We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“couple” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St Michael's Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added St Michael's Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
St Michael's Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Gyllyngvase Beach, The Seafront, Falmouth TR11 4NB, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Twixmas
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Falmouth
Andover, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“couple”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

good hotel-very clean - upgraded us to a room with patio has it was sunny it was very much appreciated - second stay and will stay again-hotel gives good offers so worth checking before you book- they will also send you email updates- nice decor very relaxing colors-Very close to the beach

Room Tip: tel the staff your requirements ad they will do they best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StMichaelsHotel, Manager at St Michael's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Another lovely review, thank you very much! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    258
    89
    59
    35
See reviews for
144
401
43
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Stayed at this hotel 2nd of june for seven nights staff were exceptional nothing was to much trouble location perfect food very good will keep going back & back again keep the good work,
The only down side would be the bedrooms could do with a lick of paint,

Room Tip: If your not happy with your room then tell the staff as we did & you wont be dissapointed,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StMichaelsHotel, Manager at St Michael's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Wow what a lovely review! Thank you so much, it is lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you keep retuning!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We booked the hotel for a weekend away over the bank holiday, we had first booked a superior room but when my wife phoned to confirm the location of room we were told it over looked the gym roof but you could just see the sea but some garden, this was not what was shown on website which was a little misleading, however we could upgrade to a superior plus room that gave view of sea this was an extra £40 per night. we did this as if going to a seaside hotel you want to see the sea. total room cost for 3 nights £960.

On arrival the hotel looked OK has had refurbishment, but was not explained was the burnt out hotel next door.

The room was very small you had two foot each side of bed the bathroom was OK nicely finished and they had tried to fit two armchairs into room as well, carpet was stained. the view was of the sea and also the restaurant roof, car park and burnt out hotel.

This was later to cause an issue that the hotel had two weddings that weekend and the music came up and through into the room so you could not have window open, what I could not work out was the rooms below had balconies, but we were staying in a superior room that had two windows. On the Saturday night we got back late and found the only way in from the sea road was right to the main entrance the garden access was locked but no sign to say so until you walked all the way to the door.

Breakfast was poor, quality was OK but waiting around for cereal bowls and plates was probably 5 minutes on the Monday we were given a another area to sit as the main room was packed.

Evening meal was good on Friday night the Manageress was very polite and helpful.

Overall the hotel was overpriced even taking into account the bank holiday against other 5 star hotels we have stayed in, room were very small, too warm and my wife picked up a sickness bug, which we cant put down to hotel but did not help weekend.

I would not recommend to friends or family, its a shame next door is such a state of repair

Room Tip: Don't the rooms are not what they show on website
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StMichaelsHotel, Manager at St Michael's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We really do appreciate all feedback. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay however. We have already followed up on the points you have raised. The rooms that over look the new health club extension do still have a nice partial sea view however they have been downgraded as we appreciate they are not full sea views.

Once again I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. If you ever wished to return I would personally ensure you were given a far better room, one of our larger rooms that do over look the sea, with a balcony.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed here for several days while visiting family nearby. The hotel is located very close to the beach, though the entrance can be deceptive as access is gained via a side street off the main road. Check-in was quick and efficient.

The superior plus room was very clean with bright and cheerful decor. Room was well appointed and we particularly enjoyed the teas and biscuits that were resupplied on a daily basis. Bed was very comfortable with an ample supply of soft pillows. Unfortunately we didn't have much of a sea view as it was mostly blocked by a fence on the adjacent roof.

Breakfast is in the main dining room with a nice view over the surrounding area. Food quality was decent, though after a few days we began to tire of the selections.

One strange issue we had was a persistent seagull that would wake us up at around 6:30am every morning by tapping on the window. Somehow he knew when we'd get out of bed and then he'd fly away and come back again the next morning. Didn't bother us much as we had jet lag and slept early, but it would definitely be a nuisance to some.

Overall a pleasant stay and we'll definitely consider staying there again next trip.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are nice but sea view is blocked by a roof that extends quite far with fencing down ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StMichaelsHotel, General Manager at St Michael's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We do appreciate the Seagulls can be rather noisy, we are used to it but we are looking into some friendly ways to control the Seagull issue, any ideas would be gratefully received!

We do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This hostel was lovely, I came here for my husbands Christmas party. It's a lovely hotel to look at and the food is great, I didn't get there till it was dark but when I woke up in the morning and sew the view from the window it took my breath away, what an amazing place. I didn't go to the spa so un able to comment.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StMichaelsHotel, Manager at St Michael's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Another lovely review, thank you.

We agree with you, we are so lucky to be surrounded by the stunning beaches of Falmouth.

Please be sure to return soon and make time for a few of our 4 star spa treatments, its worth it!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We held our recent Wedding reception here. the staff were amazing we could not fault them in any way. The food was so good we plan to return soon just to eat in the resturant again. A massive thumbs up.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StMichaelsHotel, Manager at St Michael's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Firstly congratulations from all of us here at St Michaels!

Secondly, thank you for such a lovely review, it is always nice to hear we have played a part in making your special day a success.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your 1st wedding anniversaty.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed in the main hotel in a standard room, it was a lovely room, nicely furnished. The spa, bar and restaurant were smart and fresh. the reception area was a little 'over nautical', but still nice. It was quite busy, and the car park was quite full, but this wouldn't have been a problem if the weather hadn't been torrentially wet when we arrived. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We went into Falmouth for an evening meal so we didn't spend all our time in the hotel. Our bed was very comfortable and the shower was hot and powerful. The breakfast had a large variety of food, and was very tasty. We had a good time and recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Try checking out their website for special offers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StMichaelsHotel, Manager at St Michael's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. Its lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry that parking was an issue for you, it can be diffiecult if we have a wedding or function. Having said that we are in a quiet residential road and opposaite a car park, like you say this is fine if we are not suffering fromt he Cornish rain! I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay once you settled in!

Lets hope the weather is brighter for your next stay!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to St Michael's Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Michael's Hotel & Spa

Address: Gyllyngvase Beach, The Seafront, Falmouth TR11 4NB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Falmouth
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Falmouth
#7 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — St Michael's Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your St Michael's Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Michael`s Hotel Falmouth
St Michael`s Hotel And Spa
St Michaels Hotel & Spa
St Michaels Spa Falmouth
St Michaels Falmouth
St Michael's Hotel & Spa Falmouth, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Michael's Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.