the obvious ..why did you take so long to write a review- which is my perogative. All in all they provided a good and friendly service but the food was a major dissapointment -especially for the price of the seafood platter and the affects of it all!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
T0b123, Owner at The Shack, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
INFORMATION ON THIS REVIEW IS INCORRECT.

We did not have any bookings for 5 people on Sunday 30th December.

We were also 3/4 booked on the evening in question, so there is no possibility the restaurant could have been empty.

I WILL WRITE A FULL REPLY WHEN I HAVE ALL THE FACTUAL INFORMATION.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Thank God Rick Stein was closed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

On a visit to Falmouth on Sunday 20th we were looking for Rick Steins Sea food restaurant, Sunday being Sunday he was closed, just across the square was The Shack Sea Food restaurant, On arriving we were greeted by the restaurant Manager, who was extremely friendly and welcoming. Looking at the extensive menu, we choose the Shack Stack sharing meal which consisted a whole Brown Crab, Prawns, Scallops , Oysters, Squid, mussels and fry’s.
Never tackled a Crab before the Manager politely showed us the way, and what a fantastic experience it was. The presentation was second to none, and flavours divine. So next time you’re in Falmouth I fully recommend you visit the Shack first, rest assured you won’t be disappointed

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fishtastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Lovely relaxed setting, friendly staff, an excellent range of seafood and some enticing other options too. We went for the 2-course lunch special at £12 each., I had Oyster Kilpatrick and a well seasoned and very sympathetically pan fried megrim sole, my wife chose a creamy haddock and bacon chowder followed by butternut and sage risotto which was equally excellent. Just about managed to resist the lure of profiteroles or chocolate and baileys fondant but perhaps next time...

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shack also viewed

 
Falmouth, Cornwall
 

Been to The Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.