We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rick Stein's Fish, Falmouth

Rick Stein's Fish, Falmouth
Discovery Quay, Falmouth TR11 3XA , England
+44 (0)1841 532 700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #68 of 168 Restaurants in Falmouth
Price range: $0 - $31
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Fish and seafood restaurant in Falmouth, with classic fish and chips at the heart of the menu and a selection of Rick Stein’s favourite seafood dishes.
Northampton
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“OK but”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Portions are too big (I am getting old) - perhaps grilled fish is better for you after all. Go early and its a shame that they have closed both their tapas bar and deli locally. Seafood restaurant in Padstow is probably a better option.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    310
    263
    175
    79
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“One of Cornwalls delights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

This was the first time we had visited Rick Steins in Falmouth, we were surprised that it met with all our expectations after being regular visitors to Ricks in Padstow. The atmosphere was great, and not too busy at lunchtime, there wasn't any need to book. The food was delightful, (recommend the hake with lentils, lobster and lemon sole) not as formal as Padstow, but with a great menu choice. The atmosphere was relaxed, they were not put out by our additional requests. The staff were attentive, and friendly. We recommend a visit, so much that we have now dined there three times.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Utterly delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We had high expectations and were not disappointed, the chef even made pasta and tomato sauce for our non-fish eating 8 year old. Excellent staff, food and wine. They don't take reservations so go early if you've a big group.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good Value and Super Staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The set price dinner menu is really good value. The salt and pepper prawns were a delicious starter. The fish and chips did not disappoint - light batter, crunchy chips, not at all greasy. The puds were huge! The staff were extremely friendly and efficient and our order came quickly. The downside is that you can't book and the long tables mean you may have to share, but that really didn't detract from the experience. We have been twice and will certainly go again, when we return to Falmouth in the autumn.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food, excellent service but overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I suppose like a lot of customers, we were persuaded to visit Rick Steins by his reputation. It was busy but we were found a table almost immediately by the attentive and polite staff. The fish was freshly cooked and the portions were generous but a bill for over £50 for two adults and a child was too expensive.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rick Stein's Fish, Falmouth also viewed

 
Falmouth, Cornwall
 

Been to Rick Stein's Fish, Falmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rick Stein's Fish, Falmouth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.