We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St Michael's Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added St Michael's Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
St Michael's Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Gyllyngvase Beach, The Seafront, Falmouth TR11 4NB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Falmouth
annafromuk
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“lovely hotel, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

We spent a couple of days at this hotel, when my daughter had an interview at the local University. Its a lovely hotel, with modern nautical decor, and a restaurant/bar with a stunning view. The hotel garden lead down to a lovely pretty beach. Such a lovely setting. The staff were lovely, and couldn't have been more helpful.

We did not eat in the restaurant - it was a bit posh (adult food), and there was nothing my teenage daughter would eat. Instead, we went out, but sunday evening (off season) meant options were a little limited - however, we found the local pizza express was open. The following evening, we sat in the bar and ate from the bar menu - which was very nice and were able to watch the sunset over the beach.

The downside, was that there was refurbishment - possibly in the next door room, with the workmen arriving at around 8am, and continuing till after 17:30 which was very noisy & not very relaxing. But gave me an excuse to sit in the bar and admire the view!

I'm hoping my daughter gets into the Uni, and then I can come back!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StMichaelsHotel, General Manager at St Michael's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
We too hope that you daughter achieves a place at Fal Uni.
Whilst it goes without saying, that we’d love for you to come back and see us; we must also commend Falmouth Uni, as it has a great reputation.
We do offer a more informal dining option throughout the day, as well as our Flying Fish Restaurant menu. At any time, if there is a dish that you would prefer that is not shown on any of our menus, please do not hesitate to ask. Provided chef has the ingredients, we’re quite happy to provide the dish of your choice.
Ironically, we were completing a sound proofing project during you stay! And I am pleased to say that this is now finished. I do apologise that the noise disrupted your stay. However, it is pleasing to hear that the above will not deter you from visiting in the future; and it’s good that you enjoyed the view and the hospitality offered by our bar and lounges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    253
    88
    59
    35
See reviews for
142
395
41
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

St Michael's is a lovely, modern hotel with the added bonus of spa facilties. It is a short walk from the beautiful beach and marina with bars/restaurants. The decor has a nautical feel and was clean, comfortable and stylish throughout. The hotel makes you want to lounge, relax and soak in the beautiful views. There is an amazing garden, terrace, comfy lounge bar and separate tv lounge. I especially enjoyed a daily swim, steam, sauna and jacuzzi.

The hotel staff are wonderful and truly made our stay pleasantly enjoyable. From the staff at breakfast to the team who tended our room, to the bar staff and the receptionist who was so flexible and accommodating to our desire to stay one more night! The hotel restaurant is award winning and the bar is excellently stocked and very reasonably priced. My friend highly praised her mean "Bloody Mary", which she enjoyed post breakfast.

This was a foodie and sightseeing weekend. We are Rick Stein fan's and ate in his restaurant's in Falmouth and had the pleasure of meeting him. The hotel is an hour away from the Eden Project and Land's End. The English Heritage, Pendennis Castle is a leisurely walk away. St Michael's hotel and spa is truly outstanding.We were so impressed we had to stay an extra night and would love to return in the future...




,

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StMichaelsHotel, General Manager at St Michael's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
A better review, we could not have wished for! Thank you so much for taking the time to write.
You’re hotel expectations, are exactly what we at St Michaels are all about. Great food, relaxing ambience, rejuvenating spa treatments. We aim for you to leave us feeling good and looking great!
Thank you again for your review; it is so, so appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

My children very kindly booked us in for lunch at the hotel on Mothers Day. I can honestly say that the food was super and very good portions. There was a good selection on the menu and the bar staff and waiters/waitresses were very polite and attentive. The dining room had a lovely easy atmosphere and with the sun shining it was a welcomed addition. Where ever you were seated you had a breath taking view out into Falmouth Bay. And to finish off, the Mothers were all given a lovely bouquet of daffodils which I thought was a nice touch. Would definately recommend this venue without hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StMichaelsHotel, General Manager at St Michael's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
What a lovely, lovely review. Thank you so much.
Don’t forget to sign up on our website to our late availability newsletter; maybe you could treat yourself to a stay next time. Dinner in the evening, a relaxing spa treatment, and a hearty breakfast on departure is a must to experience at St Michaels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

St Michaels is a modern and fresh looking 4* within walking distance of the beach and around a twenty minute walk into Falmouth town centre. Facilities in the hotel are excellent, good dining, contemporary expensive looking bar and lounge and excellent quality rooms. I stayed in the Atlantic Suite (honeymoon suite) which was spacious and well equipped, with separate small lounge with sofa and TV, massive bathroom with double bath and shower. Two large plasma TV's and a great view out towards the bay included.

