We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank You Neil and to all of the staff at Green Lawns” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Merchants Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Merchants Manor to your Saves list
Merchants Manor
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Western Terrace, Falmouth TR11 4QJ, England (Formerly Green Lawns)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Falmouth
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
“Thank You Neil and to all of the staff at Green Lawns”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

My Son and his bride had their Wedding reception at the Green Lawns last weekend.

There are beautifully manicured gardens at Greenlawns which were perfect for more Wedding Photographs, with tables and chairs for guests to chat and relax and room for children to play.

The whole of the proceedings were executed by Neil Slade the Manager with professionalism and humour. The afternoon and evening receptions went perfectly. Thank you Neil for your performances/joining in with the dancing in the evening.

Quite a few family members booked to stay the night of the Wedding. We had three rooms for our party. All were decorated to a high standard and were very comfortable. The double on the top floor, with a balcony looking out to the sea was fantastic as was the single room we booked. We also booked a double room on the top floor at the front of the hotel, which while it did not have sea views, was a lovely triple room with a balcony. All the rooms had large en-suite facilities.

Thank you to all the staff. The ethos of the Hotel from the Management down, seems to be 'nothing is too much trouble'. The maids were friendly and helpful, reception were always cheerful and patient, even when we locked keys in the rooms and were a little late checking out. The restaurant staff were fantastic both during the reception and at breakfast the next morning. Nothing was too much trouble, even accommodating visiting family members who popped in to say goodbye and to provide guests who were late rising with tea and toast. Neil was always on hand to check we were all okay and have a friendly chat.

The food at the reception and breakfast was excellent.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel for a wedding reception or as a hotel and as a restaurant. In fact my Husband and I plan to return in October for our 30th Wedding Anniversary.

I would like to say a big thank you again to Neil and to all the staff on behalf of the happy couple and all of their family and friends, for helping to make their special occasion so very memorable.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautifully decorated and furnished. It was lovely to have a sea view, although th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lawngreen, Manager at Merchants Manor, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review, we are absolutely delighted to read such lovely comments. We are so pleased everthing went so well and it was such a memorable day.
Neil and the team look forward to welcoming you back in October for your 30th Wedding Anniversary.

Kind regards

Karen George
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    63
    39
    14
    4
See reviews for
51
92
10
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed there for 4 nights with a group, had half board and enjoyed the excellent service, the friendly efficiency at reception and the quality of the food. Some of the rooms looked a bit dusty, but on the whole we were given an excellent value for the money we paid. The preorder for next day's menu worked perfectly and special requirements were no problem for the efficient front door staff. We will recommend this place to our friends in Luxembourg.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lawngreen, Manager at Merchants Manor, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you for your nice review. I can assure you that your comment has been passed to housekeeping and is being addressed. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and that you will reccomend us to your friends.

Kind regards
Karen George
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Austell, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Lovely Hotel, cannot fault it, especially the manager Neil and his staff, I have stayed in 5 star and this exceeded the standard of service by far. Congratulations on an incredibly friendly and well managed hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lawngreen, Manager at Merchants Manor, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
What a lovely review, thank you. I will pass on your praises to our staff.

Kind regards

Karen George
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penzance
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

Choose Green Lawns for our wedding reception in June this year,from meeting Neil the general manager many months before hand,up to the wedding day we couldn't have been in more capable hands.He is very passionate about his job and he and his fantastic team looked after us and our guests brilliantly.Every guest (there were 100) commented on how wonderful the food and service was.Stayed in the honeymoon suite that evening,which was beautiful(amazing bath!)Followed by a tasty breakfast the next morning.From start to finish everything was perfect,Neil and his staff are a credit to the hotel,just a shame the day was over so quickly :(
Will hopefully be returning for our 1st anniversary.Thankyou Neil and the team for helping us have the best night EVER!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lawngreen, Manager at Merchants Manor, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
What an amazing review. I am so glad your wedding day was such a success and everyone had such a fantastic time.

We wish you our congratulations and best wishes for the future and will look forward to seeing you next year on your first wedding anniversary.

Kind regards

Karen George
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

This was our fourth visit to Greenlawns and again it was very relaxing, we stayed in one of the executive rooms which had sliding patio doors and a small veranda and the room was superb, lots of space very clean and comfortable. The Staff at the greenlawns go out of there way to makesure you have a great time, nothing is too much trouble and Neil the General manager is the perfect host always making time to chat and talk to guests ensuring everyone feels welcome and valued at the hotel. Breakfast is wholesome and hearty and sets you up for a day of exploring falmouth and the cornish coast.
If the weather is not so good you can spend time relaxing in the hotel pool and sauna or reading in one of the lounges

Room Tip: Even the standard room are of a good size, for a special treat try one of the newly refurbished suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Sales & Marketing Manager at Merchants Manor, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Delighted to read your lovely review, thank you. So nice to hear such lovely comments we always hope that we give that extra special old fashioned service to all of our guests.

We will look forward to welcoming you back so you can relax and explore more of Cornwall.

KInd regards

Karen George
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Lovely old Victorian property with modern rooms. The ones with sea views are fabulous - ask for 214 and you will get not only a great view but a small balcony too. Nice lounge area and gardens.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the old part of the hotel - 214 double room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Sales & Marketing Manager at Merchants Manor, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
What a lovely review thank you. So glad you enjoyed the garden, it is really lovely at this time of the year.

Kind regards

Karen George
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I stayed here over the Jubilee weekend with my boyfriend and our baby. We were in Falmouth for a wedding. Neil, the Manager of this hotel, is fantastic. He went out of his way to help all his guests and to ensure everybody was happy and having a pleasant stay. The rest of the staff are polite and helpful too.

The rooms were clean and had plenty of space for a weekend. There is a pool and small gym for guests to use also.

i would definitely stay here again if I visited Falmouth, it is close to everywhere that you need to go including beaches, the main street, pubs and the harbour.

The only down side was there was no lift so I couldn't get the pushchair upstairs easily but there was a cupboard I could leave it in in reception.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Sales & Marketing Manager at Merchants Manor, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely comments I have passed them on to the team. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards

Karen George
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Merchants Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchants Manor

Address: Western Terrace, Falmouth TR11 4QJ, England (Formerly Green Lawns)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Falmouth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Merchants Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine your perfect holiday - a privately run Cornish Hotel, with far reaching views across the stunning Falmouth bay, South Cornwall. The Merchants Manor is unpretentious and yet wonderfully individual and provides the perfect base from which to explore the Cornish Riviera. Merchants Manor offers friendly and professional service and the kind of efficiency you would expect from a luxury Falmouth Hotel. Whoever you are or whatever you're looking for, whether that is a family holiday, a hotel perfect for Weddings in Cornwall, Merchants Manor is just fitting for all your needs. Come and enjoy attractive accommodation, good food and service reminiscent of a bygone era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Merchants Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Lawns Falmouth
Green Lawns Hotel Falmouth
Merchants Manor Falmouth, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merchants Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.