We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dramatic fort overlooking harbor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pendennis Castle

Pendennis Castle
Pendennis Headland, Falmouth TR11 4LP, England
01326 316594
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 16 Attractions in Falmouth
Type: Castles, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 450 years of history can be experienced from Henry VIII's coastal stronghold to a secret Second World War base. A Discovery Centre packed with hands-on activities allows visitors to really get to grips with history plus the restored defences complete with their sounds and smells show what life was really like. The drama of Pendennis at War is recalled in the Barrack Block displays and museum, including the famous ‘Butterworth Cartoons’. A day out worth talking about whatever the weather.
Boston
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Dramatic fort overlooking harbor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This well-preserved fort was built by Henry VIII to defend against the Spanish. The round keep and battlements are very well preserved. You can climb the stairs to the roof for fabulous 360 degree views of Falmouth harbor and the coast of Cornwall. There is a fee to enter but if you are from overseas and plan on visiting several English Heritage sites like this one, consider buying an overseas pass. It is possible to see the castle in under an hour although I recommend allowing a couple of hours to stroll the fort and take in all of the history. (See photos)

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    173
    33
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Interesting and interactive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The day we went to the Pendennis Castle, there seemed to be some sort of festival. There was firing of various types of guns and cannons from different eras as well as some live music and dancing. It was interesting to lean about the history of the place and the views from the top were spectacular! Atleast a one time visit

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north luffenham
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Interesting place with great views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed in one of the holiday homes in Pendennis Castle so we were possibly a little biased.

The castle is actually made up a series of buildings, from the keep to the main buildings with guns from different periods dotted around the walls and a large expanse of grass. In each of the buildings there is information explaining what you are looking at and plenty to interact with. My husband who is more into military things than I am, was full of praise. Our dog, on the other hand, liked all the grassy areas.

the location of the castle is stunning (once you have walked up a fairly steep hill) as it sits on a point with wonderful views across the water on both sides of the castle - Falmouth and beyond to one side and St Mawes on the other.

the staff also deserve a mention as they were all welcoming, friendly and helpful.

while we were visiting there were Tudor re-enactors which added to the picture I had of life as it once was in this castle

there is also a tea room which offers very nice scones!!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Super location, beautifully kept”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

It was a cold and windy day so we probably did not enjoy the grounds as much as we could have but it is an interesting place to visit with lots of informative exhibitions and hands on bits and pieces. As with most EH sites, the care is in preserving the fabric of the buildings and this has been done beautifully. The staff were all very helpful and the views stunning. We had a disabled visitor with us so our visit was somewhat restricted but still glad we made the trip.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is an amazing place, in a stunning location. Very interesting place with lots of info about the castle's history. It's cheap enough to get in (£6.70 per adult) and you can spend as much time in the grounds as you like. Well worth a visit.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pendennis Castle also viewed

 

Been to Pendennis Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pendennis Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.