We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location, needs updating” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Penmorvah Manor Hotel and Courtyard Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Penmorvah Manor Hotel and Courtyard Cottages to your Saves list
Penmorvah Manor Hotel and Courtyard Cottages
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Penjerrick, Budock, Falmouth TR11 5ED, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Falmouth
Lewes
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely location, needs updating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I have no actual complaint about my (B&B) stay, the service was very good, and the room was comfortable.

What seemed a pity was that the most wasn't made of it's lovely location. Overgrown trees and hedges in front of the windows, curtains drawn at breakfast, an untidy car park and drive.

The decor looked old fashioned, but was clean and not faded.

There was a buffet breakfast, which was OK, but if there are kitchen staff in why not offer freshly cooked (and locally sourced) food.

It would have been nice if there was wifi anywhere other than the bar.

With a bit of thought and inspiration it could be a great little country house hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    26
    9
    8
    12
See reviews for
20
50
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed for two nights, the staff are very friendly and polite. The hotel is very rural so not ideal unless you have a car.
The dinner and breakfast are very good, there were only a couple of things that would deter me from staying again- the whole place is very old fashioned, and I went for a nightcap at 10.45pm to find the bar and reception shut!? surely the bar should stay open later seeing that the nearest pub is about a mile away down an unlit Cornish lane!
Wifi is only available in public areas.
The mattress on our bed was very hard and the shower was very hard to control
In my opinion the whole hotel needs updating and please change the terrible choice of music in the breakfast/dining room.
I am glad that my company paid for this trip, if I had paid over £100 per night I would not have been very happy!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I spent just one night here but was treated as well as if I were there for a week. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful. The room was spotlessly clean and although there was no view to speak of from the room, it was quiet and peaceful. The gardens are a real feature and offer plenty of space, and there is a lovely sea view if you bother walking down to the bottom of the lawn.
Dinner and breakfast were both extremely good. The only fault was the price of drinks which I thought very expensive. Fortunately I am not a coffee-lover, but the prices for anything other than cafeteriere coffee were extortionate, and the bar seemed the same. Shame, as everything else was great and I woulkd thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for one in the old part of the house if you want more character
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We attended Penmorvah for a wedding and the grounds and venue are beautiful. However, the attitudes of some of the staff (senior members) was grudging and miserable. At almost £5 a pint and £5.50 for a small glass of wine the drinks were expensive. The beer was in a word terrible. At breakfast they kept running out of everything on the hot buffet and I saw two men waiting quite a while in order to get eggs! At least the beds were comfortable and the rooms were clean.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Super Hotel, very kind and helpful staff, very comfortable room. Good breakfast. Even the paintings on the walls were rather good! The highlight was the view from the patio down the valley to the sea. Peaceful. Not cheap, but worth it!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed here last Saturday night. Staff were very helpful and friendly and our double room was of a good standard. Breakfast was very good - continental choice as well as hot cooked breakfast. My only criticism was the tinned fruit. We ate in the restaurant and the food was excellent and reasonably priced. Not much atmosphere as it wasn't very busy but the staff were very good. Dog friendly hotel and beautiful grounds. Overall a lovely hotel and I felt very good value.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

A very comfortable and pleasant hotel, although decor could do with updating, looking very tired in places. Room was quite dark and not helped by the choice of furniture. There is a very creepy picture at the bottom of the stairs by reception - there might be a reason for this being there but it is very haunting! Breakfast was very good with lots of choice. Staff efficient and polite. Set in beautiful surroundings and wish I'd had time to explore the area. Would have liked more of a selection in room of beverages, only tea and coffee and only one type - no biscuits or hot chocolate! All in all a good hotel in a quiet location, suiting walkers and the older traveller.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Penmorvah Manor Hotel and Courtyard Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penmorvah Manor Hotel and Courtyard Cottages

Address: Penjerrick, Budock, Falmouth TR11 5ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Penmorvah Manor Hotel and Courtyard Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 27 room Country House Hotel, (extended in 1990) with lovely woodland gardens, self catering cottages and room for enchanting weddings and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Penmorvah Manor Hotel and Courtyard Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Falmouth
Falmouth Courtyard
Penmorvah Manor Hotel And Courtyard Cottages Falmouth, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penmorvah Manor Hotel and Courtyard Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.