We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cornish weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meudon Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Meudon Hotel to your Saves list
Meudon Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Maenporth Road | Mawnan Smith, Falmouth TR11 5HT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Falmouth
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cornish weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

What a fantastic weekend we recently spent at the Meudon Hotel. This was a truly Cornish experience of dancing and singing in good company. This hotel has managed to retain a wonderful 1920s decadence with a thoroughly modern contemporary look. Period furniture has been restored and original floorboards exposed and renovated giving it a 21st century aspect. It is a family run hotel surrounded by the most beautiful sub-tropical gardens leading to a private beach. The food was local and wonderfully well presented. Our starter of Falmouth scallops was more than delicious. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. They created an ambiance and atmosphere that made the evening so pleasurable. Most of the bedrooms have been refurbished and ooze style style and comfort with their soft painted hues so befitting a hotel by the sea. Yes, work is still in progress but nothing that takes from the elegant place that it is. Good value for money and a true Cornish gem.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    24
    13
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
57
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
truro cornwall
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

a thankyou to gay and her staff for a wonderful special sunday dinner today, the food was excellent and special, service was first class and with such lovely smiles, a relaxing meal, perfect for a sunday lunch. I will be back so that we can walk through the lovely gardens when its not raining! congratulations to the Meudon Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We spent three nights at the Meudon in one of the recently refurbished rooms. The food was excellent and we much appreciated the efficient and friendly service. Even though the weather was less than perfect we had a great time. We could look out onto the fabulous gardens from our room and then walk down through them to the sea. The natural feel of this sheltered and secluded valley is just wonderful. There are great walks along the Coast Path and around Mawnan Smith right on the doorstep together with easy access to all that Cornwall offers. This was an opportunity for us to have a relaxing time and it fully filled the bill!. More refurbishment is now planned through the winter and we look forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreton-in-Marsh
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Having visited Meudon on 3 previous occasions, we were anxious to see if the recent changes had been for the better. We were not disappointed. The changes were great and as usual the superb welcome from the staff was still there. We would certainly recommend it for a really relaxing and
enjoyable break with good food and very comfortable beds in an idyllic location away from the maddening crowds.We will certainly be back as soon as we can in the 2013.

Room Tip: All the rooms have views over the magnificent tropical gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltash, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We have just returned from spending the weekend at this wonderful hotel and would highly recommend it. From the moment we arrived to the moment we reluctantly departed, we were well looked after by the friendy,welcoming owners, Mark and Gaye and their superb team. .
The idyllic location of this hotel can't be beaten, the beautiful, tranquil valley garden leads down to a secluded private beach. However, this is just the beginning.
All the bedrooms have a view over this inspiring garden. Our spacious room was excellent with restful decor and a superb en-suite. The kingsize bed was extremely comfortable and everything about the room was welcoming and spotlessly clean.
The light and airy restaurant has sweeping views over the valley garden, the food is superb with plenty of choices available and the service and presentation is faultless.
There is a well stocked bar, a wonderful wine list and the best Pimms I have had in years, beautifully prepared and served as it was meant to be.
Nothing was too much trouble for the owners Mark and Gaye , plus their whole team who worked with a united effort to ensure all guests had everything they hoped for during their time at Meudon. Whether you want one of their delicious cream teas in the garden, a round of golf, a sailing trip or a drive in a Morgan, it can be arranged in this magical place. We celebrated our Ruby anniversary while we were there and they all took a lot of trouble to ensure we had the best possible day with several nice surprises at dinner that evening and wonderful memories to treasure.
The unusual serenity of this hotel and it's setting make it a perfect place to relax, unwind and recharge your batteries. I didn't think anything as good as this existed. Try it soon!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 32. Everyone we spoke to mentioned how peaceful and quiet their rooms were so nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We have just returned from a fabulous week at the Meudon, this was the first time we had taken our two dogs on holiday with us, and the owners and staff at the Meudon gave us one of the best rooms for our needs. we had our own door, straight into the garden and what a garden, one of the most peaceful places I have ever been. Other guests wonder through the lush greener, stop and chat, and one can while away an hour or two just watching the world go by!!!!!
The food is exceptional, go on a diet before you go there, as you will put on weight, the afternoon tea, with scones MMMMMMMMM ( I keep trying to loose this weight, but it keeps following me around) Gale and Mark the owners, are turning the Meudon into, the in place to be in Cornwall, with their hospitality, and genuine fondness for their guests, I never met one guest who had any complaints, everyone was in love with this great Hotel and the staff. Don't waste any more time get on and book the Meudon, you will love it. Oh!!!!! and try and see if you can meet DAD he is a character and a lovely old boy

Room Tip: If you have a dog try and reserve room 66
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

We planned only to visit for dinner but loved the food so much (it was truly delicious!!!) and received such a warm welcome from all the staff that we went back again for lunch and dinner, exploring the stunning gardens and beach, but we just couldn't keep away and ended up adding an extra night to our holiday just so we could get the whole hotel experience and stay the night, we're so glad we did, the best moments of our holiday revolve around this hotel, we didn't want to leave them and will certainly return again!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Meudon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meudon Hotel

Address: Maenporth Road | Mawnan Smith, Falmouth TR11 5HT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Falmouth
#9 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Meudon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meudon Hotel at Bream cove Cornwall's Garden Hotel and Beach. A unique blend of country manor, sub-tropical gardens of eight and a half acres, with paths leading down to your own private cove. Discover the magic of Meudon you will experience a unique and special setting where you can relax, unwind and restore.Relaxed and unobtrusive service, a family run home with a very friendly team. Great food, excellent location, newly refurbished, all round excellent value for money. Enjoy a stay in our Cornish country manor and feel spoilt. Meudon will be hard to beat on service, location and price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Meudon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meudon Hotel Falmouth, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meudon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.