We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicer than expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St Michael's Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added St Michael's Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
St Michael's Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Gyllyngvase Beach, The Seafront, Falmouth TR11 4NB, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Best 4* rate in Falmouth
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Falmouth
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nicer than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Lovely little hotel in a beautiful area of Cornwall. The service is fantastic, from the front desk welcome, to attention to every need during your stay. Be sure to get an sea view room. Absolutely stunning views. The breakfast was good -- great options and super attentive service.

Room Tip: Sea view, well worth the additional money
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StMichaelsHotel, Manager at St Michael's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We have so many return guests it is always lovely to have good feedback from a first time visitor! We agree, we are so lucky to be right oppasite such a stunning beach, there are so many beautiful beaches and gardens in Falmouth!

We do hope you get to come back soon.

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    270
    97
    63
    36
See reviews for
156
429
45
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
york
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We were very lucky to be upgraded on our recent stay to a suite, which was lovely.
Very comfortable room, very friendly staff, lovely food. Great to have nice pool area with jacuzzi, steam room etc. Would love to stay there again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StMichaelsHotel, Manager at St Michael's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we very much hope we can welcome you again soon! We have plenty of offers and special breaks so just give us a call when you can escape for a weekend or even longer!!

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We booked this hotel at last minute for a very decent price and even when we said we weren't happy with the room we were given a more suitable one.

The views are stunning, beds extremely comfortable and the food in the restaurant is absolutely exquisite. The staff are also at hand to deal with any queries and tended to our every need.

There are also fantastic spa facilities included in the stay- the canigng rooms even have GHD's!

The only issue we had was a member of staff attemtping to unlock our door at around 10pm whilst we were watching a movie. This was slightly worrying however I am sure there was a misunderstanding/reason for it as once they realised they were possibly at the wrong rom we wtached the lock turn again and they went away. A pity this happened as otherwise it would have been 100% perfect.

I highly reccommend this hotel for all types of stay.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view if possible. It would make the trip so much more special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StMichaelsHotel, Manager at St Michael's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you so much for an almost perfect review. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. I am however so sorry to hear about the incident with your room. I shall certainly be looking into this to find out how the misunderstanding occured and to ensure it does not happen again.

We do hope this hasnt put you off from returning.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We only stayed here for 2 nights as part of a business trip.
We chose the hotel for its location and positive reviews.
Whilst the hotel and staff are lovely, and very helpful, the main complaint is that lack of noise insulation in the rooms over the gym. The gym opens early morning and it feels like whoever is using a treadmill is actually in the room with you, later in the day the music levels from the gym are ramped up, so if you want to do any work in your room, forget it. The music went off just after 9:30pm, but only after we complained to the reception.
Room 52 is very small, whilst we accept we did pay the standard rate, it is still pretty tiny.

Room Tip: Don't stay above the gym.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StMichaelsHotel, Manager at St Michael's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. All guest feedback is so important to us. We do take any negative comments very seriously and always look for ways to improve.

I would like to assure you that sound proofing is very much a high priority for us and is already a project in motion. With regards to the noise from the gym, we have already put in place a procedure to ensure the music is played at a lower level. This is monitored very closely every day.

I am sorry that this spoilt an otherwise nice stay. If you should choose to return I would like to personally assist with your reservation to ensure you stay in one of our quieter rooms, maybe one of our Premier Sea View rooms!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at St. Michael's Hotel & Spa on an Easter Break Deal from Monday 1st to Friday 5th April. My partner had stayed here previously and recommended it to me following a very stressful few months.

I have to say, from the moment we arrived, the staff were fantastic. This care and attention continued throughout our entire stay.

The room was clean, comfortable and warm. Various tea, coffee & chocolate drinks and biscuits were provided and replenished daily - as were the shampoo, bath/shower gel & soap.

The swimming pool was just about right, not overcrowded, clean and warm. All facilities were working, sauna, steam room, jacuzzi. The gym had adequate and up-to-date equipment. Changing rooms were clean, with free lockers.

We both had a hot stone massage. Very pleasant, we both agreed.

We ate the restaurant for our first two nights. I love fish, so there was plenty for me to choose from. Again the service was impeccable. The breakfast was superb. Lots of choice, fresh and nicely cooked. We prefer poached eggs, and these were done to perfection.

My partner went down with norovirus (d&v) on the Thursday.. as we did not spend any time (other than going to bed on Wednesday night) at the hotel, she almost certainly picked up the bug outside of the hotel. We were pretty much confined to our room on Thursday and most of Friday. Understandably the cleaning staff did not come into the room. They did provide me with all the cleaning materials I needed, a constant supply of iced water, additional towels, a second duvet, toilet paper, room service & telephone calls to ensure we were okay. I cannot fault them at all. Oh yes, they also contacted a local GP who provided me with assistance, and delivered some paperwork on how to assist my partner. Fortunately I did not get the bug.

The hotel provided a fantastic, customer focussed experience. Given the circumstances, they excelled.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StMichaelsHotel, Manager at St Michael's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Well, firstly let me say on behalf of all of us here at St Michaels, we hope your girlfriend had a speedy recovery! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay before the poorliness but disappointed that it had to end so abruptly. I am so glad to hear we were able to help however. Examples like this make me so proud of all of the staff here.

We really would love to welcome you back so that you can enjoy a full stay with us!

Please do not hesitate to contact us and we will be happy to assist you.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totnes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

A lovely hotel with an amazing position near Gyllygvase Beach. Lovely walks on South Coast path as well. Hotel decor is great with amazing attention to detail and fun ideas too! Food was yummy and atmosphere very chill. Will return! Oh and try out the buzzing Gylly Beach bar too!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StMichaelsHotel, Manager at St Michael's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you very much for such a lovely review. It is always lovely to hear when guests have enjoyed thier stay.

We do hope we are able to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington, Kent
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great service, great location and lovely people. We were really impressed with the quality of this Hotel and the service we recieved. Tne staff go out of their way to be helpfull and we had an incident where one of the party had an accidnet requiring a trip to the hosipital. they isisted on going with him and ensured that he was taken care off.
I will be going back to visit and next time staying for longer than the 3 days we did this time.

Room Tip: See if you can get a table by the window in the evening. the view is stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StMichaelsHotel, Manager at St Michael's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Well thank you for taking the time to leave your review. It was no trouble at all to assist with the injured party. We are glad to have been able to help and glad that all was ok in the end.

We do look forward to welcoming back and yes you should stay longer next time, there is so much to enjoy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to St Michael's Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Michael's Hotel & Spa

Address: Gyllyngvase Beach, The Seafront, Falmouth TR11 4NB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Falmouth
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Falmouth
#7 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — St Michael's Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your St Michael's Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Michael`s Hotel Falmouth
St Michael`s Hotel And Spa
St Michaels Hotel & Spa
St Michaels Spa Falmouth
St Michaels Falmouth
St Michael's Hotel & Spa Falmouth, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Michael's Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.