The Spa was excellent, small-ish swimming pool, steam room etc and treatments excellent, Staff in both hotel and spa very friendly and accommodating.

The only spoiler was the noise, which consisted of banging and crashing on the Friday evening and on Saturday morning. Not sure if work was being completed in the hotel or whether this is the norm as the building, although well modernised, is old.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a high floor to avoid noise and a sea view / balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StMichaelsHotel, General Manager at St Michael's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
On investigation, rather ironically; I think that the noise you heard would’ve been our maintenance project of soundproofing of the ceiling between your room and the one above! Obviously this is a one off, and will provide a long term improvement.
Thank you again for your review, and we do hope that we will be given the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

St Michael's has stunning views out across the sandy beach and Falmouth Bay to the rugged Lizard peninsular and spectacular Cornish coastline.
The Flying Fish Restaurant in the hotel is a stylish, contemporary and friendly restaurant for the discerning diner.
The bedrooms are individual and no two are exactly the same. Bright fresh bathrooms, all newly tiled with new sanitary ware. All rooms offer sizeable LCD flat screens, tea and coffee making facilities, iron & ironing boards, hairdryer, telephone and Wi-Fi.

Room Tip: Poor cell phone coverage makes St Michael's a dead spot
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StMichaelsHotel, General Manager at St Michael's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review St Michaels.
You’re correct, unless you are just outside the hotel; the cell signal within the hotel is not great. However, we do offer free wifi throughout the hotel, and complimentary computers for guest use in our business centre.
In fairness, Cornwall in general does have a few dead spots for cell phone coverage; however, many would say that on vacation this is a blessing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Well deserved 4* hotel, I stayed in the captains House, a separate building from the main hotel, I could find no fault in the modern well appointed room and the quiet evening views of the Cornish coastlines are beautiful.
Value for money is beyond any other hotels in the same area especialy when you take into account the facilities, the service and overall quality.
A very nice hotel, if you are staying in Falmouth stay here.

Room Tip: The Captains House is a separate and very quiet/sedate building with fantastic rooms away from the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StMichaelsHotel, General Manager at St Michael's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
A lovely, lovely, review, thank you. We’re so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

I booked direct and found price much cheaper than 3rd party web sites. Also offer on train travel.Staff very friendly and helpful. Spa facilities excellent - never used gym. Breakfast - great choice and quality. Booked cabin which was supposed to be very small. Personally I thought it was a normal sized double bedroom - although banged head on low beam. Floors a bit creaky but's thats a minor irritation. Overall decor was first class and modern. Great view of sea from dining area. Never had evening meal - I expect it would be really good - however £25 for 2 courses not in my budget. Minor niggle was v poor wifi signal in bedroom and not brilliant in lounge.
Would recommend especially as they rang me up to say I left a book in the bedroom and posted it back same day.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StMichaelsHotel, General Manager at St Michael's Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
We’re really pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and that you chose to book direct with the hotel, rather than via a 3rd party. For those whom prefer to book online, our own website tends to offer good ‘book and pay today rates’.
We do now offer a one course menu in the evening, with some dishes that are just a little over £10. We’re aware that sometimes guests would rather just a brasserie style dish, rather than fine dining; so for guest convenience and satisfaction, dishes from this menu can be enjoyed in the bar or lounges; our new lounge “The Locker” offers excellent seating, and a great informal atmosphere.
We’re also pleased that you received you book back in good time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St Michael's Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Michael's Hotel & Spa

Address: Gyllyngvase Beach, The Seafront, Falmouth TR11 4NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Falmouth
#4 Luxury Hotel in Falmouth
#7 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — St Michael's Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your St Michael's Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Michael`s Hotel And Spa
St Michael`s Hotel Falmouth
St Michaels Hotel & Spa
St Michaels Spa Falmouth
St Michaels Falmouth
St Michael's Hotel & Spa Falmouth, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Michael's Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.